Fulldome
The New Infinity

TNIII0II0#III: Joanie Lemercier | Jan Kounen | Thomas Wilfred

Nebulae | Ayahuasca – A Kosmik Journey | Opus 79

Lift off into the universe of the stars with Joanie Lemercier’s audiovisual piece “Nebulae”, immerse yourself in unknown psychedelic visions with Jan Kounen’s “Ayahuasca – A Kosmik Journey” – or lean back to enjoy Thomas Wilfred’s northern lights-like symphony of colours.

Thomas Wilfred: Opus 79

Thomas Wilfred: Opus 79

© The Carol and Eugene Epstein Collection

  • 14 min / 13 min / 10 min

Past Dates

Joanie Lemercier: Nebulae

The audio-visual fulldome piece “Nebulae” offers a journey into the cosmos and through time: take off from a familiar terrestrial landscape, aim at the stars and beyond. Explore galaxies and constellations and witness several cosmic events from the past.

Jan Kounen: Ayahuasca – A Kosmik Journey

“Ayahuasca – A Kosmik Journey” is the attempt to transfer experiences based on the physical and hallucinatory effects of ayahuasca, a natural remedy used by the indigenous peoples of the Amazon region, into the medium of 360°-film. Director Jan Kounen explores the questions of whether an immersive technology can simulate psychedelic experiences resembling those made under the influence of ayahuasca and whether this media experience changes our sense of reality. After all, immersive technologies like the fulldome format place the audience in the midst of fictitious narrative spaces, ensuring that they not merely look at a dream, but rather seem to be inside it for a few moments.

Thomas Wilfred: Opus 79 “Multidimensional” (1932)

With his lumia instruments that created compositions from electrical, mechanical and reflective elements, the American light artist Thomas Wilfred (1889-1968) created a new art form at the crossroads between technology and modern art. The light paintings he composed – meditative, northern lights-like colour symphonies –, and which he presented quietly without musical accompaniment, earned him a place in the Museum of Modern Art, New York as part of the exhibition “15 Americans” in 1952 together with Jackson Pollock and Mark Rothko.

In collaboration with the Epstein Collection and Stiftung Planetarium Berlin, four of his works that were originally presented as screen and ceiling projections have been re-filmed and adapted for the first time for the largest visual space of our age, allowing them to be experienced in a new way. His symphonies will be presented in silence.

Jan Kounen: Ayahuasca – A Kosmik Journey
World premiere at the 2019 Tribeca Film Festival
Created by Jan Kounen
Produced by AtlasV, A_Bahn and Small studios
Distributed by Diversion Cinema

Fulldome
The New Infinity

TNIII0II0#III: Joanie Lemercier | Jan Kounen | Thomas Wilfred

Nebulae | Ayahuasca – A Kosmik Journey | Opus 79

Heben Sie mit Joanie Lemerciers audiovisueller Arbeit „Nebulae“ ab ins Sternenuniversum, tauchen Sie mit Jan Kounens „Ayahuasca – A Kosmik Journey“ in unbekannte psychedelische Visionen ein – oder lehnen Sie sich zurück bei Thomas Wilfreds nordlichtartiger Farbsymphonie.

Thomas Wilfred: Opus 79

Thomas Wilfred: Opus 79

© The Carol and Eugene Epstein Collection

  • 14 min / 13 min / 10 min

Vergangene Termine

Joanie Lemercier: Nebulae

Die audiovisuelle Fulldome-Arbeit „Nebulae“ macht das Angebot einer Reise in den Kosmos und durch die Zeit: Heben Sie von einer vertrauten irdischen Landschaft ab, zielen Sie auf die Sterne und darüber hinaus. Erforschen Sie Galaxien und Sternbilder und werden Sie Zeug*innen kosmischer Ereignisse aus der Vergangenheit.

Jan Kounen: Ayahuasca – A Kosmik Journey

„Ayahuasca – A Kosmik Journey“ ist der Versuch, die Erfahrungen, die auf der körperlichen und halluzinatorischen Wirkung von Ayahuasca – einem Heilmittel der Indigenen des Amazonasgebietes – beruhen, in das Medium eines 360-Grad-Films zu übertragen. Der Regisseur Jan Kounen geht dabei den Fragen nach, ob eine immersive Technologie psychedelische Erfahrungen wie die von Ayahuasca simulieren kann und ob diese mediale Erfahrung unseren Realitätssinn verändert. Denn immersive Technologien wie das Fulldome-Format platzieren das Publikum in der Mitte von fiktiven Erzählräumen, das somit nicht nur auf einen Traum schaut, sondern für einige Momente tatsächlich in ihm zu sein scheint. Die von Ayahuasca ausgelösten Visionen erzeugen so auf filmische Weise Momente einer tatsächlichen Anwesenheit in der indigenen Zeremonie.

Thomas Wilfred: Opus 79 „Multidimensional“ (1932)

Der amerikanische Lichtkünstler Thomas Wilfred (1889-1968) schuf mit seinen Lumia-Apparaturen, die eine Komposition aus elektrischen, mechanischen und reflektierenden Elementen bilden, eine neue Kunstform an der Schnittstelle von Technologie und moderner Kunst. Seine lichtmalerischen Kompositionen – meditative, nordlichtartige Farbsymphonien –, die er ohne musikalische Begleitung still präsentierte, brachten ihm 1952 im Rahmen der Ausstellung „15 Americans“ einen Platz neben Jackson Pollock und Mark Rothko im Museum of Modern Art in New York ein.

In Zusammenarbeit mit der Epstein Collection und der Stiftung Planetarium Berlin wurden vier seiner Arbeiten, die ursprünglich als Screen- und Deckenprojektionen präsentiert wurden, neu abgefilmt und zum ersten Mal für den größten Bildraum unserer Zeit adaptiert – und damit neu erlebbar gemacht. Seine Symphonien werden in Stille gezeigt.

Jan Kounen: Ayahuasca – A Kosmik Journey
Weltpremiere beim Tribeca Film Festival 2019
Kreation: Jan Kounen
Produktion: AtlasV, A_Bahn und Small studios
Vertrieb: Diversion Cinema