Fulldome

TNIII0II0#V: Agnieszka Polska | Thomas Wilfred | Robert Lippok & Lucas Gutierrez

The Happiest Thought | Clavilux Jr #86 | Non-Face

Join us for Agnieszka Polska’s hypnotic séance that leads us back into the prehistoric biosphere, before the greatest incidence of species extinction in the history of the earth, a meditative light-composition by Thomas Wilfred as well as Robert Lippok and Lucas Gutierrez’ investigation of impossible objects – items that may look realistic but cannot possibly exist in the real world.

Thomas Wilfred: Clavilux Jr. #86

Thomas Wilfred: Clavilux Jr. #86

© The Carol and Eugene Epstein Collection

  • 21 min / 7 min / 15 min

Past Dates

Agnieszka Polska: The Happiest Thought

More than 250 million years ago, at the transition of the Permian to the Triassic eras, the largest known mass extinction in the Earth’s history occurred and up to 90 percent of the planet’s life was annihilated. This disturbing natural phenomenon and its impact are at the centre of visual artist Agnieszka Polska’s first fulldome piece. Her visual essay “The Happiest Thought” revives the Earth’s destroyed biosphere in the most poetic of ways. Agnieszka Polska’s point of departure is the “happiest thought” of the physicist Albert Einstein, what he later called the fundamental thought that inspired him to formulate his general theory of relativity in 1915, which understands space and time as dynamic entities. Sung by the US-American performance artist Geo Wyeth, the text becomes part of a hypnotically enchanting séance.

Thomas Wilfred: Clavilux Jr #86 (1930)

With his lumia instruments that created compositions from electrical, mechanical and reflective elements, the American light artist Thomas Wilfred (1889-1968) created a new art form at the crossroads between technology and modern art. The light paintings he composed – meditative, northern lights-like colour symphonies –, and which he presented quietly without musical accompaniment, earned him a place in the Museum of Modern Art, New York as part of the exhibition “15 Americans” in 1952 together with Jackson Pollock and Mark Rothko.

In collaboration with the Epstein Collection and Stiftung Planetarium Berlin, four of his works that were originally presented as screen and ceiling projections have been re-filmed and adapted for the first time for the largest visual space of our age, allowing them to be experienced in a new way. His symphonies will be presented in silence.

Robert Lippok & Lucas Gutierrez: Non-face

Non-manifold geometries describe “fake-objects” – items that may look realistic, but can in fact not exist in the physical world. They develop their sensual plausibility in the digital world. One famous example is the Penrose-triangle: Its three beams appear to be positioned at right angles to each other, and yet they are connected to form a triangle. In 3D-animation, such objects regularly surface through so-called mesh-mistakes. For their first joint Fulldome-piece, sound artist Robert Lippok and digital artist Lucas Gutierrez have identified these frequently occurring mistakes in their own artistic practice and develop data structures to explore these fantastic objects. Their work produces different dimensionalities and creates new topological relations. This might not determine the inside or the outside of these impossible objects, but it will render the sonic and visual boundaries of a three-dimensional space tangible. To this end, the composition uses simulated reflections in physical and virtual spaces. Various methods of traditional instrument building are used to transcribe the virtual geometries into musical patterns which, in turn, weave sequences of notes and real-time emulations of different sound sources into multi-layered textures.

Agnieszka Polska: The Happiest Thought
Animation: Agnieszka Polska, Nathan Gray
Voice Artist: Geo Wyeth
Sound Design: Agnieszka Polska, Igor Kłaczyński
Sound Recording: Ronald van der Spek
Sound Mixing: Igor Kłaczyński
Production assistant: Irma Blumenstock

Robert Lippok & Lucas Gutierrez: Non-face
Video: Lucas Gutierrez
Music: Robert Lippok
Cello: Elif Dimli, Anil Eraslan
Curatorial consulting: Natalie Keppler

Fulldome
The New Infinity

TNIII0II0#V: Agnieszka Polska | Thomas Wilfred | Robert Lippok & Lucas Gutierrez

The Happiest Thought | Clavilux Jr #86 | Non-Face

Erleben Sie Agnieszka Polskas hypnotische Séance, die uns zurück in die prähistorische Biosphäre vor dem größten Artensterben der Erdgeschichte führt, eine meditative Lichtkomposition von Thomas Wilfred sowie Robert Lippoks und Lucas Gutierrez’ Erforschung von spekulativen Objekten – Gegenstände, die zwar realistisch aussehen, aber in der physischen Welt unmöglich existieren können.

Thomas Wilfred: Clavilux Jr. #86

Thomas Wilfred: Clavilux Jr. #86

© The Carol and Eugene Epstein Collection

  • 21 min / 7 min / 15 min

Vergangene Termine

Agnieszka Polska: The Happiest Thought

Vor über 250 Millionen Jahren, am Übergang vom Perm- zum Trias-Zeitalter, ereignete sich das größte Artensterben der Erdgeschichte, in dessen Verlauf bis zu 90 Prozent der Erdvegetation ausgelöscht wurde. Dieses verstörende Naturereignis und seine Folgen stehen im Zentrum der ersten Fulldome-Arbeit der bildenden Künstlerin Agnieszka Polska. Ihr visueller Essay „The Happiest Thought“ erweckt die damals zerstörte Biosphäre der Erde auf poetische Weise noch einmal zum Leben. Ausgangspunkt für Agnieszka Polska ist der „glücklichste Gedanke“ des Physikers Albert Einstein. So benannte dieser in einem Essay einmal jenen Grundgedanken, der ihn 1915 zur Formulierung seiner Allgemeinen Relativitätstheorie inspirierte, der zufolge Raum und Zeit dynamische Größen sind. Gesungen durch den US-amerikanischen Performancekünstler Geo Wyeth wird der Text zum Teil einer hypnotisch betörenden Séance.

Thomas Wilfred: Clavilux Jr #86 (1930)

Der amerikanische Lichtkünstler Thomas Wilfred (1889-1968) schuf mit seinen Lumia-Apparaturen, die eine Komposition aus elektrischen, mechanischen und reflektierenden Elementen bilden, eine neue Kunstform an der Schnittstelle von Technologie und moderner Kunst. Seine lichtmalerischen Kompositionen – meditative, nordlichtartige Farbsymphonien –, die er ohne musikalische Begleitung still präsentierte, brachten ihm 1952 im Rahmen der Ausstellung „15 Americans“ einen Platz neben Jackson Pollock und Mark Rothko im Museum of Modern Art in New York ein.

In Zusammenarbeit mit der Epstein Collection und der Stiftung Planetarium Berlin wurden vier seiner Arbeiten, die ursprünglich als Screen- und Deckenprojektionen präsentiert wurden, neu abgefilmt und zum ersten Mal für den größten Bildraum unserer Zeit adaptiert – und damit neu erlebbar gemacht. Seine Symphonien werden in Stille gezeigt.

Robert Lippok & Lucas Gutierrez: Non-face

Nicht-mannigfaltige Geometrien beschreiben „Fake-Objekte“ – Gegenstände, die zwar realistisch aussehen, aber in der physischen Welt unmöglich existieren können und die in der digitalen Realität ihre sinnliche Plausibilität entfalten. Ein berühmtes Beispiel hierfür ist etwa das Penrose-Dreieck, dessen drei Balken jeweils im rechten Winkel zueinander zu stehen scheinen und dennoch zu einem Dreieck verbunden sind. In der 3D-Animation treten solche Objekte regelmäßig durch sogenannte Mesh-Fehler in Erscheinung. Für ihre erste gemeinsame Fulldome-Arbeit identifizieren der Klangkünstler Robert Lippok und der Digitalkünstler Lucas Gutierrez diese häufig auftretenden Fehler in ihrer eigenen künstlerischen Praxis und entwickeln Datenstrukturen zur Erforschung dieser phantastischen Objekte. Ihre Arbeit erzeugt andersartige Dimensionalitäten und kreiert neue topologische Verbindungen. Ohne das Innere und Äußere dieser unmöglichen Objekte zu bestimmen, macht sie die akustischen und visuellen Grenzen des dreidimensionalen Raums erfahrbar. Dafür verwendet die Komposition simulierte Echos in physischen und virtuellen Räumen. Verschiedene Methoden des traditionellen Instrumentenbaus dienen zur Transkription der virtuellen Geometrien als musikalische Muster, die Notensequenzen und die Echtzeit-Emulationen verschiedener Klangquellen zu vielschichtigen Texturen verweben.

Agnieszka Polska: The Happiest Thought
Animation: Agnieszka Polska, Nathan Gray
Sprecher: Geo Wyeth
Sound Design: Agnieszka Polska, Igor Kłaczyński
Aufnahme: Ronald van der Spek
Sound Mixing: Igor Kłaczyński
Produktionsassistenz: Irma Blumenstock

Robert Lippok & Lucas Gutierrez: Non-face
Video: Lucas Gutierrez
Musik: Robert Lippok
Cello: Elif Dimli, Anil Eraslan
Kuratorische Beratung: Natalie Keppler