Concert

Staatskapelle Berlin

Daniel Barenboim, conductor
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Daniel Barenboim and the Staatskapelle Berlin will play the last three Mozart symphonies at the Musikfest Berlin. Mozart once again impressively summarizes his mastery of composition and his imagination which anticipates Beethoven’s thinking and work.

Joseph Lange: unfinished portrait of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, 1782/83

Joseph Lange: unfinished portrait of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, 1782/83

© akg images

The three (and last) symphonies composed by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart in the summer of 1788 form the great portal to Beethoven’s thinking and work in the field of instrumental music. They contain preforms of essential elements that the younger composer adopted and elaborated. The dramaturgical direction and joint motivic primal cells relate both the various movements of each work and the entire pieces of the triad to each other. The first of the three symphonies is the only one to begin with a slow introduction; the finale of the last one, the “Jupiter” Symphony, surpasses all others in grandeur and therefore is not only a convincing conclusion of one work but also of a longer journey – its basic motif having left its mark in the first two symphonies already. The effect is overwhelming when, out of the “cloud of dust” (Harnoncourt) in which the E-flat major symphony suddenly disappears, the G minor symphony takes on its delicate shape. The trilogy is more than the sum of its symphonies.

Daniel Barenboim and the Staatskapelle Berlin know all sides of Mozart’s art, chamber music, serenades, solo concerts, symphonies, great vocal works and even operas. Mozart’s last three symphonies draw from this experience and some of the topoi from all these areas. They underline the genre’s claim to universality, which was already beyond question for Beethoven.

Concert Programme

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756 – 1791)

Symphony No. 39 in E flat major KV 543 (1788)

Symphony No. 40 in G minor KV 550 (1788)

Symphony No. 41 in C major KV 551 “Jupiter” (1788)

Cast

Staatskapelle Berlin
Daniel Barenboim conductor

Programme and cast are subject to change

A Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin event in cooperation with the Staatsoper Unter den Linden.

Konzert

Staatskapelle Berlin

Daniel Barenboim, Leitung
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Daniel Barenboim und die Staatskapelle Berlin spielen beim Musikfest Berlin die letzten drei Mozart-Symphonien. Mozart fasst hier noch einmal seine kompositorische Meisterschaft und seine Eingebungskraft eindrucksvoll zusammen. Hier kündigt sich bereits Beethovens Denken und Wirken an.

Joseph Lange: unvollendetes Portrait Wolfgang Amadeus Mozarts, 1782/83

Joseph Lange: unvollendetes Portrait Wolfgang Amadeus Mozarts, 1782/83

© akg images

Die drei Symphonien, die Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart im Sommer 1788 komponierte (seine letzten), bilden das große Portal zu Beethovens Denken und Wirken auf dem Hauptgebiet der Instrumentalmusik. In ihnen ist Wesentliches vorgeformt, das sich der Jüngere zu eigen machte und weiterführte. Dramaturgische Regie und gemeinsame motivische Urzellen beziehen nicht nur die verschiedenen Sätze eines Werkes, sondern die Stücke der gesamten Trias aufeinander. Die erste der drei Symphonien beginnt als einzige mit einer langsamen Einleitung; das Finale der letzten, der „Jupiter“-Symphonie, übertrifft an Größe alle anderen und kann daher nicht nur als Abschluss eines Werkes, sondern auch als Ziel eines langen Weges überzeugen. Sein Urmotiv hinterließ bereits in den ersten beiden Symphonien seine Spuren. Überwältigend der Effekt, wenn aus der „Staubwolke“ (Harnoncourt), in der die Es-Dur-Symphonie unvermittelt verschwindet, die g-Moll-Symphonie zarte Kontur gewinnt. Die Trilogie ist mehr als die Summe ihrer Symphonien.

Daniel Barenboim und die Staatskapelle Berlin kennen alle Seiten von Mozarts Kunst, Kammermusik, Serenaden, Solokonzerte, Symphonien, großen Vokalwerke bis zur Oper. Erfahrungen und Topoi aus all diesen Bereichen sind in die letzten drei Symphonien eingeflossen. Sie unterstreichen den universalen Anspruch der Gattung, der für Beethoven bereits außer Frage stand.

Konzertprogramm

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756 – 1791)

Symphonie Nr. 39 Es-Dur KV 543 (1788)

Symphonie Nr. 40 g-Moll KV 550 (1788)

Symphonie Nr. 41 in C-Dur KV 551 „Jupiter“ (1788)

Besetzung

Staatskapelle Berlin
Daniel Barenboim Leitung

Programm- und Besetzungsänderungen vorbehalten

Eine Veranstaltung der Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin in Kooperation mit der Staatsoper Unter den Linden.