Naoyuki Manabe

Naoyuki Manabe

© Masayasu Ikeda

Concert
Sonic Arts Lounge

Banshikichō

Sonic Arts Lounge

Traditional Gagaku Music from Japan for shō

The sounds of the shō mouth organ may seem foreign to listeners of Western music – they are reminiscent of an accordion or a harmonica. The shō is used in traditional Japanese gagaku, a type of music that was played at the Imperial Courts. Approximately 90 compositions are still known of today. These works are tied to traditional rules.

Banshikichō refers to the mode of the work within an untempered modal system, and contains very specific ornamentation, tuning and ranges. When the shō is played, melody, harmony and rhythm unfold in the movement and spatial sound development of dissonant clusters.
John Cage, who was in close contact with Japanese artists from the 1960s onwards, also studied traditional Japanese music with great intensity. His composition Two4 for violin and shō is a challenge in many ways. The violinist has to differentiate six microtones within a semitone, which results in 84 tones at his disposition within an octave. Even though Cage does not demand precision in each individual tone, a defined vagueness is to be displayed within a tonal space. While the violin necessitates playing notes of a long duration, the shō marches quickly through its sound material.
A friend, companion and pupil of John Cage’s, Toshi Ichiyanagi was born in 1933 in Kobe (Japan). From 1952 to 1961 he lived in the USA and attended, among other institutions, the New School for Social Research, at which Cage was an instructor. From 1956 to 1963 he was married to the artist Yoko Ono. Ichiyanagi was one of the New York avant-garde represenatives of experimental music. After returning to Japan in 1961 he wrote numerous compositions, in which he combines classical Japanese with Western music.
While Naoyuki Manabe is a high-ranking Gagaku and shō musician, Marc Sabat’s long engagement with experimental music and pure tuning systems meant that he was predestined for this concert.

John Cage
Two4
for violin and sho (1991)

Toshi Ichiyanagi
Still Time I
for shō (1986)

Naoyuki Manabe, shō
Marc Sabat, violin

In collaboration with the Embassy of Japan in Germany and DAAD: Berlin Artists-in-Residence programme

Konzert
Sonic Arts Lounge

Banshikichō

Sonic Arts Lounge

Traditionelle Gagaku Musik aus Japan für Shō

Naoyuki Manabe

Naoyuki Manabe

© Masayasu Ikeda

Vergangene Termine

Die Klänge der Mundorgel Shō mögen Hörern westlicher Musik fremd erscheinen – sie erinnern an Akkordeon oder Mundharmonika. Die Shō wird im traditionellen japanischen Gagaku verwendet, eine Musikart, die an den kaiserlichen Höfen gepflegt wurde und von der heute noch etwa neunzig Kompositionen bekannt sind. Diese Stücke sind an traditionell vorgeschriebene Regeln gebunden.

Banshikichō bezeichnet den Modus des Stücks innerhalb des untemperierten Modalsystems und beinhaltet ganz bestimmte Ornamentierungen, Stimmungen und Tonumfänge. Melodie, Harmonie und Rhythmus gehen beim Spiel der Shō in der Bewegung und räumlichen Klangentfaltung von Tonclustern auf.
Auch John Cage, seit den 1960er Jahren in engem Kontakt mit japanischen Künstlern, hat sich intensiv mit traditioneller japanischer Musik beschäftigt. Seine Komposition Two4 für Violine und Shō ist in vieler Hinsicht eine Herausforderung. Der Violinist hat sechs Mikrotöne innerhalb eines Halbtones zu differenzieren, so dass 84 Töne innerhalb einer Oktave zur Verfügung stehen. Auch wenn Cage nicht die Präzision jedes einzelnen Tons fordert, so soll doch eine definierte Unbestimmtheit innerhalb eines Tonraums dargestellt werden. Während die Violine angehalten ist, Töne von langer Dauer zu spielen, bewegt sich die Shō in schnellen Schritten durch ihr Tonmaterial
Toshi Ichiyanagi, geboren 1933 in Kobe (Japan), ist einer der Freunde, Weggefährten und Schüler von John Cage. Von 1952 bis 1961 lebte er in den USA und besuchte u. a. die New School for Social Research, an der Cage lehrte. Von 1956 bis 1963 war er mit der Künstlerin Yoko Ono verheiratet. Ichiyanagi gehörte zu den Vertretern der experimentellen Musik der New Yorker Avantgarde. Seit seiner Rückkehr nach Japan im Jahr 1961 schrieb er zahlreiche Kompositionen, in denen er klassische japanische und westliche Musik verbindet.
Während Naoyuki Manabe zu den hochrangigen Spielern des Gagaku und der Shō gehört, ist Marc Sabat durch seine langjährige Beschäftigung mit experimenteller Musik und reinen Stimmungssystemen prädestiniert für dieses Konzert.

John Cage
Two4
für Violine und Shō (1991)

Toshi Ichiyanagi
Still Time I
für Shō (1986)

Naoyuki Manabe, Shō
Marc Sabat, Violine

In Zusammenarbeit mit Botschaft von Japan in Deutschland und Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD