Concert
Berlin-based Orchestras

Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin

Robin Ticciati, conductor
Elgar | Rihm | Beethoven

This concert will take place; its programme has been modified and the seating capacity is reduced. As a result, already purchased tickets are no longer valid.
Information on reimbursement of already purchased tickets and buying new tickets can be accessed on the ticket page.

Discover our new complete programme for 2020.

Leonardo da Vinci, A City at the Center of a Vortex, around 1515

Leonardo da Vinci, A City at the Center of a Vortex, around 1515

Royal Library Windsor Castle © The Royal Collection of Her Majesty Queen Elisabeth II

Robin Ticciati will open his third season as the DSO’s Music Director at Musikfest Berlin. For the first time, he and his orchestra will devote themselves to one of Beethoven’s symphonies – the rarely performed Forth, whose sound and expression resemble the environments of the Prisoners’ Chorus from the opera “Fidelio”: It is a symphony to celebrate liberty, with decidedly lyrical features and serene expression. Ticciati’s string section will be playing on gut strings.

At the time of their first performances, the Forth and its three predecessors were considered to be among Beethoven’s “rough diamonds”. And this applied especially to the bewildering introduction of the Forth: “First of all, a slow tempo, full of short, disjointed ideas, none of which is permitted to be connected to the other, three or four notes every quarter of an hour! – what a strain this creates! Then a dull timpani roll and mysterious violas, everything decorated with the appropriate amount of general rests and halts; finally, when the listener has already renounced the Allegro from pure tension, a furious tempo which, however, is intended mostly to prevent any main idea to come to the forefront”, Carl Maria von Weber noted.

Beethoven was 36 years old, when he wrote the Forth; Wolfgang Rihm was 25, a rebellious young composer, when he wrote “La musique creuse le ciel”. This was not his only work to create a stir and shake the concepts of what new music could and should be in those days. Baudelaire’s poetic line which gave the work its title could be rendered, as the composer said, as “Music erodes the heavens” or “Music eviscerates the heavens” or “Music intensifies the heavens”. “Working on this piece, I believed that I was writing a great narrative that spirals, continually starts anew – starts something new, something re-evaluated that was already there. In fact, a kind of maelstrom music.” An irrepressible maelstrom music: This is what this work, headstrong in the best meaning of the word, has remained until today.

Concert Programme

Edward Elgar (1857 – 1934)
Cockaigne (in London Town)
Overture op. 40 (1900/01)

Wolfgang Rihm (*1952)
La musique creuse le ciel
Music for 2 pianos and large orchestra (1977/79)

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 – 1827)
Symphony No. 4 in B flat major op. 60 (1806)

A Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin event in cooperation with Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin

Leonardo da Vinci, Eine Stadt im Mittelpunkt eines Wirbels, um 1515

Leonardo da Vinci, Eine Stadt im Mittelpunkt eines Wirbels, um 1515

Royal Library Windsor Castle © The Royal Collection of Her Majesty Queen Elisabeth II

Konzert
Berliner Orchester

Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin

Robin Ticciati, Leitung
Elgar | Rihm | Beethoven

Start in die neue Saison mit Robin Ticciati: Wie beim Eröffnungskonzert mit dem Concertgebouworkest trifft auch im Programm des Deutschen Symphonie-Orchester Berlin die Musik von Wolfgang Rihm auf die Musik Ludwig van Beethovens. Eingeleitet wird der Konzertabend mit der der Stadt London gewidmeten „Cockaigne“-Ouvertüre Edward Elgars.

19:10 Einführung

Robin Ticciati eröffnet seine dritte Spielzeit als Chefdirigent des DSO beim Musikfest Berlin. Erstmals widmet er sich mit seinem Orchester einer Beethoven-Symphonie – der selten aufgeführten Vierten, die in Ton und Ausdruck dem Milieu um den Gefangenenchor aus der Fidelio-Oper nahe ist: eine Freiheitssymphonie mit ausgeprägt lyrischen Zügen und von heiterem Ausdruck. Ticciati lässt die Streicher auf Darmsaiten spielen.

Bei den ersten Präsentationen zählte man die Vierte zusammen mit ihren drei Vorgängern noch zu Beethovens „ungeschliffenen Diamanten“. Und das galt zumal für die irritierende Einleitung der Vierten: „Erstens, ein langsames Tempo, voll kurzer abgerissener Ideen, wo ja keine mit der anderen Zusammenhang haben darf, alle Viertelstunden drei oder vier Noten! – das spannt! dann ein dumpfer Paukenwirbel und mysteriöse Bratschensätze, alles mit der gehörigen Portion Generalpausen und Halte geschmückt; endlich, nachdem der Zuhörer vor lauter Spannung schon auf das Allegro Verzicht getan, ein wütendes Tempo, in welchem aber hauptsächlich dafür gesorgt sein muss, dass kein Hauptgedanke hervortritt“, notierte Carl Maria von Weber.

Beethoven war 36, als er die Vierte schrieb, Wolfgang Rihm 25, als er als „junger Wilder“ „La musique creuse le ciel“ komponierte und nicht nur mit diesem Werk die damaligen Vorstellungen, was neue Musik sein könnte und zu sein hatte, kräftig aufmischte und durcheinanderschüttelte. Das dichterische Wort Baudelaires, das der Komposition den Titel gab, kann wiedergeben werden, so kommentierte der Komponist, als: „Die Musik höhlt den Himmel aus“ oder „Die Musik weidet den Himmel aus“ oder „Die Musik vertieft den Himmel“. „Bei der Arbeit glaubte ich eine große Erzählung zu schreiben, die spiralig immer wieder von neuem – an Neuem: umgewertetem Vorhandenen – ansetzt. Eigentlich eine Art Mahlstrom-Musik.“ Eine unbändige Mahlstrom-Musik: das ist dieses im besten Sinne eigensinnige Werk bis heute geblieben.

Konzertprogramm

Edward Elgar (1857 – 1934)
Cockaigne (in London Town)
Ouvertüre op. 40 (1900/01)

Wolfgang Rihm (*1952)
La musique creuse le ciel
Musik für 2 Klaviere und großes Orchester (1977/79)

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 – 1827)
Symphonie Nr. 4 B-Dur op. 60 (1806)

Eine Veranstaltung des Deutschen Symphonie-Orchesters Berlin in Kooperation mit Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin