László Moholy Nagy, Berlin radio tower, ca. 1928

László Moholy Nagy, Berlin radio tower, ca. 1928

© bpk / The Art Institute of Chicago / Art Resource NY / László Moholy Nagy

Concert
Visiting : Bremen & Berlin

RIAS Kammerchor Berlin, Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen

Justin Doyle, conductor
Haydn | Rihm | Cherubini

Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen have made a name for themselves by setting musical standards with their interpretations. Together with RIAS Kammerchor Berlin, they will present an evening of music that evokes the chaos at the beginning and the end of time, god and eternal rest, featuring works by Wolfgang Rihm, Josef Haydn and Luigi Cherubini.

19:10 work introduction

Beethoven had reservations with regards to Christ: Yes, the Nazarene was an exemplary human being, but did he have to call himself the son of god? And yet, he would not go as far as his Franconian contemporary Jean Paul. In his novel “Siebenkäs”, the poet describes Jesus coming down from the heavens and telling the dead, who are awake during the witching hour, that there is no god. As a result, a universe collapsed. It was only a nightmare. In “Andere Schatten”, Wolfgang Rihm composed fragments from this text. He intensified the effect of the dream, which claims a logic and truth of its own. The music takes its shape from the fragmentation of the language and opens up an expressive, suggestive space for imagination.

Jean Paul described chaos as the end of the world. Haydn composed it as the world’s beginning. In his “Creation”, it rises out of C minor and ranges across the scope of sound from there – from the same scale that Luigi Cherubini soon after chose for his first requiem. Beethoven was so fascinated by this work that he wished for it to be played at his own funeral. This oratorio without soloists is not all that far removed from Jean Paul: The apocalyptic strikes of the “Dies irae” and the sombre colour that clothes the eponymous plea for eternal peace both point in a similar direction. Eternal peace needs no god; and what is it compared to a full life?

Concert Programme

Jean Paul (1763 – 1825)
“Rede des toten Christus vom Weltgebäude herab, dass kein Gott sei”
from: Jean Paul, Siebenkäs, chapter 47 (1796/97)

Joseph Haydn (1732 – 1809)
Die Vorstellung des Chaos
from the oratorio Die Schöpfung (1796 – 1798)

Wolfgang Rihm (*1952)
Andere Schatten
Musical scene for soloists, mixed choir and orchestra (1985)

Luigi Cherubini (1760 – 1842)
Requiem No. 1 in C minor (1815)

Cast

N.N. recitation

Sarah Aristidou soprano
Olivia Vermeulen mezzo soprano
Dominik Köninger baritone

RIAS Kammerchor Berlin
Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen
Justin Doyle conductor

A Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin event in cooperation with RIAS Kammerchor Berlin

László Moholy Nagy, Berlin-Funkturm, ca. 1928

László Moholy Nagy, Berlin-Funkturm, ca. 1928

© bpk / The Art Institute of Chicago / Art Resource NY / László Moholy Nagy

Konzert
Gastspiel : Bremen & Berlin

RIAS Kammerchor Berlin, Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen

Justin Doyle, Leitung
Haydn | Rihm | Cherubini

Die Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen hat sich durch maßstabsetzende Interpretationen einen Namen gemacht. Gemeinsam mit dem RIAS Kammerchor Berlin gestalten sie mit Werken von Wolfgang Rihm, Josef Haydn und Luigi Cherubini ein Programm, das vom Chaos am Anfang und Ende der Zeit, von Gott und der ewigen Ruhe handelt.

19:10 Einführung

Beethoven war in Sachen Christus skeptisch: Ein vorbildlicher Mensch sei der Nazarener gewesen, aber musste er sich deswegen gleich Gottes Sohn nennen? So weit wie sein fränkischer Zeitgenosse Jean Paul wollte er nicht gehen. Der Dichter lässt in der Mitte seines „Siebenkäs“-Romans Jesus vom Himmel herabsteigen und den zur Geisterstunde wachen Toten verkünden, dass kein Gott sei. Ein Weltgebäude brach damit zusammen. Es war nur ein Alptraum. In „Andere Schatten“ komponierte Wolfgang Rihm Bruchstücke aus diesem Text. Er intensivierte damit die Wirkung des Traums, der seine eigene Logik und Wahrheit reklamiert. Aus der Fragmentierung der Sprache bildet sich die Musik und öffnet einen expressiven, suggestiven Vorstellungsraum.

Jean Paul schilderte das Chaos als Weltende. Haydn komponierte es als Weltbeginn. In seiner „Schöpfung“ erhebt es sich aus c-Moll und durchmisst von dort aus den Tonraum – aus der Tonart, die Luigi Cherubini wenig später für sein erstes Requiem wählte. Es faszinierte Beethoven so, dass er sich die Musik zu seiner Beisetzungsfeier wünschte. So weit weg von Jean Paul ist dieses Oratorium ohne Solisten gar nicht: Die apokalyptischen Schläge im „Dies irae“, die dunkle Farbe, in welche die titelgebende Bitte um ewige Ruhe gekleidet wird, deuten in ähnliche Richtung. Die ewige Ruhe braucht keinen Gott, und was ist sie im Vergleich zu einem erfüllten Leben?

Konzertprogramm

Jean Paul (1763 – 1825)
„Rede des toten Christus vom Weltgebäude herab, dass kein Gott sei“
aus: Jean Paul, Siebenkäs, Kapitel 47 (1796/97)

Joseph Haydn (1732 – 1809)
Die Vorstellung des Chaos
aus dem Oratorium Die Schöpfung (1796 – 1798)

Wolfgang Rihm (*1952)
Andere Schatten
Musikalische Szene für Soli, gemischten Chor und Orchester (1985)

Luigi Cherubini (1760 – 1842)
Requiem Nr. 1 c-Moll (1815)

Besetzung

N.N. Rezitation

Sarah Aristidou Sopran
Olivia Vermeulen Mezzosopran
Dominik Köninger Bariton

RIAS Kammerchor Berlin
Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen
Justin Doyle Leitung

Eine Veranstaltung der Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin in Kooperation mit dem RIAS Kammerchor Berlin