Concert

Berliner Philharmoniker I

Daniel Harding, conductor
Berg | Beethoven

Alban Berg described his “Lyric Suite as” a “small monument to a great love”. In it, the composer musically encoded his passion for the married Hanna Fuchs, interweaving the tonal equivalents of the initials of them both, creating a highly personal piece of music. Beethoven’s symphony known as the “Pastoral” is also programme music, in which he expresses his love for nature – with bird calls, the splashing of streams and thunderstorms. A joyful homage to country life, conducted by Daniel Harding to mark the Beethoven anniversary year.

Adolphe de Meyer, Glass and Shadows, photogravure 1912

Adolphe de Meyer, Glass and Shadows, photogravure 1912

© Wikimedia Commons (detail)

The “Pastoral Symphony” reveals a side of its composer Ludwig van Beethoven that was often forgotten in popular iconography. Beethoven, the lover of sound and colour: where elsewhere contrasts and conflicts would be portrayed firmly and in great detail, he expresses the ideas of the opening movement in shifting keys without changing them substantially. Beethoven the sonic researcher: in the second movement, the “scene by the brook” his orchestra sounds unlike it does anywhere else. And Beethoven, the lover of natural sound (birdsong) and human beings calling out in nature (the horns in the finale): sounds that he has heard supplement his own musical training. This lyrical symphony also contains its dramatic moments: these are particularly vivid in the thunderstorm of the penultimate movement.

Alban Berg could have called his “Lyric Suite” a symphony because it offers everything that belongs in such a work: depth, expression, great contrasts, formal perfection and a wealth of elaborate detail. He wrote it for a string quartet but then adapted movements two to four for a string orchestra. Others subsequently arranged the other sections for larger ensembles. Theodor W. Adorno, who knew of the autobiographical background to the work (Berg’s love for Hanna Fuchs-Robbetin), called it a “latent opera”, a kind of instrumental “Tristan”, and thought: “While the lyric nature of the suite is best served by a quartet, its drama comes to the fore with a body of strings: only then do the contours run into each other in excited complexity […]; only then […] does the outburst have its full catastrophic violence.” The tension of this confessional composition lies in the fact that something always remains of what is genuinely unfulfilled.

Concert Programme

Alban Berg (1885 – 1935)
Lyrische Suite (1926)

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 – 1827)
Symphony No. 6 in F major Op. 68 “Pastoral” (1807/08)

Cast

Berliner Philharmoniker
Daniel Harding conductor

Programme and cast are subject to change

An event of the Stiftung Berliner Philharmoniker in cooperation with Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin.

Konzert

Berliner Philharmoniker I

Daniel Harding, Leitung
Berg | Beethoven

Als „kleines Denkmal einer großen Liebe“ bezeichnete Alban Berg seine „Lyrische Suite“, die seine Liebe zu einer bereits verheirateten Frau thematisiert. In Beethovens „Pastorale“ manifestiert sich dessen Liebe zur Natur und er offenbart sich auch als Klangforscher und Klangfarbenkomponist.

Adolphe de Meyer, Glass and Shadows, Photogravüre 1912

Adolphe de Meyer, Glass and Shadows, Photogravüre 1912

© Wikimedia Commons (Ausschnitt)

Die „Pastorale“ zeigt den Komponisten Ludwig van Beethoven von einer Seite, welche die populäre Ikonographie gern vergaß. Beethoven, den Klang- und Farbverliebten: Wo sonst Kontraste und Konflikte heftig und en detail ausgetragen werden, stellt er die Gedanken des Kopfsatzes in wechselndes Tonartenlicht, ohne sie substanziell zu verändern. Beethoven, der Klangforscher: So wie im zweiten Satz, der „Szene am Bach“ klingt sein Orchester sonst nie. Und Beethoven, der Freund des Naturlauts (Vogelstimmen) und des Menschenrufs in der Natur (Hornsignale zum Finale): Vernommenes ergänzt die eigene musikalische Prägung. Diese lyrische Symphonie enthält gleichwohl ihre dramatischen Momente: besonders anschaulich im vorletzten, dem Gewittersatz.

Als Symphonie hätte Alban Berg seine „Lyrische Suite“ bezeichnen können, denn sie bietet alles, was zu einer solchen gehört: Dichte, Expressivität, große Kontraste, vollendete Form, beziehungsvollen Detailreichtum. Er schrieb sie für Streichquartett, bearbeitete später aber die Sätze zwei bis vier für Streichorchester; andere arrangierten auch die restlichen Teile für große Besetzungen. Theodor W. Adorno, der um die autobiografischen Hintergründe des Werkes (Bergs Liebe zu Hanna Fuchs-Robbetin) wusste, nannte es eine „latente Oper“, eine Art instrumentalen „Tristan“, und meinte: „Wird das lyrische Wesen der Suite am sichersten beim Quartett behütet, so das dramatische beim Streichertutti; erst hier schwimmen die Konturen aufgeregt und hintergründig ineinander […]; erst hier […] hat der Ausbruch die volle katastrophische Gewalt.“ Dass stets ein Rest des real Unerfüllten bleibt, macht die Spannung dieser Bekenntniskomposition aus.

Konzertprogramm

Alban Berg (1885 – 1935)
Lyrische Suite (1926)

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 – 1827)
Symphonie Nr. 6 F-Dur Op. 68 „Pastorale“ (1807/08)

Besetzung

Berliner Philharmoniker
Daniel Harding Leitung

Programm- und Besetzungsänderungen vorbehalten

Eine Veranstaltung der Stiftung Berliner Philharmoniker in Kooperation mit Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin.