Max Klinger in his studio in Leipzig working on Beethoven, around 1900

Max Klinger in his studio in Leipzig working on Beethoven, around 1900

Concert
Visiting : Leipzig

Gewandhausorchester Leipzig

Andris Nelsons, conductor
Wagner | Gubaidulina | Beethoven

During Beethoven’s lifetime, the Gewandhausorchester was the first to play a complete cycle of his nine symphonies. Conducted by Latvian Andris Nelsons, the Leipzig orchestra will present Beethoven’s Eighth and the world premiere of a new work by composer Sofia Gubaidulina: “Prolog” for orchestra, dedicated to “the great Beethoven”.

19:10 work introduction

When the former trade fair house of Leipzig’s cloth merchants was re-opened as a concert hall with 500 seats on 25 November 1781, the orchestra that resided there not only received a prestigious venue of its own, but also its name: Gewandhaushorchester, the Garment House Orchestra. Leipzig already had an exceedingly vibrant musical life at that time, and the orchestra’s history can be traced back far beyond this date, which makes the Gewandhausorchester one of the oldest orchestras anywhere. Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy’s tenure as the Gewandhausorchester-Kapellmeister from 1835 to 1847 was critical for the orchestra’s development. He laid the foundations for the ensemble’s outstanding quality, which has been maintained ever since.

The orchestra’s Beethoven-reception also has a long tradition. In 1825/26, and thus during the composer’s lifetime, the Gewandhausorchester was the first to play a complete cycle of his nine symphonies – contemporary music at the time, after all. Conducted by Andris Nelsons, 21st Gewandhaus-Kapellmeister and Music Director of the Boston Symphony Orchestra, the Leipzig orchestra will present the world premiere of a new work by composer Sofia Gubaidulina: “Prolog” for orchestra, dedicated to “the great Beethoven” – a joint commission of Gewandhausorchester Leipzig and the Boston Symphony Orchestra.

Concert Programme

Richard Wagner (1813 – 1883)
Overture and Venusberg bacchanal from the opera
Tannhäuser und der Sängerkrieg auf Wartburg (1842 – 1845/1861)

Sofia Gubaidulina (1931)
Prolog
for orchestra
Commissioned by Gewandhausorchester Leipzig and Boston Symphony Orchestra
World premiere

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 – 1827)
Symphony No. 8 in F Major op.93 (1812)

A Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin event

Max Klinger in seinem Atelier in Leipzig bei der Arbeit am Beethoven, um 1900

Max Klinger in seinem Atelier in Leipzig bei der Arbeit am Beethoven, um 1900

Konzert
Gastspiel : Leipzig

Gewandhausorchester Leipzig

Andris Nelsons, Leitung
Wagner | Gubaidulina | Beethoven

Noch zu Lebzeiten Beethovens spielte das Gewandhausorchester Leipzig als erstes Orchester einen vollständigen Zyklus seiner neun Symphonien. Unter der Leitung des Letten Andris Nelsons präsentieren die Leipziger Beethovens Achte und die Uraufführung eines neuen Werkes der aus Russland stammenden Komponistin Sofia Gubaidulina: „Prolog“ für Orchester, gewidmet dem großen Beethoven.

19:10 Einführung

Als am 25. November 1781 in Leipzig das zu einem Konzertsaal mit 500 Plätzen umgebaute Messehaus der Tuchhändler eröffnet wurde, erhielt das dort residierende Gewandhausorchester nicht nur eine repräsentative Spielstätte, sondern auch seinen Namen. Im schon damals außerordentlich rege entwickelten Musikleben der Stadt Leipzig reicht die Geschichte des Orchesters noch weit hinter dieses Datum zurück, und so ist das Gewandhausorchester eines der ältesten Orchester überhaupt. Von entscheidender Bedeutung für seine Entwicklung war die Amtszeit von Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy als Gewandhauskapellmeister von 1835 bis 1847. Er legte den Grundstein für die herausragende Qualität des Klangkörpers, die seither nicht mehr verloren gegangen ist.

Auch die Beethoven-Rezeption des Orchesters reicht weit zurück. Noch zu Lebzeiten des Komponisten spielte das Gewandhausorchester 1825/1826 als erstes einen vollständigen Zyklus seiner neun Symphonien – damals zeitgenössische Musik. Unter der Leitung von Andris Nelsons, dem 21. Gewandhauskapellmeister und Music Director des Boston Symphony Orchestra, präsentieren die Leipziger beim Musikfest Berlin die Uraufführung eines neuen Werkes der Komponistin Sofia Gubaidulina: „Prolog“ für Orchester, gewidmet „dem großen Beethoven“ – ein gemeinsamer Auftrag des Gewandhausorchester Leipzig und des Boston Symphony Orchestra.

Konzertprogramm

Richard Wagner (1813 – 1883)
Ouvertüre und Venusberg-Bacchanal aus der Oper
Tannhäuser und der Sängerkrieg auf Wartburg (1842 – 1845/1861)

Sofia Gubaidulina (1931)
Prolog
für Orchester (2020)
Auftragswerk des Gewandhausorchester Leipzig und des Boston Symphony Orchestra
Uraufführung

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 – 1827)
Symphonie Nr. 8 F-Dur op.93 (1812)

Eine Veranstaltung der Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin