Shipwreck, wooden ship cemetery in Teriberka, 2013

Shipwreck, wooden ship cemetery in Teriberka, 2013

Photo: Yurochkin Roman, Wikimedia Commons

Concert
Berlin-based Orchestras

Chor und Orchester der Deutschen Oper Berlin

Donald Runnicles, conductor
Beethoven: “Leonore”

Three versions and four overtures of Ludwig van Beethoven’s only opera “Fidelio” have been handed down. In a concertante performance, soloists, choir and orchestra of Deutsche Oper Berlin, conducted by their Music Director Donald Runnicles, will present the original version, “Leonore”.

19:10 work introduction

Is the first idea the true one, is the first bold, artistic approach the most convincing one? Looking at the history of the origins and performances of Beethoven’s only completed opera “Fidelio”, the answer to these questions would be no. Two titles (the initial title was “Leonore”), three versions, four overtures: It seems like a laboratory in the literal sense of the word, like great labour, or, as the composer said, like an ordeal. In the meantime, Beethoven also called the opera a "ruin" or "a stranded ship“. But the reasons for the lukewarm responses to the first performances of the original version, which motivated Beethoven to rework the score, can be seen as largely political: Vienna was dreading Napoleon’s invasion, Beethoven’s most eminent supporters had left the city and the opera’s theme and idea were French.

In a concertante performance, soloists, choir and orchestra of Deutsche Oper Berlin, conducted by their Music Director, will present the original version. It is only rarely performed, even though it contains many beautiful elements that vanished from the final version. Maybe in art, the baby is not necessarily thrown out with the bathwater of the first version, but some of its toys often are.

Concert Programme

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 – 1827)
Leonore
concert performance of the original version of the opera
Fidelio (1804/05)

Cast

Flurina Stucki soprano (Leonore)
David Butt Philip tenor (Florestan)
Albert Pesendorfer bass (Rocco)
Markus Brück baritone (Don Pizarro)
Philipp Jekal bass (Don Fernando)
Elena Tsallagova soprano (Marzelline)
Ya-Chung Huang tenor (Jacquino)
Michael Kim tenor (1st Prisoner)
Padraic Rowan bass baritone (2nd Prisoner)

Chor und Orchester der Deutschen Oper Berlin
Jeremy Bines Coach Choir
Donald Runnicles conductor

A Deutsche Oper Berlin event in cooperation with Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin

Schiffswrack, Friedhof der Holzschiffe in Teriberka, 2013

Schiffswrack, Friedhof der Holzschiffe in Teriberka, 2013

Foto: Yurochkin Roman, Wikimedia Commons

Konzert
Berliner Orchester

Chor und Orchester der Deutschen Oper Berlin

Donald Runnicles, Leitung
Beethoven: „Leonore“

Von Ludwig van Beethovens einziger Oper „Fidelio“ sind drei Fassungen und vier dazugehörige Ouvertüren erhalten. Der Urfassung der Oper, „Leonore“, widmen sich die Solist*innen, Chor und Orchester der Deutschen Oper Berlin unter der Leitung des Briten Donald Runnicles – in einer konzertanten Aufführung.

19:10 Einführung

Ist der erste Gedanke der wahrhaftige, der erste künstlerische Zugriff in seiner Frische der überzeugende? Die Entstehungs- und Aufführungsgeschichte von Beethovens einzig vollendeter Oper „Fidelio“ scheint dem zu widersprechen; zwei Titel (der erste lautete „Leonore“), drei Fassungen, vier Ouvertüren: das sieht nach Laboratorium im wörtlichen Sinn, nach viel Arbeit oder, wie der Komponist meinte, nach Martyrium aus. Zwischendurch nannte Beethoven die Oper aber auch eine „Ruine“ oder „ein gestrandetes Schiff“. Doch die Gründe für das matte Echo, das die Uraufführung der Erstversion erhielt, und das Beethoven zur Umarbeitung bewog, sind großenteils in den politischen Umständen zu suchen: Wien fürchtete den Einmarsch Napoleons, Beethovens wichtigste Unterstützer hatten die Stadt verlassen, Sujet und Idee seiner Oper stammten aus Frankreich.

In konzertanter Aufführung stellen nun Solist*innen, Chor und Orchester der Deutschen Oper Berlin unter der Leitung ihres Generalmusikdirektors die Urfassung vor. Sie wird selten gegeben, und enthält doch manche Schönheiten, die aus der Endgestalt des Werkes verschwanden. Mit dem Bade der ersten Version wurde und wird in der Kunst zwar nicht unbedingt das Kind, aber doch oft einiges von seinem Spielzeug ausgeschüttet.

Konzertprogramm

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 – 1827)
Leonore
Konzertante Aufführung der Urfassung der Oper
Fidelio (1804/05)

Besetzung

Flurina Stucki Sopran (Leonore)
David Butt Philip Tenor (Florestan)
Albert Pesendorfer Bass (Rocco)
Markus Brück Bariton (Don Pizarro)
Philipp Jekal Bass (Don Fernando)
Elena Tsallagova Sopran (Marzelline)
Ya-Chung Huang Tenor (Jacquino)
Michael Kim Tenor (1. Gefangener)
Padraic Rowan Bassbariton (2. Gefangener)

Chor und Orchester der Deutschen Oper Berlin
Jeremy Bines Einstudierung Chor
Donald Runnicles Leitung

Eine Veranstaltung der Deutschen Oper Berlin in Kooperation mit Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin