Online conversation
In House: Artist in Residence

Politics of Plants. Preliminary Questions

Zheng Bo & Roger T. Ames

On 20 May, the East Asian lunisolar calendar Solar Term transitioned into the period Lesser Fullness of Grain (⼩满). On this day, Roger T. Ames and Zheng Bo were in conversation about Daoist perspectives on interspecies thinking.

Zheng Bo, LIFE IS HARD. WHY DO WE MAKE IT SO EASY?, 2018

Zheng Bo, LIFE IS HARD. WHY DO WE MAKE IT SO EASY?, 2018. Commissioned by Thailand Biennale, Krabi, and supported by Hong Kong Arts Development Council.

Photo: Abdulromae Taleh

  • 60 min.
  • In English

Past Dates

Reflections on the relations between humans and non-human beings are ancient considerations. Zheng and Ames spoke about what inspiration can be drawn from Daoism to address more-than-human politics and ecological emergency.

During the conversation, Zheng took a walk on Hong Kong’s Lantau Island and Ames on the Hawaiian island of O'ahu. Listeners were invited to do the same: to take a walk in nature and imagine possible relations between humans and other beings. You can listen to the recording of the conversation on the right.

Roger T. Ames is Humanities Chair Professor at Peking University and former editor of the journal Philosophy East and West. He has authored numerous philosophical translations of canonical literature on Daoism and Confucianism, including the Daodejing and the Confucian Analects.

Zheng Bo is an artist and theorist currently based on Lantau Island in Hong Kong. As this year’s In House: Artist in Residence, he is exploring how equality between species on the planet can be reimagined and realised. During his residency, Zheng is deepening his research through exchange with scientists and is holding events on the solar terms of the year, beginning with this series of live conversations.

Zheng Bo, LIFE IS HARD. WHY DO WE MAKE IT SO EASY?, 2018

Zheng Bo, LIFE IS HARD. WHY DO WE MAKE IT SO EASY?, 2018. Beauftragt von der Thailand Biennale, Krabi, und unterstützt vom Hong Kong Arts Development Council.

Foto: Abdulromae Taleh

Online-Gespräch
In House: Artist in Residence

Politics of Plants. Preliminary Questions

Zheng Bo & Roger T. Ames

Am 20. Mai beginnt im ostasiatischen Lunisolarkalender die Phase der Kleinen Fülle (⼩满), die die Ährenbildung des Getreides beschreibt. An diesem Tag sprechen Roger T. Ames und Zheng Bo über taoistische Perspektiven auf artenübergreifendes Denken.

  • 60 Min.
  • In englischer Sprache

Vergangene Termine

Audiolivestream
mixlr.com/gropiusbau

Reflexionen über unsere Beziehung zur Natur und das Verhältnis von menschlichen und nicht-menschlichen Lebewesen existieren schon seit Jahrhunderten. In ihrem Gespräch beschäftigen sich Zheng und Ames mit der taoistischen Weltsicht, die das Selbst immer in Bezug zu seiner Umwelt definiert – und der Frage, inwieweit uns diese Philosophie bei unserer Auseinandersetzung mit einer Politik des Mehr-als-Menschlichen (more-than-human politics) und der Klimakrise inspirieren kann.

Während des Gesprächs wird Zheng auf Honkongs Lantau Island und Ames auf der hawaiianischen Insel O’ahu spazieren gehen. Die Zuhörer*innen sind eingeladen, es ihnen gleichzutun: in der Natur über mögliche Beziehungen zwischen Menschen und Pflanzen nachzudenken.

Roger T. Ames ist Professor für Geisteswissenschaften an der Peking University und ehemaliger Herausgeber der Zeitschrift Philosophy East and West. Er verfasste zahlreiche philosophische Übersetzungen kanonischer Literatur des Taoismus und Konfuzianismus, darunter das Daodejing und die Gespräche des Konfuzius.

Zheng Bo ist ein Künstler und Theoretiker, der derzeit auf Lantau Island in Hongkong lebt und arbeitet. Als diesjähriger In House: Artist in Residence untersucht er Möglichkeiten zur Gleichstellung der Arten auf diesem Planeten und vertieft seine Recherchen im Austausch mit Wissenschaftler*innen. Den Anfang macht eine Reihe von Live-Gesprächen, die sich an den Halbmonaten des ostasiatischen Lunisolarkalenders orientieren und das Publikum dazu einladen, seine Recherchen, Gespräche und Überlegungen mitzuerleben.