Live Art
Down to Earth

Inside

Written by Bruno Latour and Frédérique Aït-Touati, with Duncan Evennou

We have long believed that we were walking on a globe, on the Globe. But in recent years, the geochemists have shown us a completely different planet. They look at the “critical zone”, this thin surface film of Earth where water, soil, subsoil and the world of living beings interact. If this area is critical, it is because life, human activities, and their resources are concentrated there.

  • 1 h
  • In English

Past Dates

Can we change the way we see the Earth, no longer as the distant blue ball lost in the cosmos, but rather, in cross-section? Our way of walking on Earth would no longer be on but with. Such a change of perception is a matter of perception, sensation and modelling. And there is nothing like the theatrical stage to try out a thought experiment: let us stand not on the globe, but in this “critical area” of which the scientists speak. Welcome to Caveland! If we are in a cave, it’s not that we have lived in caves, or in a kind of Platonic cave, but because there is no outside, nothing else for us than the thin and fragile skin of this critical zone. To try to understand what it means to “live inside”, we will do a series of tests that combine the tools of modelling and simulation to bring together two ways to make us sensitive: the way of science and the way of the theatre.

For ten years, philosopher Bruno Latour and director and researcher Frédérique Aït-Touati have been working on projects at the intersection of research and theatre. Their projects strive to stage the process of a developing thought, putting it in a place of modelling and perceptual experiment. “Inside” is born of their common interest in the Critical Zone, Bruno Latour’s work on the Anthropocene and Frédérique Aït-Touati’s projects on the heuristic and immersive qualities of theatre.

Cast

Staging Frédérique Aït-Touati
Performed by Duncan Evennou
Set Design by Patrick Laffont DeLojo
Images by Alexandra Arènes, Axelle Grégoire, Sonia Levy, and from the book “Terra Forma” (Frédérique Aït-Touati, Alexandra Arenes, Axelle Grégoire, B42, 2019)
Translated by Andrew Todd
Production Zone Critique Company

Aufführung
Down to Earth

Inside

von Bruno Latour und Frédérique Aït-Touati, mit Duncan Evennou

Lange Zeit glaubten wir, uns auf einer Kugel zu bewegen, der Erdkugel. Aber in jüngster Zeit präsentieren uns Geochemiker*innen einen ganz anderen Planeten. Sie untersuchen die „kritische Zone“, den dünnen Oberflächenfilm der Erde, wo Wasser, Boden, Unterboden und die Welt der Lebewesen interagieren. Diese Oberfläche ist deshalb so wichtig, weil das Leben, menschliches Handeln und seine Ressourcen dort gebündelt sind.

  • 1 h
  • In englischer Sprache

Vergangene Termine

Können wir unsere Sichtweise auf die Erde ändern? Können wir sie nicht mehr als fernen, blauen Planeten sehen, der verloren im Kosmos schwebt, sondern sie vielmehr im Querschnitt betrachten? Wir würden nicht mehr auf der Erde gehen, sondern mit ihr. Ein solcher Perspektivwechsel entsteht durch Wahrnehmung, Sinnesempfindung und Modellierung. Und wo könnte man ein Gedankenexperiment besser durchführen als auf der Bühne? Wir wollen nicht auf der Erdkugel stehen, sondern in dieser „kritischen Zone“, von der die Wissenschaftler*innen sprechen. Willkommen im Caveland! Wenn wir in einer Höhle agieren, dann soll das aber nicht heißen, dass wir in Höhlen oder in einer Art platonischer Höhle gelebt haben, sondern es heißt, dass es kein Außen gibt, dass es für uns nichts anderes gibt als die dünne und fragile Haut dieser kritischen Zone. Um zu verstehen, was es heißen kann, „drinnen zu leben“, werden wir eine Reihe von Tests durchführen, bei denen wir mithilfe von Instrumenten, Modellen und Simulationen versuchen werden, zwei Wege zusammenzubringen, die uns zu größerer Sensibilität verhelfen können: den Weg der Wissenschaft und den Weg des Theaters.

Der Philosoph Bruno Latour und die Regisseurin und Forscherin Frédérique Aït-Touati realisieren seit zehn Jahren Projekte an der Schnittstelle von Forschung und Theater. In ihren Arbeiten versuchen sie, den Prozess eines sich allmählich verfertigenden Gedankens zu inszenieren und anhand von Modellen und Wahrnehmungsexperimenten darzustellen. „Inside“ entstand aus ihrem gemeinsamen Interesse an der kritischen Zone, Bruno Latours Arbeiten zum Anthropozän und Frédérique Aït-Touatis Projekten zu heuristischen Möglichkeiten und immersiven Eigenheiten des Theaters.

Besetzung

Regie Frédérique Aït-Touati
Mit Duncan Evennou
Bühne Patrick Laffont DeLojo
Bilder Alexandra Arènes, Axelle Grégoire, Sonia Levy, und aus dem Buch „Terra Forma“ (Frédérique Aït-Touati, Alexandra Arenes, Axelle Grégoire, B42, 2019)
Übersetzung Andrew Todd
Produktion Zone Critique Company