Theatre
The 10 Selected Productions

TANZ

Eine sylphidische Träumerei in Stunts

Concept Florentina Holzinger

A production by Florentina Holzinger in co-production with Spirit and Tanzquartier Wien, SPRING Festival (Utrecht), Productiehuis Theater Rotterdam, Künstlerhaus Mousonturm (Frankfurt), Arsenic (Lausanne), Münchner Kammerspiele, Take Me Somewhere Festival (Glasgow), Beursschouwburg (Brussels), deSingel (Antwerpen), SOPHIENSÆLE (Berlin), Frascati Producties (Amsterdam), Theater im Pumpenhaus (Münster), asphalt Festival (Dusseldorf)

Premiere 3. October 2019 (Vienna)

With stubborn discipline, Florentina Holzinger’s ballet class hurl themselves into spectacular and violent stunts, finding ecstasy in a magical world of nature, horror and nudity.

TANZ

TANZ

© Eva Würdinger

  • 2 h, without interval
  • In English

A vertiginous spectacle about physical disciplining and the cult of beauty in dance-tradition: Through joint rituals, a ballet class directed by Beatrice Cordua learns to govern their bodies and spirits, finally attaining supernatural powers. With devices from the genres of freak show, splatter, acrobatics and horror, Holzinger and her outstanding cast create parodies of sensationalist images which, in their search for perfection, transform the coarse into the sublime.

Statement of the Jury

Florentina Holzinger’s “TANZ” is a response to images and fantasies handed down through the centuries by classical ballet. Among other sources, the dancer, performer and choreographer draws on “La Sylphide” by Filippo Taglioni. In her version, however, the sylphs (spirits of the air) don’t glide over the ground in pointed shoes: They circle the stage on motorbikes stark naked or fly through the air on brooms – and they smoke, too! “TANZ” inserts motifs from romantic ballets like “Swan Lake” or “Giselle” into a plot based on Dario Argento’s “Suspiria”: a ballet class that takes an ominous turn for the worse. Ever since her programmatic work “Kein Applaus für Scheiße” (No Applause for Shit), which she developed with Vincent Riebeek in 2011, Holzinger has been known for a blood-curdling use of bodies. Her performances carry the chutzpah of Viennese Actionism, but even more than that, they celebrate subversive stage formats that see the body as a spectacle and an instrument of power: sideshows, stunts, martial arts.

Cast

Concept, Performance and Choreography Florentina Holzinger
Video Design, Live Camera Josefin Arnell
Sound Design, Live Sound Stefan Schneider
Lighting Design Anne Meeussen
Stage Design Nikola Knezevic
Technology Koen Vanneste
Dramaturgy Renée Copraij, Sara Ostertag
Music Coach Almut Lustig
Theory, Research Anna Leon
Outside Eye Michele Rizzo, Fernando Belfiore
Stunt Support Haeger Stunt & Wireworks
Management Something Great, DANSCO
International Distribution Something Great

With
Josefin Arnell, Renée Copraij, Beatrice Cordua, Evelyn Frantti, Florentina Holzinger, Lucifire, Annina Machaz, Netti Nüganen, Suzn Pasyon, Laura Stokes, Veronica Thompson, Lydia Darling

Funded by the City of Vienna’s Department of Culture, the Federal Chancellery for Art and Culture, the Performing Arts Fund NL and Norma fonds NL. Supported by O Espaço do Tempo, Fondation LUMA, De Châtel Award and the Austrian Federal Ministry for Art, Culture, Public Service and Sport, Section IV – Art and Culture.

Theater
10er Auswahl

TANZ

Eine sylphidische Träumerei in Stunts

Konzept Florentina Holzinger

Eine Produktion von Florentina Holzinger in Koproduktion mit Spirit und Tanzquartier Wien, SPRING Festival (Utrecht), Productiehuis Theater Rotterdam, Künstlerhaus Mousonturm (Frankfurt), Arsenic (Lausanne), Münchner Kammerspiele, Take Me Somewhere Festival (Glasgow), Beursschouwburg (Brüssel), deSingel (Antwerpen), SOPHIENSÆLE (Berlin), Frascati Producties (Amsterdam), Theater im Pumpenhaus (Münster), asphalt Festival (Düsseldorf)

Premiere 3. Oktober 2019 (Wien)

Florentina Holzingers Ballettklasse stürzt sich mit störrischer Disziplin in spektakuläre und brachiale Stunts und findet Ekstase in einer Zauberwelt aus Natur, Horror und Nacktheit.

TANZ

TANZ

© Eva Würdinger

  • 2 h, ohne Pause
  • in englischer Sprache

Ein schwindelerregendes Spektakel über körperliche Disziplinierung und den Schönheitskult der Tanz-Tradition: In gemeinsamen Ritualen lernt eine Ballettklasse unter der Leitung von Beatrice Cordua Körper und Geist zu beherrschen und erlangt schließlich übernatürliche Kräfte. Mit Mitteln aus Freakshow, Splatter, Akrobatik und Horror entwerfen Holzinger und der herausragende Cast Parodien auf sensationslüsterne Bilder, die auf der Suche nach Perfektion das Derbe ins Erhabene verwandeln.

Statement der Jury

In „TANZ“ antwortet Florentina Holzinger auf Bilder und Fantasien, die das klassische Ballett über Jahrhunderte tradiert hat. Unter anderem bezieht sich die Tänzerin, Performerin und Choreografin auf „La Sylphide“ von Filippo Taglioni. Die Sylphiden (Luftgeister) schweben hier aber nicht auf Spitzenschuhen über den Erdboden, sondern drehen splitternackt auf Motorrädern ihre Kreise oder fliegen auf Besen durch den Schnürboden – und rauchen dabei auch noch! „TANZ“ überträgt Motive aus romantischen Balletten wie „Schwanensee“ oder „Giselle“ in einen an Dario Argentos Horrorfilm „Suspiria“ angelehnten Plot: eine unheilvoll aus dem Ruder laufende Ballettunterrichtsstunde. Holzinger ist seit ihrer programmatischen Arbeit „Kein Applaus für Scheiße“, die sie 2011 mit Vincent Riebeek entwickelt hat, bekannt für einen markerschütternden Einsatz des Körpers. Ihre Performances tragen die Chuzpe des Wiener Aktionismus in sich, viel mehr noch aber feiern sie subversive Bühnenformate, die den Körper als Spektakel und Machtinstrument begreifen: Sideshows, Stunts, Martial Arts.

Besetzung

Konzept, Performance und Choreografie Florentina Holzinger
Videodesign, Live-Kamera Josefin Arnell
Sounddesign, Live-Sound Stefan Schneider
Lichtdesign Anne Meeussen
Bühnendesign Nikola Knezevic
Technik Koen Vanneste
Dramaturgie Renée Copraij, Sara Ostertag
Musik-Coach Almut Lustig
Theorie, Recherche Anna Leon
Outside Eye Michele Rizzo, Fernando Belfiore
Unterstützung Stunts Haeger Stunt & Wireworks
Management Something Great, DANSCO
Internationale Distribution Something Great

Mit
Josefin Arnell, Renée Copraij, Beatrice Cordua, Evelyn Frantti, Florentina Holzinger, Lucifire, Annina Machaz, Netti Nüganen, Suzn Pasyon, Laura Stokes, Veronica Thompson, Lydia Darling

Gefördert von der Kulturabteilung der Stadt Wien, dem Bundeskanzleramt für Kunst und Kultur, von Performing Arts Fund NL und Norma fonds NL. Unterstützt von O Espaço do Tempo, Fondation LUMA, De Châtel Award und dem österreichischen Bundesministerium für Kunst, Kultur, öffentlichen Dienst und Sport, Sektion IV – Kunst und Kultur.