Concert

Christian Dierstein & Dirk Rothbrust

Music for Percussion by Rebecca Saunders

In many years of joint sound research with the two exceptional percussionists Christian Dierstein and Dirk Rothbrust, the composer Rebecca Saunders has developed a special vocabulary of sounds for percussion. In the second concert of the Rebecca Saunders portrait, the works “void” and “dust” – dedicated to the two performing percussionists – are presented in a new expansive version.

Percussion set up for Rebecca Saunders’ “dust”

Percussion set up for Rebecca Saunders’ “dust”

Photo: Zubin Kanga 2018 (detail)

Past Dates

Musikfest Berlin digital – Concert Recordings online
Live stream of the concert in the Digital Concert Hall,
available 7 September, 20:00
Recording of the concert at Musikfest Berlin on Demand,
available 8 September, 16:00 – 11 September 15:59

Music in Conversation – Artist Talks online
Talks with Dirk Rothbrust, Christian Dierstein and Rebecca Saunders
available from 19 August

Composers of the 20th and 21st centuries have not only questioned the percussion in a particularly thorough but also particularly radical way. This includes not only to the expansion of the pool of instruments, but also the most diverse ways of making the instruments sound and of entering into a creative exchange with them. The percussionists themselves are increasingly involved in this special metabolism and in the invention of new sounds. These innovations apply in a special way to the works “dust” and “void”, which Rebecca Saunders created for them. In many years of joint sound research with the two exceptional percussionists Christian Dierstein and Dirk Rothbrust, she has developed a unique vocabulary of sounds for this instrument – from familiar percussions to the expansion of the instrumental apparatus with a multitude of new and never-heard sounds such as those of massive car bumpers or singing aluminium strips or crystal bowls and many more.

The arrangement of the instruments is thought out in detail by the composer. The performers do not simply play according to the score but translate the information from the score into a space-sound choreography. The arrangement of the instruments and objects on stage creates a musical-dramatic situation, and the audience can experience how, through the movement, power and virtuosity of the percussionists, the sounds emerge from the silence, take on form, weight and texture and spread out into space in an object-like manner.

“dust” and “void” – both works dedicated to the two percussionists performing – are presented in a new version in this concert.

Concert Programme

Rebecca Saunders (*1967)

Void II (2015 – 2020)
for percussion duo
New version for two musicians
World premiere of the new version

Dust II (2017 – 2020)
for percussion duo
New version for two musicians
World premiere of the new version

Cast

Christian Dierstein percussion
Dirk Rothbrust percussion

Programme and cast are subject to change

The concerts dedicated to Rebecca Saunders on 4, 7 and 9 September 2020 are funded by means of the Capital City Cultural Fund and the Aventis Foundation.


Logo Hauptstadtkulturfonds     Logo Aventis Foundation

A Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin event.

Konzert

Christian Dierstein & Dirk Rothbrust

Musik für Schlagzeug von Rebecca Saunders

In langjähriger gemeinsamer Klangforschung mit den beiden Ausnahme-Perkussionisten Christian Dierstein und Dirk Rothbrust hat die Komponistin Rebecca Saunders für das Schlagzeug ein ganz eigenes Vokabular an Klängen entwickelt. Im zweiten Konzert des Rebecca Saunders-Portraits werden die Werke „void“ und „dust“ – beide sind den beiden Schlagzeugern gewidmet – in einer neuen expansiven Version präsentiert.

Percussion Set up für Rebecca Saunders „dust“

Percussion Set up für Rebecca Saunders „dust“

Foto: Zubin Kanga 2018 (Ausschnitt)

Vergangene Termine

Musikfest Berlin digital – Konzertmitschnitte online
Livestream des Konzerts in der Digital Concert Hall,
verfügbar am 7. September, 20:00
Aufzeichnung des Konzerts auf Musikfest Berlin on Demand,
verfügbar 8. September, 16:00 – 11.  September 15:59

Musik im Gespräch – Künstler*innengespräche online
Gespräche mit Dirk Rothbrust, Christian Dierstein und Rebecca Saunders
verfügbar ab 19. August

Komponist*innen des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts haben das Schlagzeug nicht nur besonders gründlich, sondern auch besonders radikal befragt. Das betrifft nicht nur die Erweiterung des Instrumentenfundus, sondern auch die Möglichkeiten, die Instrumente auf vielfältigste Weise zum Klingen zu bringen und mit ihnen in einen kreativen Austausch zu treten. Die Schlagzeuger*innen selbst sind an diesem besonderen Stoffwechsel und an der Erfindung von neuen Klängen mehr und mehr beteiligt. Diese Neuerungen gelten in besonderer Weise für die Kompositionen „dust“ und „void“, die Rebecca Saunders für Perkussion geschaffen hat. In langjähriger gemeinsamer Klangforschung mit den beiden Ausnahme-Perkussionisten Christian Dierstein und Dirk Rothbrust hat sie für dieses Instrumentarium ein ganz eigenes Vokabular an Klängen entwickelt – von den bekannten Schlaginstrumenten bis hin zur Erweiterung des Instrumentenapparats durch eine Vielzahl von neuen noch nie gehörten Klangfarben wie zum Beispiel die von wuchtigen Autostoßdämpfern oder singenden Aluminiumstreifen oder Kristallschalen und vieles andere mehr.

Detailliert ist die Anordnung des Instrumentariums von der Komponistin durchdacht. Die Performer spielen nicht einfach nach der Partitur, sondern übersetzen die Angaben in der Partitur in eine Raum-Klang-Choreographie. Durch die Anordnungen der Instrumente und Objekte auf der Bühne entsteht eine musik-dramatische Situation, und das Publikum kann miterleben, wie durch die Bewegung, Kraft und Virtuosität der Schlagzeuger die Klänge aus der Stille heraustreten, Form, Gewicht und Haptik annehmen und sich quasi objekthaft im Raum ausbreiten.

„dust“ und „void“ – beide Werke sind den beiden Schlagzeugern gewidmet – werden in diesem Konzert in einer neuen Version präsentiert.

Konzertprogramm

Rebecca Saunders (*1967)

Void II (2015 – 2020)
for percussion duo
New version for two musicians
Uraufführung der neuen Fassung

Dust II (2017 – 2020)
for percussion duo
New version for two musicians
Uraufführung der neuen Fassung

Besetzung

Christian Dierstein Perkussion
Dirk Rothbrust Perkussion

Programm- und Besetzungsänderungen vorbehalten

Die Rebecca Saunders gewidmeten Gastspielkonzerte am 4.9., 7.9. und 9.9.2020 werden gefördert aus Mitteln des Hauptstadtkulturfonds und der Aventis Foundation.

Logo Hauptstadtkulturfonds     Logo Aventis Foundation

Eine Veranstaltung der Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin.