Workstation / Experts of practice
Down to Earth

Repair-Café

Jürgen Krauss, Norbert Boenigk, Klaus-Peter Handke, Eric Schulz

The Repair Café is the place to go for repairs to small electrical devices. Visitors bring along their borken items and then get them going again with the help of professional “repairers”.

  • 3 h
  • In German

To register: A registration list will be open at the Repair Café.

Norbert Boenigk is a trained technician and for several years now has been working at three Berlin repair cafés, where he repairs everything: flat screens, vacuum cleaners, laptops, fully automatic coffee machines, refrigerators, PCs, printers. He is also interested in showing consumers that we need to rethink our consumption habits: to quit our marketing and advertising mentality and move towards a functioning resource cycle. Boenigk has therefore converted a former market stall into a mobile workshop to participate in repair cafés.

Klaus-Peter Handke, a trained mechanical engineer, knows the problems involved in low-cost production – he has gained considerable expertise in the maintenance of equipment. For 25 years now, he has repaired machines and other equipment and built constructions and electrical controls according to customer requirements. Since 2014, Handke has been working for “Murks? Nein Danke!”, an association that creates meeting places by and for people who want to help shape the recycling industry, for example in so-called repair cafés. There, Handke analyses faults in electrical and mechanical equipment and then repairs it together with the visitors.

Jürgen Krauss works as a system administrator at the Institute of Chemistry at the TU Berlin. Since his childhood, he has loved to do handicrafts and, over the last few years, has been engaged as a “repairer” in various repair cafés. As a former sales manager in the IT industry, he particularly appreciates using alternative operating systems such as Linux to get older PCs or smartphones “going again”. In doing so, he often helps these devices to a second life so that users can do without resource-consuming new devices. He also develops sound objects from recycled parts and free software, which were presented at the Gallery for Sustainable Art in Berlin. Krauss was a participant in the 2018 Utopia Conference at the Leuphana University of Lüneburg and in the “Bits & Trees” Conference in Berlin. As a member of the Sustainability Council of the TU Berlin, he also advocates for sustainable development at the university.

Trained mechanic and IT electrician Eric Schulz has been involved in repair cafés since 2014: first in Berlin-Kreuzberg and now in Berlin-Mitte. The motto: “Don’t throw it away, repair it” is one he has followed since childhood. In doing so he not only wants to contribute to reducing waste and protecting the environment, he also takes pleasure in sharing successful repairs with visitors to the repair cafés.

With friendly support of Kunst-Stoffe e.V.

Workstation / Expert*innen der Praxis
Down to Earth

Repair-Café

Jürgen Krauss, Norbert Boenigk, Klaus-Peter Handke, Eric Schulz

Das Repair-Café ist eine Anlaufstelle zur Reparatur kleinerer defekter Elektro-Geräte, die die Besucher*innen mitbringen und mit Hilfe professioneller „Repairer“ wieder „flottmachen“ können.

  • 3 h
  • In deutscher Sprache

Vergangene Termine

Anmeldung: Eine Anmeldeliste liegt im Repair-Café aus.

Der gelernte Techniker Norbert Boenigk ist seit mehreren Jahren in drei Berliner Repair-Cafés tätig und repariert alles: Flachbildschirme, Staubsauger, Laptops, Kaffeevollautomaten, Kühlschränke, PCs, Drucker. Ihm geht es dabei auch darum, Verbraucher*innen zu zeigen, dass ein Umdenken notwendig ist: weg von einer Marketing- und Werbementalität, hin zu einem funktionierenden Ressourcen-Kreislauf. Boenigk hat deshalb einen ehemaligen Markt-Verkaufsstand zu einer mobilen Werkstatt umgebaut, mit der er an Repair-Cafés teilnimmt.

Der gelernte Maschinenbauingenieur Klaus-Peter Handke kennt die Probleme, die eine preisgünstige Fertigung mit sich bringt – seine Expertise besteht in der Instandhaltung von Geräten. Er hat 25 Jahre Maschinen und sonstige Anlagen repariert und Konstruktionen sowie elektrische Steuerungen nach Kundenanforderungen gebaut. Seit 2014 ist Handke bei „Murks? Nein Danke!“ tätig, einem Verein, der Begegnungsorte von und für Menschen schafft, die die Kreislaufwirtschaft mitgestalten wollen, beispielsweise in Form von Repair-Cafés. Handke stellt dort Fehlerdiagnosen an elektrischen und mechanischen Geräten, um diese anschließend gemeinsam zu reparieren.

Jürgen Krauss ist am Institut für Chemie der TU Berlin als Systemadministrator tätig. Seit seiner Kindheit liebt er das Basteln und war in den letzten Jahren in verschiedenen Repair-Cafés als „Repairer“ aktiv. Als ehemaliger Vertriebsmanager in der IT-Branche schätzt er es besonders, mit alternativen Betriebssystemen wie Linux ältere PCs oder Smartphones wieder „flott“ zu machen. Damit verhilft er diesen Geräten oft zu einem zweiten Leben – auf ressourcenfressende Neugeräte können die Benutzer*innen so verzichten. Aus Recyclingteilen und freier Software entwickelt er außerdem Soundobjekte, die in der Galerie für nachhaltige Kunst in Berlin gezeigt wurden. Krauss war 2018 Teilnehmer der Utopie-Konferenz an der Leuphana Universität Lüneburg sowie der „Bits & Bäume“-Konferenz in Berlin. Als Mitglied im Nachhaltigkeitsrat der TU Berlin setzt er sich auch für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung der Universität ein.

Der gelernte Mechaniker und Informationselektroniker Eric Schulz beteiligt sich seit 2014 in Repair-Cafés: anfangs in Berlin-Kreuzberg, jetzt in Berlin-Mitte. Das Motto „reparieren statt wegwerfen“ begleitet ihn seit seiner Kindheit. Er möchte dadurch nicht nur einen Beitrag zur Abfallvermeidung und Umweltschonung leisten, sondern freut sich auch über gelungene Reparaturen mit den Besucher*innen der Repair-Cafés.

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Kunst-Stoffe e.V.