Natalia Pschenitschnikova

Natalia Pschenitschnikova

© Kai Bienert

Concert
John Cage 100 / Recital

DREAM Early Songs & Piano Piano Pieces by John Cage

DREAM
Early Songs & Piano Pieces by John Cage

Past Dates

The artist and interpreter Natalia Pschenitschnikova and the pianist Alexej Lubimov, who is especially well-known for seeing to Cage’s reception in eastern Europe, present early songs and piano works by John Cage in a diverse programme. They are proof of the composer’s roots as well as his rich ingenuity and artistic avowals.

Impressed by Erik Satie (1866-1925), Cage wrote many simple piano and vocal works that were reduced to only one melody, such as the Prelude for Meditation (1944), Experiences II (1948) and Dream (1948) for the dance pieces of his later partner, Merce Cunningham.
He also radically continued the piano manipulations of his teacher Henry Cowell (1897-1965) by using everyday instruments such as nails and bolts. John Cage’s first composition for a prepared piano, Bacchanale (1940), an accompanying piece to Syvilla Fort’s dance work, replaced an entire drum ensemble that was too large for the theatre hall but that Cage had wanted for his work. At the same time, he “desecrated” the piano.
And he wrote the charming and lyrical song, The Wonderful Widow of Eighteen Springs, based on a text from Finnegans Wake by James Joyce (1882-1948) a year after the author’s death. A mysterious piece, in which the pianist accompanies the pure and vibrato-free sound of the voice with knocking rhythms against, on and under the closed piano. Not a single piano note is played.
Marcel Duchamp (1887-1968) was John Cage’s role model regarding how to live without a role model and how one should initially view things as they are – ready made. Cage shared many of Duchamp’s views and, in a certain way, he created numerous musical ready mades, alone, in which music was liberated from its deceptive intimacy and the sound from its subject.
John Cage composed the rhythmical study Music for Marcel Duchamp (1947) for a film sequence that Duchamp made for Dreams That Money Can Buy, the legendary experimental film by Hans Richter. For this music, Cage used only a few sounds from a prepared piano and, for the first time, he also included silence in the rhythmical structure of the work.

Dream
for piano (1948)
Experiences No. 2
for solo voice, text: e. e. cummings (1948)
Music for Marcel Duchamp
for prepared piano (1947)
Three Songs
for voice and piano
Text: Gertrude Stein (1933)
The Unavailable Memory of
for prepared piano (1944)
She is Asleep
for voice and prepared piano(1943)
A Room
for prepared piano (1943)
Five Songs for Contralto
for mezzo-soprano and piano
Text: e. e. cummings (1938)
Bacchanale
for prepared piano (1940)
The Wonderful Widow of Eighteen Springs
for voice and piano
Text: James Joyce (1942)
Nowth upon Nacht
for voice and piano
Text: James Joyce (1984)
Prelude for Meditation
for prepared piano (1944)
A Flower
for voice and (closed) piano (1950)

In collaboration with DAAD: Berlin Artists-in-Residence programme and Radialsystem V

Konzert
John Cage 100 / Recital

DREAM Frühe Lieder & Klavierstücke von John Cage

John Cage 100 / Recital

DREAM
Frühe Lieder & Klavierstücke von John Cage

Natalia Pschenitschnikova

Natalia Pschenitschnikova

© Kai Bienert

Vergangene Termine

Die Künstlerin und Interpretin Natalia Pschenitschnikova und der für die Cage-Rezeption insbesondere in Osteuropa wichtige Pianist Alexej Lubimov präsentieren frühe Lieder und Klavierstücke von John Cage. Sie zeigen die Wurzeln ebenso wie die reiche Erfindungsgabe und künstlerischen Bekenntnisse des Komponisten.

So schrieb Cage unter dem Eindruck von Erik Satie (1866-1925) einfache, nur auf eine Melodielinie reduzierte Klavier- und Vokalstücke, wie das Prelude for Meditation (1944), Experiences II (1948) oder auch Dream (1948) für den Tanz seines späteren Lebensgefährten Merce Cunningham.
Auch trieb er die Klaviermanipulationen seines Lehrers Henry Cowell (1897–1965) radikal weiter, indem er Alltagsgegenstände wie Nägel und Bolzen verwendete. John Cages erste Komposition für präpariertes Klavier Bacchanale (1940), eine Begleitmusik zum Tanz von Syvilla Fort, ersetzte ein ganzes für den Theatersaal zu großes, aber von Cage für seine Musik erträumtes Schlagzeugensemble. Zugleich »entweihte« er das Klavier.
Nach einem Text aus Finnegans Wake von James Joyce (1882-1948) schrieb er ein Jahr nach dessen Tod das charmante und lyrische Lied The Wonderful Widow of Eighteen Springs, in dem der Pianist den vibratolosen Klang der Stimme mit klopfenden Rhythmen an, auf und unter dem geschlossenen Klavier begleitet. Es wird kein einziger Klavierton gespielt.
Marcel Duchamp (1887–1968) war John Cages Leitbild im Hinblick darauf, daß man die Dinge zunächst so betrachten sollte, wie sie sind – ready made. Cage teilte viele Ansichten Duchamps und in gewisser Weise schuf er zahlreiche musikalische ready mades, indem er die Musik von ihrer täuschenden Vertrautheit und den Klang vom Subjekt befreite.
Die rhythmische Studie Music for Marcel Duchamp (1947) komponierte John Cage für eine Filmsequenz, die Duchamp für Dreams That Money Can Buy entwickelte, den legendären Experimentalfilm von Hans Richter. Für diese Musik nutze Cage nur wenige Klänge eines präparierten Klaviers, und band in die Struktur des Stückes erstmals auch die Stille mit ein.

Dream
für Klavier (1948)
Experiences No. 2
für Singstimme solo, Text: e. e. cummings (1948)
Music for Marcel Duchamp
für präpariertes Klavier (1947)
Three Songs
für Singstimme und Klavier
Text: Gertrude Stein (1933)
The Unavailable Memory of
für präpariertes Klavier (1944)
She is Asleep
für Gesang und präpariertes Klavier (1943)
A Room
für präpariertes Klavier (1943)
Five Songs for Contralto
für Mezzosopran und Klavier
Text: e. e. cummings (1938)
Bacchanale
für präpariertes Klavier (1940)
The Wonderful Widow of Eighteen Springs
für Singstimme und Klavier
Text: James Joyce (1942)
Nowth upon Nacht
für Singstimme und Klavier
Text: James Joyce (1984)
Prelude for Meditation
für präpariertes Klavier (1944)
A Flower
für Singstimme und (geschlossenes) Klavier (1950)

In Zusammenarbeit mit Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD und Radialsystem V