Film & Concert

Film & Live Music

Beckett | Saunders & G. Richter

“Crazy inventions for television” – this is what Samuel Beckett called the pieces that he developed with Südfunk Stuttgart between 1977 and 1982. They will be presented as part of an evening of films with live music at Zoo Palast Berlin, and among them is “Ghost Trio”, whose title alludes to Ludwig van Beethoven’s Piano Trio op 70, a composition that plays an important part in the film. The second part of the evening will feature the large-format film “MOVING PICTURES (946-3)” by Gerhard Richter and Corinna Belz, with music composed by Rebecca Saunders and played by trumpet virtuoso Marco Blaauw.

Film still from the film “Not I”

Film still from the film “Not I”. Samuel Beckett (text), Anthony Page (director), Billie Whitelaw (actor)

“Samuel Beckett’s late prose works have had a profound influence on my work. Beckett weighs every word, his shadows, his echoes”, Rebecca Saunders professed. From the age of 60, the author turned to television, a medium that may no longer have been cutting edge at the time, but that was still unprecedented in its wide distribution. Because his cooperation with British broadcasting institutions dragged on, Beckett turned to Südfunk Stuttgart (a part of Südwestrundfunk today). With their production team, he realised and directed four projects between 1977 and 1982 (“crazy inventions for televisions”), including “Ghost Trio”, which is based on Beethoven’s eponymous Piano Trio in D major.

Rebecca Saunders shares Beckett’s affinity to moving images and his way of forming time through art and suspending its measured process. “946-3” was originally a painting by Gerhard Richter, from which he and Corinna Belz created a film of moving colours. Saunders was fascinated by “his radiance, his hypnotizing, absolute concentration and above all, his way of suspending any sense of time”. She wrote the music for this abstract film for trumpet player Marco Blaauw who will perform at the Philharmonie three days previously in the concert with Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin, in Rebecca Saunders’ composition “White” for trumpet solo.

Programme

Samuel Beckett (1906 – 1989)
Ghost Trio (1975/76)
With the actors Klaus Herm, Irmgart Forst
and directed by Samuel Beckett
SDR 1977 production

Samuel Beckett
Not I (1973)
With the actor Billie Whitelaw
and directed by Anthony Page
A joint production of BBC London and RM Productions London

Gerhard Richter (*1932) & Corinna Belz (*1955)
MOVING PICTURE (946-3)
New version (2019/2020)

Corinna Belz film production

with a composition of the same name by
Rebecca Saunders (*1967)
for trumpet solo and electronics (2019/20)
World premiere of the final version

Cast

Marco Blaauw trumpet
Sebastian Schottke sound direction

Programme and cast are subject to change

A Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin event.

Film & Konzert

Film & Live-Musik

Beckett | Saunders & G. Richter

„Crazy inventions for television“ nannte Samuel Beckett seine Arbeiten für das Medium Fernsehen, die er zwischen 1977 und 1982 mit dem Südfunk Stuttgart realisierte. Sie sind an einem Filmabend mit Live-Musik im Zoo Palast Berlin zu sehen. Darunter der Film „Ghost Trio“, der mit seinem Titel auf Ludwig van Beethovens Klaviertrio op. 70,1 anspielt und dem im Film auch eine besondere Rolle zukommt. Im zweiten Teil des Abends folgt der Film „MOVING PICTURE (946-3)“ von Gerhard Richter und Corinna Belz mit Musik von Rebecca Saunders, gespielt von dem Trompetenvirtuosen Marco Blaauw.

Aufführung des Films „Not I“

Aufführung des Films „Not I“

© Monika Karczmarczyk

Vergangene Termine

Musik im Gespräch – Künstler*innengespräche online
Gespräche mit Marco Blaauw und Rebecca Saunders
verfügbar ab 4. September

„Das späte Prosawerk Samuel Becketts hat meine Arbeit enorm beeinflusst. Beckett wägt jedes Wort ab, seine Schatten, seine Echos“, bekannte Rebecca Saunders. Seit seinem 60. Lebensjahr wandte sich der Dichter dem damals technisch nicht mehr ganz neuen, aber in seiner weiten Verbreitung neuartigen Medium, dem Fernsehen, zu. Weil sich die Zusammenarbeit mit britischen Sendeanstalten allzu lange hinzog, bevorzugte er eine Zusammenarbeit mit dem damaligen Südfunk Stuttgart (heute Teil des Südwestrundfunks). Mit dem dortigen Produktionsteam realisierte er zwischen 1977 und 1982 unter eigener Regie vier Projekte („crazy inventions for television“), darunter den Film „Ghost Trio“, der auf dem gleichnamigen D-Dur-Klaviertrio Ludwig van Beethovens basiert.

Rebecca Saunders teilt Becketts Affinität zu bewegten Bildern und seiner Art, Zeit durch Kunst zu formen und ihren getakteten Verlauf zu suspendieren. „946-3“ ist ursprünglich ein Gemälde von Gerhard Richter, aus dem er zusammen mit Corinna Belz einen Film aus bewegten Farben schuf. „Sein Leuchten, seine hypnotisierende, absolute Konzentration und vor allem seine Art, das Zeitgefühl aufzuheben“, faszinierten die Komponistin Saunders. Die Musik zu diesem abstrakten Film schrieb sie für den Trompeter Marco Blaauw, der bereits drei Tage zuvor in dem Konzert mit dem Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin als Solist in Saunders Trompetenkonzert „White“ für Trompete solo von Rebecca Saunders spielt.

Programm

Samuel Beckett (1906 – 1989)
Not I (1973)
mit der Darstellerin Billie Whitelaw
und in der Regie von Anthony Page
Eine Gemeinschaftsproduktion der BBC London und der RM Productions London

Samuel Beckett
Ghost Trio (1975/76)
mit den Darstellern Klaus Herm, Irmgart Forst
und in der Regie von Samuel Beckett
SDR 1977 Produktion

Gerhard Richter (*1932) & Corinna Belz (*1955)
MOVING PICTURE (946-3) Kyoto Version
neue Version (2019/2020)

Corinna Belz Filmproduktion
Rudi Heinen Montage

mit der gleichnamigen Live-Musik von
Rebecca Saunders (*1967)
für Trompete solo und Elektronik (2019/20)
Uraufführung der Endfassung

Besetzung

Marco Blaauw Trompete
Sebastian Schottke Klangregie

Programm- und Besetzungsänderungen vorbehalten

Eine Veranstaltung der Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin.