Performance

Guernica in Sand

Lee Mingwei

The five-hour performance Guernica in Sand is part of Lee Mingwei’s eponymous installation, which is on view in the atrium of the Gropius Bau. Created using 28 tonnes of sand, Lee’s monumental work offers a ritual for transforming both historical and personal trauma.

Lee Mingwei, Guernica in Sand, 2006/2020

Lee Mingwei, Guernica in Sand, 2006/2020. Installation view Lee Mingwei: 禮 Li, Gifts and Rituals, Gropius Bau, Berlin, 2020

Photo: Laura Fiorio

Past Dates

The point of departure for this work is one of the most iconic artworks in the Western modernist tradition, Guernica (1937) by Pablo Picasso (1881–1973), which Lee Mingwei recreated in sand. In the first part of the performance, visitors chosen in advance by lottery are invited to walk across the sand painting one after another, altering the image with their footsteps. In the second part, performers brush the sand together with bamboo brooms. Emphasis is placed on transforming rather than destroying the cubist image. Guernica in Sand is an artwork that is open to the transformative possibilities of change.

Information for visitors
Due to social distancing and hygiene regulations, viewing Lee Mingwei’s performance Guernica in Sand on 4 July 2020 in the atrium of the Gropius Bau is only possible with a free online ticket, booked in advance. The tickets are valid for a viewing period of 30 minutes of the five-hour performance. They are available in the online shop from 24 June at 18:00. A maximum of two tickets per booking. Please arrive shortly before the start of your advanced ticket slot to the Südplatz, behind the Gropius Bau, to ensure timely entry (eg. for 11:45 tickets, please arrive at 11:40). There will be no late admittance. Between slots the viewing space must be cleaned, thank you for your cooperation in leaving the space swiftly to enable this procedure. If you would also like to visit Lee Mingwei’s solo exhibition 禮 Li, Gifts and Rituals, please book an exhibition ticket online.

Performance

Guernica in Sand

Lee Mingwei

Die fünfstündige Performance Guernica in Sand ist Teil von Lee Mingweis gleichnamiger Installation, die im Lichthof des Gropius Bau zu sehen ist. Die aus 28 Tonnen Sand bestehende Arbeit ermöglicht eine rituelle Transformation von historischen und persönlichen Traumata.

Lee Mingwei, Guernica in Sand, 2006/2020

Lee Mingwei, Guernica in Sand, 2006/2020. Installationsansicht Lee Mingwei: 禮 Li, Geschenke und Rituale, Gropius Bau, Berlin, 2020

Foto: Laura Fiorio

Vergangene Termine

Ausgangspunkt der Arbeit ist eines der symbolträchtigsten Kunstwerke der westlichen Moderne, Guernica (1937) von Pablo Picasso (1881–1973), das Lee Mingwei aus Sand nachgebildet hat. Im ersten Teil der Performance sind ausgeloste Besucher*innen eingeladen, nacheinander über das Sandgemälde zu laufen, um das Motiv durch ihre Fußabdrücke zu verändern. Im zweiten Teil kehren Performer*innen den Sand mit Bambus-Besen zusammen. Die Betonung liegt dabei nicht auf der Zerstörung des kubistischen Gemäldes, sondern auf dessen Verwandlung: Guernica in Sand ist ein Kunstwerk, das sich den transformativen Möglichkeiten des Wandels öffnet.

Hinweise für Besucher*innen
Aufgrund der geltenden Abstands- und Hygieneregeln ist der Besuch von Lee Mingweis Performance Guernica in Sand am 4. Juli 2020 im Lichthof des Gropius Bau nur mit einem im Voraus gebuchten, kostenlosen Online-Ticket möglich. Die Tickets gelten für 30 Minuten der fünfstündigen Performance. Sie werden ab dem 24. Juni um 18:00 in unserem Onlineshop erhältlich sein. Pro Person können maximal zwei Tickets gebucht werden. Bitte finden Sie sich kurz vor Beginn Ihres gebuchten Zeitfensters auf dem Südplatz hinter dem Gropius Bau ein (z. B. für Tickets um 11:45 bitte um 11:40 erscheinen). Ein Anspruch auf einen Nacheinlass besteht nicht. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass der Umgang des Lichthofs pünktlich verlassen werden muss, um eine regelmäßige Reinigung gewährleisten zu können. Wenn Sie darüber hinaus auch Lee Mingweis Einzelausstellung 禮 Li, Geschenke und Rituale besuchen wollen, kaufen Sie bitte online ein Ausstellungsticket.