Concert

Karajan-Akademie der Berliner Philharmoniker

Enno Poppe, conductor
Saunders | Djordjević | Poppe

The Karajan Academy’s objective is to train and support emerging orchestra musicians. At the centre of this concert is the world premiere of a work by the Serbian and Berlin-based composer Milica Djordjević, which will be encircled by works by Rebecca Saunders and the German composer Enno Poppe, who will also be directing the Karajan Academy.

Peter Weibel, The Globe as a Suitcase, 2004

Peter Weibel, The Globe as a Suitcase, 2004

Photo: Oleksandr Samoylyk, Wikimedia Commons

Past Dates

Musikfest Berlin digital – Concert Recordings online
Live stream of the concert in the Digital Concert Hall,
available 22 September, 20:00
Recording of the concert at Musikfest Berlin on Demand,
available 23 September, 16:00 – 26 September 15:59

Music in Conversation – Artist Talks online
Talks with Enno Poppe, Milica Djordjević and Rebecca Saunders
available from 19 August

Today, it is almost a matter of course: Great, renowned orchestras host academies for the emerging generation of artists. Young musicians receive an excellent education which, however, is often mainly geared towards the solo repertoire. Here, they have the opportunity of perfecting their art side by side with experienced and excellent professional musicians – in orchestral and ensemble music, chamber music and cooperative solo projects. However, when Herbert von Karajan took the initiative to found an academy with the Berliner Philharmoniker nearly half a century ago, this was a pioneering feat.

At the beginning of this season, the work of the Karajan Academy will focus on contemporary music. Enno Poppe, a composer, conductor and clear, convincing champion of New Music, will be at the helm. His own work demonstrates the art of creating polymorphous and extensive connections from a succinct central idea, a compositional molecule, as it were. A performance of Rebecca Saunders’ analysis of the concertante as an exposed and interactive expression and her equally wild and sensitive piece for double bass concludes and rounds out one of this year’s Musikfest Berlin’s main focus themes.

Milica Djordjević's music is described as “rough, often even raw in the gesture”, as a “vital tonal language that refuses less harmony and beautiful sound than that it gives the experience of the elemental quite pleasurably: tones of the earth’s emanations.” Milica Djordević has won this year’s Claudio Abbado Composition Prize, and she also received a commission from the Karajan Academy of the Berlin Philharmonic for a new work that will be premiered that evening.

Concert Programme

Rebecca Saunders
Fury
for double bass solo (2005)

Milica Djordjević (*1984)
Transfixed
for ensemble (2020)
Commissioned by Karajan-Akademie der Berliner Philharmoniker in connection with the awarding of the Claudio-Abbado-Composition-Prize 2020
World premiere

Milica Djordjević
Transfixed ʾ
for ensemble (2020)
Commissioned by Karajan-Akademie der Berliner Philharmoniker in connection with the awarding of the Claudio-Abbado-Composition-Prize 2020
World premiere

Milica Djordjević
Rdja
for ensemble (2015)

Rebecca Saunders (*1967)
Cinnabar
Double concerto for violin and trumpet, ensemble and 11 musical clocks(1999)

Enno Poppe (*1969)
Koffer
for large ensemble (2013)

Cast

Alexander Arai-Swale double bass
Ania Filochowska violin
Markus Mayr trumpet

Karajan-Akademie der Berliner Philharmoniker
Enno Poppe conductor

Programme and cast are subject to change

A Berliner Philharmoniker Foundation event in cooperation with Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin.

Konzert

Karajan-Akademie der Berliner Philharmoniker

Enno Poppe, Leitung
Saunders | Djordjević | Poppe

Ziel der Karajan-Akademie der Berliner Philharmoniker ist die Ausbildung und Förderung des Orchesternachwuchses. Im Zentrum des Abends steht die Uraufführung eines neuen Werks der serbischen Komponistin und Wahlberlinerin Milica Djordjević, umgeben von Werken der ebenfalls in Berlin lebenden Komponist*innen Rebecca Saunders und Enno Poppe, der auch das Ensemble der Karajan-Akademie dirigiert.

Peter Weibel, Die Erdkugel als Koffer, 2004

Peter Weibel, Die Erdkugel als Koffer, 2004

Foto: Oleksandr Samoylyk, Wikimedia Commons

Musikfest Berlin digital – Konzertmitschnitte online
Livestream des Konzerts in der Digital Concert Hall,
verfügbar am 22. September, 20:00
Aufzeichnung des Konzerts auf Musikfest Berlin on Demand,
verfügbar 23. September, 16:00 – 26.  September 15:59

Musik im Gespräch – Künstler*innengespräche online
Gespräche mit Enno Poppe, Milica Djordjević und Rebecca Saunders
verfügbar ab 19. August

Heute versteht es sich fast von selbst: Große, renommierte Orchester unterhalten Akademien für die heranwachsenden Künstler*innengeneration. Junge Musiker*innen, die eine ausgezeichnete, aber meist am solistischen Repertoire orientierte Ausbildung genießen, können sich an der Seite erfahrener und exzellenter Berufsmusiker*innen vervollkommnen – im Orchester- und Ensemblespiel, in der Kammermusik und in kooperativen Soloprojekten. Als Herbert von Karajan vor einem knappen halben Jahrhundert die Initiative zur Gründung einer Akademie der Berliner Philharmoniker ergriff, war dies jedoch eine Pioniertat.

Die Arbeitsphase der Karajan-Akademie steht zu Anfang der Saison im Zeichen der Gegenwartsmusik. Enno Poppe, Komponist, Dirigent und klarer, überzeugender Vermittler neuer Musik, leitet sie. Sein eigenes Werk demonstriert die Kunst, aus einem knappen Kerngedanken, gleichsam aus einem kompositorischen Molekül, vielgestaltige und weit gespannte Zusammenhänge entstehen zu lassen. Mit Rebecca Saunders’ Befragung des Konzertanten als exponierte wie interaktive Äußerung und ihrem wild-sensiblen Stück für Kontrabass wird ein Schwerpunkt dieses Musikfest Berlin abgeschlossen und abgerundet.

Als „rau, häufig gar roh im Gestus“, wird die Musik Milica Djordjevićs beschrieben, als eine „vitale Tonsprache, die weniger Harmonie und Schönklang verweigert, als dass sie, durchaus lustvoll, das Erlebnis des Elementaren gewährt: Tönen der Emanationen der Erde.“ Milica Djordjević wurde in diesem Jahr der Claudio-Abbado-Kompositionspreis zugesprochen, außerdem erhielt sie von der Karajan-Akademie der Berliner Philharmoniker einen Kompositionsauftrag für ein neues Werk, das an diesem Abend uraufgeführt wird.

Konzertprogramm

Rebecca Saunders (*1967)
Cinnabar
Doppelkonzert für Violine und Trompete, Ensemble und 11 Spieluhren (1999)

Rebecca Saunders
Fury
für Kontrabass solo (2005)

Milica Djordjević (*1984)
Transfixed ʾ
für Ensemble (2020)
Kompositionsauftrag der Karajan-Akademie der Berliner Philharmoniker in Verbindung mit der Verleihung des Claudio-Abbado-Kompositionspreises 2020
Uraufführung

Milica Djordjević
Rdja
für Ensemble (2015)

Enno Poppe (*1969)
Koffer
für großes Ensemble (2013)

Besetzung

Alexander Arai-Swale Kontrabass
Ania Filochowska Violine
Markus Mayr Trompete

Karajan-Akademie der Berliner Philharmoniker
Enno Poppe Leitung

Programm- und Besetzungsänderungen vorbehalten

Eine Veranstaltung der Stiftung Berliner Philharmoniker in Kooperation mit Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin.