Memories to Choke on, Drinks to Wash Them Down

Film still from “Memories to Choke on, Drinks to Wash Them Down”. Film still

Film
Sundays for Hong Kong II

Memories to Choke on, Drinks to Wash Them Down

HK 2019, digital
Directed by Leung Ming-Kai, Kate Reilly

German premiere

Dear Audience, It is with great regret that we have to inform you that the event has to be cancelled due to the current developments connected with the spreading of the Corona virus.

Berliner Festspiele on Demand: From 9 April until 7 May we present four films of the series on our website. To the videos

  • 78 min
  • In Cantonese and English with English subtitles

Four stories (three fictional, one documentary) show how fiction and fact, humour and drama, the personal and political are complementary facets of the same ever-fascinating, complex, challenging realities that constitute Hong Kong. An intrepid domestic worker from Indonesia wisely guides her aging but energetic elderly charge on a deceptively circuitous outing. In a nostalgia-purveying toyshop, two twenty-something brothers retrieve fragmented memories of their youth. Two young professional teachers – a savvy local man, and a foreign woman fascinated by Hong Kong food delights – immerse themselves in a shared discovery of HK culture. A politically engaged barista-cum-actress decides to run in the hotly contested 2019 elections. Leung Ming-kai and Kate Reilly's ambitious structural gambit results in a work that delights and gently provokes. With deceptive lightness and elegance, their film plumbs the tensions and contradictions that underlie and activate Hong Kong's predicament today.
(IFFR International Film Festival Rotterdam)

Leung Ming Kai primarily works as a cinematographer. He has shot more than a dozen celebrated features in different parts of the world, including “Murmur of the Hearts” (2015), “Old Stone” (2015) and “By the Time It Gets Dark” (2016). Kai has also directed several short films. “Three Boys” (2007) won the top prize at the Hong Kong Independent Film & Video Awards and represented the Philippines in competition at Clermont-Ferrand Short Film Festival. “Lock” (2007, starring co-director Kate Reilly) was a selection of the Tribeca Film Festival.

Kate Reilly worked as an actor before moving into writing and directing. In New York, she performed with experimental theater group Polybe + Seats. Kate wrote and performed live comedy, and played Dorothy in improvised episodes of the sitcom “Golden Girls”. She has divided her time between the States and Hong Kong since 2008, and has acted for international filmmakers including Anocha Suwichakornpong, John Magary and Leung Ming Kai.

Memories to Choke on, Drinks to Wash Them Down

Filmstill aus „Memories to Choke on, Drinks to Wash Them Down“. Filmstill

Film
Sundays for Hong Kong II

Memories to Choke on, Drinks to Wash Them Down

HK 2019, digital
Regie: Leung Ming-Kai, Kate Reilly

Deutschlandpremiere

Liebes Publikum, mit großem Bedauern müssen wir mitteilen, dass die Veranstaltung aufgrund der aktuellen Entwicklungen im Zusammenhang mit der Ausbreitung des Coronavirus entfallen muss.

Berliner Festspiele on Demand: Vom 9. April bis 7. Mai zeigen wir vier Filme der Reihe auf unserer Website. Zu den Videos

  • 78 min
  • Kantonesisch und Englisch mit englischen Untertiteln

Vier Geschichten (drei davon fiktiv, eine dokumentarisch) zeigen, wie Fiktion und Fakt, Humor und Drama, das Private und das Politische einander ergänzende Facetten derselben, stets faszinierenden, komplexen, fordernden Realitäten sind, die Hongkong ausmachen. Eine furchtlose Haushaltsangestellte aus Indonesien führt die betagte, aber energiegeladene ältere Dame, die ihr anvertraut ist, klug auf einen täuschend umwegreichen Ausflug. In einem Spielzeugladen, der sich auf Nostalgie spezialisiert hat, holen zwei Brüder um die Zwanzig Erinnerungsfragmente an ihre Jugend hervor. Zwei junge Lehrer*innen – ein cleverer Einheimischer und eine Ausländerin, die von den kulinarischen Freuden Hongkongs fasziniert ist – begeben sich auf eine gemeinsame Entdeckungsreise der Hongkonger Kultur. Eine politisch engagierte junge Frau, die als Barista und Schauspielerin arbeitet, beschließt, bei den heiß umkämpften Wahlen von 2019 zu kandidieren. Leung Ming-kai und Kate Reilly gehen mit dieser anspruchsvollen Struktur ein Risiko ein, aber das Resultat ist ein Film, der sein Publikum beglückt und sanft provoziert. Mit trügerischer Leichtigkeit und Eleganz lotet der Film die Spannungen und Widersprüche aus, die der derzeitigen Zwangslage Hongkongs zu Grunde liegen und sie aktivieren.
(IFFR International Film Festival Rotterdam)

Leung Ming Kai
Leung Ming Kai arbeitet hauptsächlich als Kameramann. Er drehte bereits mehr als ein Dutzend gefeierte Spielfilme an verschiedenen Orten der Welt, darunter „Murmur of the Hearts“ (2015), „Old Stone“ (2015) und „By the Time it Gets Dark“ (2016). Außerdem führte Kai bei mehreren Kurzfilmen Regie. „Three Boys“ (2007) erhielt den Hauptpreis bei den Hong Kong Independent Film & Video Awards und vertrat die Philippinen beim Kurzfilmfestival von Clermont-Ferrand. „Lock“ (2007, mit Ko-Regisseurin Kate Reilly in der Hauptrolle) wurde vom Tribeca Film Festival ausgewählt.

Kate Reilly
Bevor Kate Reilly begann, Drehbücher zu schreiben und Regie zu führen, arbeitete sie als Schauspielerin. In New York trat sie mit der experimentellen Theatergruppe Polybe + Seats auf. Kate Reilly schrieb und spiele Live Comedy und spielte in improvisierten Folgen der Sitcom „Golden Girls“ die Rolle der Dorothy. Seit 2008 hält sie sich abwechselnd in den USA und in Hongkong auf und wirkt in Filmen internationaler Filmemacher*innen mit, darunter Anocha Suwichakornpong, John Magary und Leung Ming Kai.