Exhibiton

Down to Earth

13 August to 13 September 2020

“Down to Earth” is both an exhibition and an unplugged programme with daily changing live events that explores how the agenda of a shift in climate policy affects our own “operating system”. How can we sustainably change the mode in which we work, eat, travel or make exhibitions?

Checkpoint: “Down to Earth” is free time. Time in which to come to rest, to listen, watch, talk and move on: analogue time, time to waste, time to turn difficulties into valuable experiences.

The largest system that we are part of rather than looking at from the outside is the climate – together with many other agents, we create what we have to etndure. Covid-19 forced us to take a giant break, it brought about a vast ceremony of deceleration. The skies above Northern Italy and Beijing turned blue again, the rivers became cleaner and the social issue was clear. Or was it? Conditions in slaughterhouses, in asparagus fields, what we do to people, animals and the landscape became visible during the crisis. So did solidarity and the voices of scientists and experts. Millions of people on every continent were locked down and have been working to solve the same problem ever since. No art work could achieve this.

Only 11 September and the revolution across Eastern Europe in 1989 have come close to involving us all, mobilising everyone in the way THE VIRUS has. And now? Hardly anyone wants to carry on as before. But where can we land? Like many people nowadays, we have read Bruno Latour’s climate texts. What is the “third attractor”? Will it help us to disengage from the old battle of right against left, the left against the past, the right against the queer?

We want to play a different game. Immersion is new ground – a monument to uncertainty. Unsecured territory. Unsafe. Uncategorised. We have yet to be categorised. Which is good. This isn’t theatre, it’s not an exhibition, not an exhibition with performances: it’s something different. The whole thing is a situation. We open in the morning and close late. It’s the summer. There will be things that you can see every day: objects, images, spatial installations – and four weeks of talks, lectures, dance and music changing every day. Just imagine: you go to an exhibition and there will always be someone there for you.

When you walk through the rooms you will see images of our ocean planet by Kader Attia, Andreas Gursky and Jean Painlevé. And in front of them a puddle from Neukölln by Kirsten Pieroth that never dries out. Stefanie Hessler has curated an exhibition within the exhibition with two rooms of photographs, installations and research projects devoted to the ocean that is then followed by Bruno Latour and Frédérique Aït-Touati’s working space. Alicja Kwade’s work is shaped by the transition between natural and technological transformation and at the same time we also show both Agnes Denes’ “Tree Mountain” project and her wheat field in the middle of New York. Joulia Strauss invites us to honour indigenous cultures and to discover marginalised forms of knowledge from other societies and ages. Together with a team of cultivators, Asad Raza mixes waste materials from the museum and the city into a room-filling 20 tons of “neo-soil”, which you can take home for your own projects. Next door Yngve Holen’s sawn up Porsche awaits, along with Vibha Galhotra’s soundless installation, dedicated to the death of bees around the world. We would like to thank Tomás Saraceno for the spider artwork which has already been living with us in the Gropius Bau for six months, while Tino Sehgal’s work “This Situation” is one for which we required no loan request and no insurance as it is immaterial and lives through you, among others.

All this is only half of it. There’s also a live programme. Every exhibition creates a public and we would like to use “Down to Earth” to bring different publics together that rarely meet – for example an activist academy from Athens and the college of academic associates of Bruno Latour and Frédérique Aït-Touati, or the diverse communities of our experts on change, who are pioneers of solidary farming, salt water gardens on the roofs of tower blocks, repair cafés, and the tiny house movement. We will therefore put up one of these houses on the Südplatz together with the audience, cook for them and eat together with them without using electricity. Music, experts, exhibits, live art, discussion – these are the components of “Down to Earth”: analogue music by Ensemble Extrakte, musical journalism by Andrea Voets and concerts from the Berliner Stegreif Orchester; our expert programme with over 30 pioneers of transformation and sustainability; performances and live art by and with Claire Vivianne Sobottke, François Chaignaud and Marie-Pierre Brébant, Jared Gradinger and Angela Schubot, Meg Stuart as well as Mansour Ciss Kanakassy.

“Down to Earth” will focus on the boundary between nature and culture and how it can become porous. An important element will be its audit of our own “operating system”: 20 degrees Celsius, 50 % humidity in the exhibition hall – how did that come about? How did our predecessors come to prescribe this standard of modernity for museums? How did they work in this building before air conditioning? How does our air conditioning work and where is it exactly? Which hotels are ecologically viable, which energy companies, how will our programme change if the people working with us have to come here by train?

Turn off the air conditioning and the lights – open the windows! But then, the insurance of the loans is at stake and the Corona restrictions pose a problem, and the large collections and museums will never lend us anything again. And if we open the windows, then only with fly screens anyway, otherwise animals and insects will get in. So, everything is connected: windows closed, air conditioning on, windows open, grilles in front, then air conditioning off, but no more works, so the system just runs all year round, day and night. Life stays outside and only dead soil is allowed in. These are the actual problems we discover on our end and they are part of the bigger problem. And that’s what the project is about. Unplugged. Many artists will completely rethink their performances for us – without electricity, without recorded music, everything is live, originates in the physical world and in the here and now. And based on that exhibition practice, we will take a look at the world with Bruno Latour’s words in mind: “To describe is always not only to inform but also to alarm, to move, to set into motion, to call to action, perhaps even to sound the death knell. This has been known, of course; but it still needed to be shown in broad daylight.”

With Anatole Abitbol, Frédérique Aït-Touati, Marion Albert, Diana Alzate, Kay Andrees, Raphaëlle Atlan, Kader Attia, Antoine Barjon, Ikram Benchrif, Peter Berz, Luca Di Blasi, Norbert Boenigk, Joachim Borner, Kerstin Burghaus, Grit Bürgow, Filipa César / Louis Henderson, François Chaignaud & Marie-Pierre Brébant, Malik Chaoui, Marco Clausen, Johannes Comeau Milke, Steven Corcoran, Grischa Dallmer, Arthur De Buren, Agnes Denes, Immanuel Dorn, Tiffany Düvier, Jan Edler & Tim Edler, Shelley Etkin, Duncan Evennou, Ensemble Extrakte, Maja Chiara Faber, Henry Farkas, Andreas Frädrich, Franziska Freitag, Vibha Galhotra, Christopher Garthe, Simryn Gill, Paul Girard, Jared Gradinger & Angela Schubot, Albrecht Grüß, Andreas Gursky, Benedikt Haerlin, Klaus-Peter Handke, Joschka Härdtner, Helen Mayer Harrison & Newton Harrison, Cornelis F. Hemmer, Femke Herregraven, Christian Heymann, Louise Höjer, Yngve Holen , Koo Jeong A, Anne Duk Hee Jordan, Selina Kahle, Mansour Ciss Kanakassy, Jürgen Krauss, Rüdiger Kruse, Lukasz Kuni, Alicja Kwade, Brandon LaBelle, Patrick Laffont de Lojo, Bruno Latour, Michelle-Marie Letelier, Armin Linke, Robert Lippok, Diego Maronese, Tomas Matauko, Konstanze Meyer, Marion Müller, Marina Naprushkina, Hermann E. Ott, Jean Painlevé, Florent Penide, Khien Phuc, Kirsten Pieroth, Benoit Pinero, Asad Raza, Jean-Jacques Rémond, Michela Rota, Tomás Saraceno, Birgit Schattling, Karin Schönberger, Isabell Schrickel, Carla Schulte-Fischedick, Dorothea Schwierskott, Tino Sehgal, Miriam Simun, Claire Vivianne Sobottke, Himali Singh Soin mit David Soin Tappeser, Kerstin Stark, Anja Steglich, Stegreif Orchester, Joulia Strauss, Meg Stuart / Damaged Goods, Mathilde ter Hejne, Sissel Tolaas, Tim Jonas Urbanek, Marcus Vietzke, Andrea Voets, Corinna Vosse, Andreas Weber, Peter Weibel, Ralf Weiß, Peter Wilhelm, Susanne Winter, Bartosz Żurowski and many more

Initiated by Thomas Oberender
Co-curated by Julia Badaljan, Thomas Oberender, Anja Predeick, Tino Sehgal, Jeroen Versteele
Curatorial associates Descha Daemgen, Stefanie Hessler, Marc Pohl, Joulia Strauss, Frédérique Aït-Touati

An exhibition organised by Berliner Festspiele as part of the programme series Immersion.

Funded by the

Logo Die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien

Partners

Logo: Berlin Art Week 2020    Logo Kulturradio    Logo Cee Cee    Exberliner

Monopol – Magazin für Kunst und Leben    die tageszeitung    Logo Wall AG     Logo Das Wetter

Yorck Kinogruppe

Klima Kunst Diskurs unplugged

Down to Earth

13. August bis 13. September 2020

„Down to Earth“, unser Sommer im Gropius Bau: Vier Wochen ohne Strom, Lautsprecher, Videos, Screens, Flugreisen, Scheinwerfer, dafür mit Tageslicht, Hitze, Recycling, analoger Musik, Tanz, Talks mit Expert*innen des Wandels, Exponaten zum Thema Ozean, Gaia, Wasserpfützen, lebender Erde, einem zersägten Porsche, modernen Ritualen, im Geiste Latours, Margulis, Lovelocks und der Shipibo – 14 Räume, im Ganzen jeden Tag anders.

Checkpoint: „Down to Earth“ ist Freizeit. Zur Ruhe kommen, zuhören, zusehen, reden und weitergehen, analoge Zeit, Verschwendung, Schwieriges in wertvolle Erfahrungen wandeln.

Das größte System, dem wir nicht gegenüberstehen, sondern in dem wir mitten drin sind, ist das Klima – wir machen, gemeinsam mit vielen anderen Akteur*innen, was wir erleiden. Covid-19 erzwang die große Pause, bewirkte eine große Zeremonie der Verlangsamung. Der Himmel über Norditalien und Peking wurde wieder blau, die Flüsse sauber, die soziale Frage deutlich. Oder doch nicht? Die Zustände in den Schlachthöfen, auf den Spargelfeldern, was wir Menschen, Tieren und Landschaften antun, kam in der Krise zur Sichtbarkeit. Auch die Solidarität und die Stimmen der Wissenschaftler*innen und Expert*innen. Millionen Menschen auf allen Kontinenten wurden eingeschlossen und arbeiten seither an der Lösung des gleichen Problems. Kein Kunstwerk könnte das schaffen.

Nur der 11. September und die osteuropäische Revolution 1989 haben in annähernder Weise alle erfasst, jeden mobilisiert wie DAS VIRUS. Und jetzt? Kaum jemand will, dass es weitergeht wie vorher. Aber wo können wir landen? Wir haben, wie viele in diesen Tagen, Bruno Latours Klimatexte gelesen. Was ist der „dritte Attraktor“? Hilft er, herauszukommen aus dem alten Kampf von rechts gegen links, links gegen gestern, rechts gegen queer?

Wir wollen ein anderes Spiel spielen. Immersion ist neues Territorium – ein Merkmal von Ungewissheit. Nicht gesichertes Terrain. Unsicher. Ohne Kategorie. Wir sind noch keine Kategorie. Was gut ist. Kein Theater, keine Ausstellung, keine Ausstellung mit Performance, es ist anders. Das Ganze ist eine Situation. Wir öffnen am Morgen und schließen spät. Es ist Sommer. Es wird Dinge geben, die man jeden Tag sehen kann, Objekte, Bilder, Rauminstallationen – und vier Wochen lang täglich wechselnde Gespräche, Vorträge, Tanz und Musik. Stellen Sie sich vor, Sie gehen in eine Ausstellung, und es ist immer jemand für Sie da.

Wenn Sie durch die Räume gehen, sehen Sie Bilder unseres Ozeanplaneten von Andreas Gursky. Davor eine Neuköllner Pfütze von Kirsten Pieroth, die nie austrocknet. In zwei Räumen hat Stefanie Hessler eine Ausstellung in der Ausstellung mit Fotografien, Installationen und Forschungsprojekten zum Thema Ozean kuratiert, gefolgt von Bruno Latours und Frédérique Aït-Touatis Working Space. Der Übergang von natürlicher und technologischer Transformation prägt die Arbeit von Alicja Kwade und zugleich zeigen wir Agnes Denes‘ Tree-Mountain-Projekt und ihr Weizenfeld, mitten in New York. Joulia Strauss lädt uns ein, indigene Kulturen zu ehren und marginalisierte Formen des Wissens anderer Gesellschaften und Zeiten zu entdecken. Eine große Menge Erde, die durch Alltagseinflüsse unbrauchbar wurde, macht Asad Raza in einer Installation wieder fruchtbar. Sie können barfuß durchlaufen. Nebenan warten der zersägte Porsche von Yngve Holen und Vibha Galhotras lautlose Installation, die dem weltweiten Sterben der Bienen gewidmet ist. Tomás Saraceno verdanken wir das Kunstwerk einer Spinne, mit der wir im Gropius Bau seit einem halben Jahr zusammenleben und für Tino Sehgals Arbeit „This Situation“ brauchten wir keinen Leihantrag und keine Versicherung, denn sie ist immateriell und lebt, unter anderem mit Ihnen.

Das alles ist die eine Hälfte. Hinzu kommt ein Live-Programm. Jede Ausstellung erzeugt eine Öffentlichkeit und wir möchten „Down to Earth“ nutzen, um Öffentlichkeiten zu verbinden, die sich selten begegnen – zum Beispiel eine aktivistische Akademie aus Athen und das Kolleg der wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeiter*innen von Bruno Latour und Frédérique Aït-Touati, oder die diversen Communities unserer Expert*innen des Wandels, die Pionier*innen der solidarischen Landwirtschaft sind, der Salzwassergärten auf Hochhausdächern, der Repair-Cafés oder der Tiny-House-Bewegung. Deshalb werden wir auf dem Südplatz ein solches Haus mit den Besucher*innen aufbauen, oder für sie ohne Strom kochen und mit ihnen gemeinsam essen. Musik, Expert*innen, Exponate, Live Art, Diskurs – das sind die Komponenten von „Down to Earth“: analoge Musik des Ensemble Extrakte, musikalischer Journalismus von Andrea Voets und Konzerte des Berliner Stegreif Orchesters; unser Expert*innenprogramm mit über 30 Pionier*innen der Transformation und Nachhaltigkeit; Aufführungen und Live Art von und mit Claire Vivianne Sobottke, François Chaignaud und Marie-Pierre Brébant, Jared Gradinger und Angela Schubot.

„Down to Earth“ betrachtet die Grenze zwischen Natur und Kultur und macht sie porös. Ein wichtiges Element dabei ist der Check unseres eigenen „Betriebssystems“: 20 Grad Celsius, 50 % Luftfeuchtigkeit im Ausstellungshaus – wie ist das entstanden? Wie sind unsere Vorgänger*innen zu diesen Standards des Industriezeitalters im Museum gekommen? Wie haben sie in diesem Haus gearbeitet, als es noch keine Klimaanlagen gab? Wie funktioniert unsere Klimaanlage und wo ist sie überhaupt? Welche Hotels sind ökologisch vertretbar, welche Energiekonzerne, wie verändert sich das Programm, wenn unsere Mitwirkenden mit dem Zug anreisen?

Macht doch mal die Klimaanlage und das Licht aus – öffnet die Fenster! Aber dann ist die Versicherung der Leihgaben in Gefahr und die Corona-Auflagen sind ein Problem, und die großen Sammlungen werden uns nie mehr etwas leihen. Und wenn wir die Fenster aufmachen, dann sowieso nur mit Fliegengittern, sonst kommen Tiere rein und Insekten. Und so hängt alles zusammen: Fenster zu, Klimaanlage an, Fenster auf, Gitter davor, dann Klimaanlage aus, aber keine Werke mehr, weshalb die Anlage einfach immer läuft, das ganze Jahr, Tag und Nacht. Das Leben bleibt draußen und nur tote Erde darf rein. Das sind die konkreten Probleme, die wir bei uns selbst entdecken und sie sind Teil des größeren Problems. Und darüber machen wir ein Projekt. Unplugged. Viele Künstler*innen denken ihre Aufführungen für uns komplett neu, ohne Strom, ohne Musik vom Band, alles ist live, entsteht in der physischen Welt und im Hier und Jetzt. Und von dieser Ausstellungspraxis schauen wir auf die Welt: „Beschreiben heißt niemals nur informieren, es heißt alarmieren, emotional berühren, mobilisieren, zum Handeln aufrufen, vielleicht auch Sturm läuten. Das war im Grunde bekannt; allerdings mußte es auch ans Licht gebracht werden.“ (Bruno Latour)

Mit Frédérique Aït-Touati mit Bruno Latour und Gästen (SPEAP, Zone Critique), Kader Attia, Peter Berz, Luca Di Blasi, Grit Bürgow, Filipa César / Louis Henderson, François Chaignaud & Marie-Pierre Brébant, Marco Clausen, Johannes Comeau-Milke, Steven Corcoran, Agnes Denes, Immanuel Dorn, Jan Edler & Tim Edler, Ensemble Extrakte, Shelley Etkin, Maja Chiara Faber, Henry Farkas, Andreas Frädrich, Vibha Galhotra, Simryn Gill, Andreas Gursky, Joschka Härdtner, Benedikt Haerlin, Helen Mayer Harrison & Newton Harrison, Cornelis F. Hemmer, Femke Herregraven, Christian Heymann, Louise Höjer, Yngve Holen, Anne Duk Hee Jordan, Koo Jeong A, Rüdiger Kruse, Lukasz Kuni, Alicja Kwade, Michelle-Marie Letelier, Armin Linke, Robert Lippok, Diego Maronese, Konstanze Meyer, Dr. Motte, Marion Müller, Hermann E. Ott, Jean Painlevé, Khien Phuc, Kirsten Pieroth, Asad Raza, Tomás Saraceno, Birgit Schattling, Karin Schönberger, Isabell Schrickel, Carla Schulte-Fischedick, Dorothea Schwierskott, Tino Sehgal, Claire Vivianne Sobottke, Himali Singh Soin, Kerstin Stark, Anja Steglich, Stegreif Orchester, Joulia Strauss, Meg Stuart, Rirkrit Tiravanija / Nikolaus Hirsch / Michel Müller, Marcus Vietzke, Andrea Voets, Andreas Weber, Peter Weibel, Peter Wilhelm, Susanne Winter, Bartosz Żurowski u.v.a.

Initiiert von Thomas Oberender
Kuratorisches Team Julia Badaljan, Thomas Oberender, Anja Predeick, Tino Sehgal, Jeroen Versteele
Kuratorische Mitarbeit Descha Daemgen, Stefanie Hessler, Marc Pohl, Joulia Strauss, Frédérique Aït-Touati

Eine Ausstellung der Berliner Festspiele im Rahmen der Programmreihe Immersion.

Gefördert durch

Logo Die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien

Partner

Logo Cee Cee    Exberliner    Monopol – Magazin für Kunst und Leben     Logo Wall AG    Yorck Kinogruppe