Fulldome
The New Infinity

TNIII0II0#II: Thomas Wilfred | Fatima Al Qadiri & Transforma | Robert Lippok & Lucas Gutierrez

Luminar #52 | Extraordinary Alien | Non-Face

Join us for one of Thomas Wilfred’s light-painting compositions, Fatima Al Qadiri and Transforma’s exploration of the “Extraordinary Alien” as well as Robert Lippok and Lucas Gutierrez’ investigation of impossible objects – items that may look realistic but cannot possibly exist in the real world.

Thomas Wilfred: Luminar #52

Thomas Wilfred: Luminar #52

© AJ Epstein

  • 15 min / 16 min / 15 min

Past Dates

Thomas Wilfred: Luminar #52 (1928)

With his lumia instruments that created compositions from electrical, mechanical and reflective elements, the American light artist Thomas Wilfred (1889-1968) created a new art form at the crossroads between technology and modern art. The light paintings he composed – meditative, northern lights-like colour symphonies –, and which he presented quietly without musical accompaniment, earned him a place in the Museum of Modern Art, New York as part of the exhibition “15 Americans” in 1952 together with Jackson Pollock and Mark Rothko.

In collaboration with the Epstein Collection and Stiftung Planetarium Berlin, four of his works that were originally presented as screen and ceiling projections have been re-filmed and adapted for the first time for the largest visual space of our age, allowing them to be experienced in a new way. His symphonies will be presented in silence.

Fatima Al Qadiri & Transforma: Extraordinary Alien

”Extraordinary Alien” is based on the US artist visa classification, “alien with extraordinary ability”. It plays with the double meaning of the word “alien” and the notion that all outer space aliens are inherently extraordinary, from the perspective of lowly earthlings. This explains the tendency in science fiction films towards glimpses leading up to a big reveal when the alien is fully unveiled in front of the viewer. This reveal is often followed by disappointment in the alien form, one that rarely meets our extraordinary expectations. How is it that our imagination is incapable of creating a compelling alien form beyond a scant selection perpetuated by Hollywood films?

In this work, the artists explore the push and pull of tension, repetition and expectation – what is being revealed? Using a collection of simple materials, a range of textures is generated to appear as planetary surfaces, galaxies and alien skins. The use of these materials is deliberate, aiming to highlight the sci-fi qualities of earthly objects. The soundtrack is based on a single phrase repeated with different sounds as a motif for the alien and their environment that are teased, but never fully revealed.

Robert Lippok & Lucas Gutierrez: Non-face

Non-manifold geometries describe “fake-objects” – items that may look realistic, but can in fact not exist in the physical world. They develop their sensual plausibility in the digital world. One famous example is the Penrose-triangle: Its three beams appear to be positioned at right angles to each other, and yet they are connected to form a triangle. In 3D-animation, such objects regularly surface through so-called mesh-mistakes. For their first joint Fulldome-piece, sound artist Robert Lippok and digital artist Lucas Gutierrez have identified these frequently occurring mistakes in their own artistic practice and develop data structures to explore these fantastic objects. Their work produces different dimensionalities and creates new topological relations. This might not determine the inside or the outside of these impossible objects, but it will render the sonic and visual boundaries of a three-dimensional space tangible. To this end, the composition uses simulated reflections in physical and virtual spaces. Various methods of traditional instrument building are used to transcribe the virtual geometries into musical patterns which, in turn, weave sequences of notes and real-time emulations of different sound sources into multi-layered textures.

Fatima Al Qadiri & Transforma: Extraordinary Alien
Music: Fatima Al Qadiri
Video: Transforma (Luke Bennett, Baris Hasselbach, Simon Krahl)
Mixing: James Kelly
Spatialization: Koenraad Ecker

Robert Lippok & Lucas Gutierrez: Non-face
Video: Lucas Gutierrez
Music: Robert Lippok
Cello: Elif Dimli, Anil Eraslan
Curatorial consulting: Natalie Keppler

Fulldome
The New Infinity

TNIII0II0#II: Thomas Wilfred | Fatima Al Qadiri & Transforma | Robert Lippok & Lucas Gutierrez

Luminar #52 | Extraordinary Alien | Non-Face

Erleben Sie eine von Thomas Wilfreds lichtmalerischen Kompositionen, Fatima Al Qadiris und Transformas Untersuchung des „Extraordinary Alien“ sowie Robert Lippoks und Lucas Gutierrez’ Erforschung von spekulativen Objekten – Gegenstände, die zwar realistisch aussehen, aber in der physischen Welt unmöglich existieren können.

Thomas Wilfred: Luminar #52

Thomas Wilfred: Luminar #52

© AJ Epstein

  • 15 min / 16 min / 15 min

Vergangene Termine

Thomas Wilfred: Luminar #52 (1928)

Der amerikanische Lichtkünstler Thomas Wilfred (1889-1968) schuf mit seinen Lumia-Apparaturen, die eine Komposition aus elektrischen, mechanischen und reflektierenden Elementen bilden, eine neue Kunstform an der Schnittstelle von Technologie und moderner Kunst. Seine lichtmalerischen Kompositionen – meditative, nordlichtartige Farbsymphonien –, die er ohne musikalische Begleitung still präsentierte, brachten ihm 1952 im Rahmen der Ausstellung „15 Americans“ einen Platz neben Jackson Pollock und Mark Rothko im Museum of Modern Art in New York ein.

In Zusammenarbeit mit der Epstein Collection und der Stiftung Planetarium Berlin wurden vier seiner Arbeiten, die ursprünglich als Screen- und Deckenprojektionen präsentiert wurden, neu abgefilmt und zum ersten Mal für den größten Bildraum unserer Zeit adaptiert – und damit neu erlebbar gemacht. Seine Symphonien werden in Stille gezeigt.

Fatima Al Qadiri & Transforma: Extraordinary Alien

Der Titel „Extraordinary Alien“ bezieht sich auf eine Bezeichnung in der Klassifizierung von USA-Künstlervisa: „Alien with extraordinary ability“. Er spielt mit der Doppelbedeutung von „Alien“ und mit der Vorstellung, dass alle Außerirdischen aus unserer unbedeutenden Erdlingsperspektive schon von vornherein außergewöhnlich scheinen. Die Strategie vieler Science-Fiction-Filme, den Betrachter*innen immer nur flüchtige Blicke auf ein außerirdisches Wesen zu gestatten, bis dieses in einer großen Enthüllungsszene ganz zu sehen ist, führt oftmals zur Enttäuschung über die Gestalt des Aliens. Woran liegt es, dass unsere Vorstellungskraft außerstande ist, eine fesselnde außerirdische Gestalt jenseits des dürftigen Angebots aus Hollywood zu erfinden?

Die Arbeit zeigt unterschiedliche, aus einfachen Materialien hergestellte Strukturen, die Planetenoberflächen, Galaxien und Alien-Haut darstellen. Diese Materialien werden gezielt eingesetzt, um die Sci-Fi-Eigenschaften irdischer Gegenstände zu unterstreichen. Der Soundtrack basiert auf einer einzigen Phrase, die mit unterschiedlichen Klängen als Motiv für das außerirdische Wesen und sein Umfeld dienen, die ihrerseits zwar neugierig machen, aber nie vollständig enthüllt werden – ein faszinierendes Spiel mit Spannung, Wiederholung und Erwartung.

Robert Lippok & Lucas Gutierrez: Non-face

Nicht-mannigfaltige Geometrien beschreiben „Fake-Objekte“ – Gegenstände, die zwar realistisch aussehen, aber in der physischen Welt unmöglich existieren können und die in der digitalen Realität ihre sinnliche Plausibilität entfalten. Ein berühmtes Beispiel hierfür ist etwa das Penrose-Dreieck, dessen drei Balken jeweils im rechten Winkel zueinander zu stehen scheinen und dennoch zu einem Dreieck verbunden sind. In der 3D-Animation treten solche Objekte regelmäßig durch sogenannte Mesh-Fehler in Erscheinung. Für ihre erste gemeinsame Fulldome-Arbeit identifizieren der Klangkünstler Robert Lippok und der Digitalkünstler Lucas Gutierrez diese häufig auftretenden Fehler in ihrer eigenen künstlerischen Praxis und entwickeln Datenstrukturen zur Erforschung dieser phantastischen Objekte. Ihre Arbeit erzeugt andersartige Dimensionalitäten und kreiert neue topologische Verbindungen. Ohne das Innere und Äußere dieser unmöglichen Objekte zu bestimmen, macht sie die akustischen und visuellen Grenzen des dreidimensionalen Raums erfahrbar. Dafür verwendet die Komposition simulierte Echos in physischen und virtuellen Räumen. Verschiedene Methoden des traditionellen Instrumentenbaus dienen zur Transkription der virtuellen Geometrien als musikalische Muster, die Notensequenzen und die Echtzeit-Emulationen verschiedener Klangquellen zu vielschichtigen Texturen verweben.

Fatima Al Qadiri & Transforma: Extraordinary Alien
Musik / Music: Fatima Al Qadiri
Video: Transforma (Luke Bennett, Baris Hasselbach, Simon Krahl)
Mixing: James Kelly
Raumklang / Spatialization: Koenraad Ecker

Robert Lippok & Lucas Gutierrez: Non-face
Video: Lucas Gutierrez
Musik: Robert Lippok
Cello: Elif Dimli, Anil Eraslan
Kuratorische Beratung: Natalie Keppler