Concert

Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin

Robin Ticciati, conductor
Bartók | Beethoven

The start of the fourth season with Robin Ticciati: The Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin presents a programme in which the Béla Bartók’s “Concerto for Two Pianos, Percussion and Orchestra” meets Ludwig van Beethoven’s Fourth Symphony – both works were already very successful works during the composers’ lifetime.

Béla Bartók transcribing sound recordings

Béla Bartók transcribing sound recordings

© akg images / De Agostini Picture Lib. / A. Dagli Orti

Since 2017, Robin Ticciati has been Chief Conductor and Artistic Director of the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin. For the opening of their fourth season together, he will work with the orchestra on a Beethoven symphony for the first time. He chose the Fourth, which takes its specific “human tone” and its urge for freedom from the opera “Fidelio”, especially the dungeon scenes.

Bartók’s Concerto for Two Pianos, Percussion and Orchestra was originally composed as a chamber music sonata, before the composer created the version featuring an orchestra. In the Basler Zeitung newspaper, Bartók explained his ideas: “I had intended to write a piece for piano and percussion for years. Over time, I became more and more convinced that a piano confronted with percussive instruments would not generate a satisfactory balance. Accordingly, the plan was changed in as much as there are now two pianos opposed to the percussion … The two percussive voices now take an equal position in relation to the two piano voices. The role of the percussion is diverse: In many instances, it merely adds a colour nuance to the sound of the piano, in others, it enhances important accents; at times, the percussion provides contrapuntal motifs against the piano voice and frequently it is particularly the timpani and the xylophone that play themes in the main voice”.

On the occasion of the 1943 world premiere in the USA, Béla Bartók and his second wife were the glamorous centre of attention.

Concert Programme

Béla Bartók (1881 – 1945)
Concerto for Two Pianos, Percussion and Orchestra (1940)

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 – 1827)
Symphony No. 4 in B flat major op. 60 (1806)

Cast

GrauSchumacher Piano Duo
Jens Hilse percussion
Henrik Magnus Schmidt percussion

Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin
Robin Ticciati conductor

Programme and cast are subject to change

A Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin event in cooperation with Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin.

Konzert

Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin

Robin Ticciati, Leitung
Bartók | Beethoven

Der Start in die vierte gemeinsame Saison mit Robin Ticciati: Im Programm des Deutschen Symphonie-Orchester Berlin trifft das Konzert für zwei Klaviere, Schlagzeug und Orchester von Béla Bartók auf Ludwig van Beethovens Vierte Symphonie – beide waren bereits zu Lebzeiten der Komponisten bereits sehr erfolgreiche Werke.

Béla Bartók beim Transkribieren von Tonaufnahmen

Béla Bartók beim Transkribieren von Tonaufnahmen

© akg images / De Agostini Picture Lib. / A. Dagli Orti

Seit 2017 ist Robin Ticciati Chefdirigent und Künstlerischer Leiter des Deutschen Symphonie-Orchesters Berlin. Zur Eröffnung der vierten gemeinsamen Saison erarbeitet er mit dem Orchester erstmals eine Beethoven-Symphonie. Er wählte die Vierte, die ihren spezifischen „Menschheitston“ aus der Oper „Fidelio“ und ihrem Freiheitsdrang insbesondere in den Kerkerszenen bezieht.

Bartóks Konzert für zwei Klaviere, Schlagzeug und Orchester war zunächst als kammermusikalische Sonate angelegt, bevor die Version mit Orchester entstand. Bartók erläuterte in der Basler National Zeitung seine Ideen dazu: „Ich hatte schon seit Jahren die Absicht, ein Werk für Klavier und Schlagzeug zu schreiben. Allmählich verstärkte sich in mir die Überzeugung, dass ein Klavier gegen Schlaginstrumente keine befriedigende Balance ergibt. Infolgedessen änderte sich der Plan insofern, als zwei Klavier statt einem dem Schlagzeug jetzt gegenüberstehen … Die beiden Schlagzeugstimmen nehmen eine den beiden Klavierstimmen ebenbürtige Stellung ein. Die Rolle des Schlagzeugs ist verschiedenartig: In vielen Fällen ist es nur eine Farbnuance zum Klavierklang, in anderen verstärkt es wichtige Akzente, gelegentlich bringt das Schlagzeug kontrapunktische Motive gegen die Klavierstimme, und häufig spielen namentlich die Pauken und das Xylophon sogar Themen als Hauptstimme.“

Bei der Uraufführung in den USA im Jahr 1943 standen Béla Bartok und seine zweite Ehefrau in Amerika glanzvoll im Rampenlicht.

Konzertprogramm

Béla Bartók (1881 – 1945)
Konzert für zwei Klaviere, Schlagzeug und Orchester (1940)

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 – 1827)
Symphonie Nr. 4 B-Dur op. 60 (1806)

Besetzung

GrauSchumacher Piano Duo
Jens Hilse Schlagzeug
Henrik Magnus Schmidt Schlagzeug

Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin
Robin Ticciati Leitung

Programm- und Besetzungsänderungen vorbehalten

Eine Veranstaltung des Deutschen Symphonie-Orchesters Berlin in Kooperation mit Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin.