Live Art
Down to Earth

Moving Earths

Written by Bruno Latour and Frédérique Aït-Touati, with Duncan Evennou

“I would like you to feel what it’s like to face a revolution in the way the earth is conceived. What it does to the stomach, to the guts, to the wallet, to the mind, to the intelligence, to the morals; to the taste as well as to the disgust of living, to the hope of surviving.” (Excerpt from “Moving Earths”)

  • 1 h
  • In English

Past Dates

Where to land?

When in 1609 Galileo Galilei pointed his telescope at the sky, he discovered mountains on the surface of the Moon, making it another Earth, and the Earth a star among others. He thus upset the cosmic, but also political and social order of his time. Four centuries later, the role and position of our planet is once again being overturned by the new sciences that reveal how human actions make it react in unexpected ways. Galileo had taught us that the Earth is in motion. Researchers James Lovelock and Lynn Margulis discover an Earth “in motion” in another sense: they describe a planet where space and time are the products of the actions of living things. They are forcing us to change our view of the world and our understanding of the cosmos. And, once again, the whole organization of society seems to be called into question.

Whereas in 1610 we had to absorb the shock that “the earth moves”, in 2020 we have to accept the much more surprising shock that the earth trembles and reacts to human actions to the point of disrupting all our development projects.

We invite the audience to test the hypothesis of a parallel between the era of the astronomical revolution and ours. Are we experiencing a world transformation as profound and radical as that of Galileo’s time? One thing is certain: we no longer know exactly what planet we live on, nor how to describe it. It is not a single, fixed and stable Earth, but a multitude of planets that lie before us, and which we must explore to find out which one to land on. Between philosophy and theatre, this production claims to be a mix of genres: we think it is well suited to the current period, in which changes in ideas about the world are accompanied by changes in representations of that world. It is this aesthetics of science on the stage that we have been pursuing together for more than ten years.

Bruno Latour

Cast

Staging Frédérique Aït-Touati
Performed Duncan Evennou
Set Design by Patrick Laffont DeLojo
Scientific advice and documents Sébastien Dutreuil, Jan Zalasievicz
Translated by Andrew Todd
Production Zone Critique Company
With the help of Natural Addict Fund and Fondation Carasso

Aufführung
Down to Earth

Moving Earths

von Bruno Latour und Frédérique Aït-Touati, mit Duncan Evennou

„Ich möchte Ihnen vermitteln, wie es sich anfühlt, wenn unsere Art, die Erde zu begreifen, revolutioniert wird. Was macht das mit dem Bauch, dem Darm, dem Portemonnaie, dem Geist, der Intelligenz, der Moral. Was macht es mit dem Geschmack und der Abscheu vor dem Leben – und was mit der Hoffnung zu überleben.“ (Auszug aus „Moving Earths“)

  • 1 h
  • In englischer Sprache

Vergangene Termine

Wo sollen wir landen?

Als Galileo Galilei im Jahr 1609 sein Teleskop in den Himmel richtete, entdeckte er Berge auf der Mondoberfläche. So wurde der Mond zu einer weiteren Erde und die Erde zu einem Stern unter vielen. Damit revolutionierte er die kosmische, aber auch die politische und soziale Ordnung seiner Zeit. Vier Jahrhunderte später werden Rolle und Position unseres Planeten einmal mehr auf den Kopf gestellt, und zwar durch neue Wissenschaften, die darlegen, wie menschliches Handeln unerwartete Reaktionen der Erde auslöst. Galileo lehrte uns, dass die Erde in Bewegung ist. Die Wissenschaftler*innen James Lovelock und Lynn Margulis entdeckten eine Erde, die auf andere Art und Weise „in Bewegung“ ist: Sie beschreiben einen Planeten, auf dem Raum und Zeit Produkte des Handelns von Lebewesen sind. Sie bringen uns dazu, ein neues Bild von der Welt und ein neues Verständnis des Kosmos zu entwickeln. Und wieder scheint die gesamte Organisation unserer Gesellschaft in Frage zu stehen.

Mussten wir im Jahr 1610 den Schock verkraften, dass „die Erde sich bewegt“, müssen wir 2020 die noch weitaus schockierende Erkenntnis akzeptieren, dass die Erde bebt und auf menschliches Handeln reagiert, und zwar in einem Maße, das sämtliche unserer Entwicklungsprojekte unterbricht.

Wir laden das Publikum ein, die Hypothese einer Parallele zwischen der Epoche der astronomischen Revolution und unserer eigenen zu teilen. Erleben wir gerade eine Transformation der Welt, die genauso tiefgehend und radikal ist wie die zu Galileos Zeiten? Eines ist sicher: Wir wissen nicht mehr genau auf was für einem Planeten wir leben oder wie wir ihn beschreiben sollen. Es handelt sich nicht um eine einzige, fixierte und stabile Erde, sondern um eine Vielzahl von Planeten, die vor uns liegen und die wir erforschen müssen, um zu wissen, auf welchem von ihnen wir landen sollen. „Moving Earths“ will ein genreübergreifender Brückenschlag zwischen Philosophie und Theater sein: Wir finden, dass er sehr gut in unsere heutige Zeit passt, in der eine neue Art des Nachdenkens über die Welt einhergeht mit neuen Darstellungsweisen von dieser Welt. Mit dieser Form eines Theaters des wissenschaftlichen Zeitalters beschäftigen wir uns gemeinsam seit über zehn Jahren.

Bruno Latour

Besetzung

Regie Frédérique Aït-Touati
Performer Duncan Evennou
Bühne Patrick Laffont DeLojo
Wissenschaftliche Beratung und Dokumente Sébastien Dutreuil, Jan Zalasievicz
Übersetzung Andrew Todd
Produktion Zone Critique Company
Mit der Unterstützung von Natural Addict Fund und Fondation Carasso