Workshop / Experts of practice
Down to Earth

Tiny House Workshop: Einfach Bauen

Joschka Härdtner, Kay Andrees, N.N.

Simple, direct, local and sustainable – build the “Tiny Simple” with us: a fully-insulated Tiny House that people can stay, work and live in. We will build it on site, without using any electricity. We don’t need cordless screwdrivers, instead we will use hand tools and traditional carpentry techniques. Instead of screws we will make timber joints to hold the beams of the frame together. We don’t use paint because the façade and the timber roof are flamed. The “Tiny Simple” is the latest Tiny House model from the Tiny Collective: elegant, solid, manageable.

  • 4 h
  • In German

To register for the workshop free of charge:


Deadline for applications for the following building week:
06.08., 13.08., 20.8., 27.08., 03.09.2020

The Tiny Collective is looking for people who are interested in a group workshop from 13.08. to 13.09.2020 to build a Tiny House together on the Südplatz at the Gropius Bau – under the guidance of experienced workshop leaders. The workshop starts with a lecture by Joschka Härdtner (13.08.2020, 12:30), and end finishes with a lecture followed by a christening of the freshly completed Tiny House (13.09.2020, 17:30).

Joschka Härdtner is part of the Tiny Collective, which designs and collectively builds tiny houses. Based on the question of how a common, meaningful goal can connect people of different origins and beyond their attributions, Härdtner pursues a philosophical activism that initiates transformations by connecting theoretical and practical approaches. In this way, he seeks to question the artificially drawn boundaries between discourse and practice or communication subject and object. In addition, Härdtner calls for more recycling of building materials – because even eco-insulation material still comes packed in plastic.

Kay Andrees is a freelance carpenter and carriage builder. In the 1990s, he was involved in the construction of the first ecological low-energy houses. Since 2010, he has been developing tiny houses in ecological construction. With over 40 tiny houses built, Andrees is one of the most experienced forces in the network of the Tiny Collective. He co-designed the open source tiny houses “Tiny You”, “Tiny Globe” and “Tiny Simple” and is involved in the development of houseboats and converts the expansion of caravans and campers. Since ecological building enables a healthier life, Andrees’ goal is to ensure that future generations will not be burdened with the hazardous waste of the houses we build today.

Workshop / Expert*innen der Praxis
Down to Earth

Tiny House Workshop: Einfach Bauen

Joschka Härdtner, Kay Andrees, Gudrun Mattke, Mirko Hahn

Einfach, direkt, lokal und nachhaltig – bauen Sie das „Tiny Simple“ mit uns: ein voll isoliertes Tiny House, in dem gewohnt, gearbeitet und gelebt werden kann. Wir bauen vor Ort, ganz ohne Strom. Wir brauchen keinen Akkuschrauber, sondern nutzen Handwerkzeuge und alte Zimmereitechniken. Anstelle von Schrauben stellen wir Holzverbindungen her, um die Balken des Ständerwerks zu verbinden. Wir streichen nicht, denn die Fassade und das Holzdach werden geflammt. Das „Tiny Simple“ ist das neueste Tiny-House-Modell des Tiny Collective: schlicht, solide, überschaubar.

  • 6 h
  • In deutscher Sprache

Anmeldeschluss der Workshops für jede darauffolgende Bauwoche:
6.8., 13.8., 20.8., 27.8., 3.9.2020

Das Tiny Collective sucht Interessierte, die vom 13.8. bis zum 13.9.2020 in einem Gruppenworkshop gemeinsam ein Tiny House auf dem Südplatz des Gropius Bau bauen – unter der Anleitung von erfahrenen Workshopleitern. Der Workshop beginnt mit einer Lecture von Joschka Härdtner (13.8.2020, 12:30), und endet mit einer Lecture sowie der anschließenden Taufe des neugebauten Tiny Houses (13.9.2020, 16:30).

Joschka Härdtner ist Teil des Tiny Collective, das Tiny Houses konzipiert und kollektiv baut. Basierend auf der Frage, wie ein gemeinsames, sinnstiftendes Ziel Menschen unterschiedlicher Herkunft und über Zuschreibungen hinweg miteinander verbinden kann, betreibt Härdtner einen philosophischen Aktivismus, der Transformationen in der Verbindung theoretischer und praktischer Ansätze anstößt. Die künstlich gezogenen Grenzen zwischen Diskurs und Praxis oder Subjekt und Objekt der Kommunikation möchte er dadurch hinterfragen. Außerdem fordert Härdtner mehr Recycling von Baustoffen – denn auch der Öko-Dämmstoff kommt noch in Plastik verpackt.

Kay Andrees ist selbständiger Zimmermann und Wagenbauer. In den 1990er Jahren war er am Bau der ersten ökologischen Niedrigenergiehäuser beteiligt. Seit 2010 entwickelt er Tiny Houses in ökologischer Bauweise. Mit über 40 gebauten Tiny Houses zählt Andrees zu den erfahrensten Kräften im Netzwerk des Tiny Collective. Er hat die Open-Source-Tiny-Houses „Tiny You“, „Tiny Globe“ und „Tiny Simple“ mitkonzipiert und ist an der Entwicklung von Hausbooten und dem Ausbau von Wohnmobilen und -bussen beteiligt. Da ökologisches Bauen ein gesünderes Leben ermöglicht, ist es Andrees Ziel, kommende Generationen nicht mit dem Sondermüll von Gebäuden zu belasten, die wir heute bauen.