Konzerthausorchester Berlin

Konzerthausorchester Berlin

© Christian Nielinger

Film & Concert
John Cage 100

103 for orchestra and film One¹¹

“Of course the film will be about the effect of light in an empty space. But no space is actually empty and the light will show what is in it. And all this space and all this light will be controlled by random operations.”
John Cage

Shortly before his death, John Cage realised his vision of a film. It is his first and only film: One¹¹ (1992), a 90-minute black and white film without actors, objects or a plot. A film composition for light with a simple concept. It was realised under the direction of filmmaker and composer Henning Lohner in a Munich television studio with a great deal of technical input and care. The well-known cameraman Van Theodore Carlson executed the composition.
The film One¹¹ can simultaneously be performed with the orchestral work 103 (1991). Without referring directly to one another, each has 17 parts. Each part of the film, the light projection in the completely empty television studio and the motion of a camera mounted on a crane rest on approximately 1200 random operations devised by a computer. In the orchestral work 103 (for 103 interpreters without a conductor), variable time brackets are used in which each of the instruments plays a series of single notes.

John Cage 100

John Cage
103
for orchestra (1991)

One¹¹
Film (1992)

Simultaneous performance

103
Konzerthausorchester Berlin
Ilan Volkov, musical coach

One¹¹
Henning Lohner, production · direction
Van Carlson, camera

In cooperation with Konzerthaus Berlin and DAAD: Berlin Artists-in-Residence programme.
With support by Lohnerranger Film, Music & Art Productions, Ltd.

Konzerthausorchester Berlin

Konzerthausorchester Berlin

© Christian Nielinger

Film & Konzert
John Cage 100

103 für Orchester und One¹¹

„Der Film wird natürlich über die Wirkung von Licht in einem leeren Raum sein. Aber kein Raum ist tatsächlich leer und das Licht wird zeigen, was darin ist. Und all dieser Raum und dieses Licht werden mittels Zufallsoperationen gesteuert werden.“
John Cage

Kurz vor seinem Tod verwirklichte John Cage seine Vision von einem Film. Es ist sein erster und einziger: One¹¹ (1992), ein 90-minütiger Schwarzweiß-Film ohne Darsteller, Objekte oder Handlungen, eine Filmkomposition für Licht. Sie wurde unter der Leitung des Filmemachers und Komponisten Henning Lohner in einem Münchener Fernsehstudio umgesetzt. Der Kameramann Van Theodore Carlson wurde zum Ausführenden der Komposition.
Der Film One¹¹ kann simultan mit dem Orchesterstück 103 (1991) aufgeführt werden. Ohne direkt aufeinander Bezug zu nehmen, haben beide 17 Teile. Jeder der Teile des Films, die Lichtprojektionen in dem völlig leeren Fernsehstudio und die Bewegung der auf einem Kran montierten Kamera beruhen auf etwa 1200 von einem Computer ermittelten Zufallsoperationen. In dem Orchesterstück 103 (für 103 Interpreten ohne Dirigat) werden variable Zeitklammern verwendet, in denen jedes der Instrumente eine Reihe von Einzeltönen spielt.

John Cage 100

John Cage
103
für Orchester (1991)

One¹¹
Film (1992)

Simultane Aufführung

103
Konzerthausorchester Berlin
Ilan Volkov, Musikalische Einstudierung

One¹¹
Henning Lohner, Produktion · Regie
Van Carlson, Kamera

In Zusammenarbeit mit Konzerthaus Berlin und Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD.
Mit Unterstützung von Lohnerranger Film, Music & Art Productions, Ltd.