Fulldome

TNIII0II0#IX: Jan Kounen | Robert Lippok & Lucas Gutierrez | David OReilly | Thomas Wilfred

Ayahuasca Ayahuasca – A Kosmik Journey | Non-Face | The End of Stories | Home Luminar #52

Join us for unknown psychedelic visions with “Ayahuasca – A Kosmik Journey”, impossible objects with “Non-Face”, corona reports from quarantine with David OReilly’s latest work as well as a light-painting meditation by Thomas Wilfred.

Robert Lippok & Lucas Gutierrez: Non-face

Robert Lippok & Lucas Gutierrez: Non-face. Fulldome video with sound

© Robert Lippok & Lucas Gutierrez

  • 13 min / 15 min / 15 – 20 min / 15 min

Past Dates

Jan Kounen: Ayahuasca – A Kosmik Journey

“Ayahuasca – A Kosmik Journey” is the attempt to transfer experiences based on the physical and hallucinatory effects of ayahuasca, a natural remedy used by the indigenous peoples of the Amazon region, into the medium of 360°-film. Director Jan Kounen explores the questions of whether an immersive technology can simulate psychedelic experiences resembling those made under the influence of ayahuasca and whether this media experience changes our sense of reality. After all, immersive technologies like the fulldome format place the audience in the midst of fictitious narrative spaces, ensuring that they not merely look at a dream, but rather seem to be inside it for a few moments.

Robert Lippok & Lucas Gutierrez: Non-face

Non-manifold geometries describe “fake-objects” – items that may look realistic, but can in fact not exist in the physical world. They develop their sensual plausibility in the digital world. One famous example is the Penrose-triangle: Its three beams appear to be positioned at right angles to each other, and yet they are connected to form a triangle. In 3D-animation, such objects regularly surface through so-called mesh-mistakes. For their first joint Fulldome-piece, sound artist Robert Lippok and digital artist Lucas Gutierrez have identified these frequently occurring mistakes in their own artistic practice and develop data structures to explore these fantastic objects. Their work produces different dimensionalities and creates new topological relations. This might not determine the inside or the outside of these impossible objects, but it will render the sonic and visual boundaries of a three-dimensional space tangible. To this end, the composition uses simulated reflections in physical and virtual spaces. Various methods of traditional instrument building are used to transcribe the virtual geometries into musical patterns which, in turn, weave sequences of notes and real-time emulations of different sound sources into multi-layered textures.

David OReilly: The End of Stories

“The End of Stories” is a collage of 37 perspectives of people from around the world coping with the turbulence of pandemic life. The anonymous callers express their personal thoughts and feelings, sharing an inability to imagine the future. Each perspective is represented visually with cascades of choreographed space-debris, animated primarily by the voice of each speaker. “The End of Stories” ties in with David OReilly’s “Corona Voicemails” trilogy and expands it into an immersive fulldome experience.

Thomas Wilfred: Home Luminar #52 (1928)

With his lumia instruments that created compositions from electrical, mechanical and reflective elements, the American light artist Thomas Wilfred (1889-1968) created a new art form at the crossroads between technology and modern art. The light paintings he composed – meditative, northern lights-like colour symphonies –, and which he presented quietly without musical accompaniment, earned him a place in the Museum of Modern Art, New York as part of the exhibition “15 Americans” in 1952 together with Jackson Pollock and Mark Rothko.

In collaboration with the Epstein Collection and Stiftung Planetarium Berlin, four of his works that were originally presented as screen and ceiling projections have been re-filmed and adapted for the first time for the largest visual space of our age, allowing them to be experienced in a new way. His symphonies will be presented in silence.

Jan Kounen: Ayahuasca – A Kosmik Journey
World premiere at the 2019 Tribeca Film Festival
Created by Jan Kounen
Produced by AtlasV, A_Bahn and Small studios
Distributed by Diversion Cinema

Robert Lippok & Lucas Gutierrez: Non-face
Video: Lucas Gutierrez
Music: Robert Lippok
Cello: Elif Dimli, Anil Eraslan
Curatorial consulting: Natalie Keppler

David OReilly: The End of Stories
Written / Directed / Edited / Sound: David OReilly
Music: Stéphane Pigeon
Producer: Yael Greenberg
A coproduction of the Berliner Festspiele / Immersion and Stiftung Planetarium Berlin

Fulldome
The New Infinity

TNIII0II0#IX: Jan Kounen | Robert Lippok & Lucas Gutierrez | David OReilly | Thomas Wilfred

Ayahuasca Ayahuasca – A Kosmik Journey | Non-Face | The End of Stories | Home Luminar #52

Erleben Sie unbekannte psychedelische Visionen mit „Ayahuasca – A Kosmik Journey“, spekulative Objekte mit „Non-Face“, Corona-Berichte aus der Quarantäne mit David OReillys neuer Arbeit sowie eine lichtmalerische Meditation von Thomas Wilfred.

Robert Lippok & Lucas Gutierrez: Non-face

Robert Lippok & Lucas Gutierrez: Non-face. Fulldome-Video mit Sound

© Robert Lippok & Lucas Gutierrez

  • 13 min / 15 min / 15 – 20 min / 15 min

Vergangene Termine

Jan Kounen: Ayahuasca – A Kosmik Journey

„Ayahuasca – A Kosmik Journey“ ist der Versuch, die Erfahrungen, die auf der körperlichen und halluzinatorischen Wirkung von Ayahuasca – einem Heilmittel der Indigenen des Amazonasgebietes – beruhen, in das Medium eines 360-Grad-Films zu übertragen. Der Regisseur Jan Kounen geht dabei den Fragen nach, ob eine immersive Technologie psychedelische Erfahrungen wie die von Ayahuasca simulieren kann und ob diese mediale Erfahrung unseren Realitätssinn verändert. Denn immersive Technologien wie das Fulldome-Format platzieren das Publikum in der Mitte von fiktiven Erzählräumen, das somit nicht nur auf einen Traum schaut, sondern für einige Momente tatsächlich in ihm zu sein scheint. Die von Ayahuasca ausgelösten Visionen erzeugen so auf filmische Weise Momente einer tatsächlichen Anwesenheit in der indigenen Zeremonie.

Robert Lippok & Lucas Gutierrez: Non-face

Nicht-mannigfaltige Geometrien beschreiben „Fake-Objekte“ – Gegenstände, die zwar realistisch aussehen, aber in der physischen Welt unmöglich existieren können und die in der digitalen Realität ihre sinnliche Plausibilität entfalten. Ein berühmtes Beispiel hierfür ist etwa das Penrose-Dreieck, dessen drei Balken jeweils im rechten Winkel zueinander zu stehen scheinen und dennoch zu einem Dreieck verbunden sind. In der 3D-Animation treten solche Objekte regelmäßig durch sogenannte Mesh-Fehler in Erscheinung. Für ihre erste gemeinsame Fulldome-Arbeit identifizieren der Klangkünstler Robert Lippok und der Digitalkünstler Lucas Gutierrez diese häufig auftretenden Fehler in ihrer eigenen künstlerischen Praxis und entwickeln Datenstrukturen zur Erforschung dieser phantastischen Objekte. Ihre Arbeit erzeugt andersartige Dimensionalitäten und kreiert neue topologische Verbindungen. Ohne das Innere und Äußere dieser unmöglichen Objekte zu bestimmen, macht sie die akustischen und visuellen Grenzen des dreidimensionalen Raums erfahrbar. Dafür verwendet die Komposition simulierte Echos in physischen und virtuellen Räumen. Verschiedene Methoden des traditionellen Instrumentenbaus dienen zur Transkription der virtuellen Geometrien als musikalische Muster, die Notensequenzen und die Echtzeit-Emulationen verschiedener Klangquellen zu vielschichtigen Texturen verweben.

David OReilly: The End of Stories

„The End of Stories“ ist eine Collage aus 37 Perspektiven von Menschen aus aller Welt, die versuchen, die Turbulenzen des Lebens mit der Pandemie zu meistern. Die anonymen Anrufer*innen bringen ihre privaten Gedanken und Gefühle zum Ausdruck und keine*r von ihnen ist in der Lage, sich die Zukunft vorzustellen. Jede Perspektive wird visuell durch Kaskaden aus choreografiertem Weltraumschrott dargestellt, die vor allem durch die Stimmen der jeweilig Sprechenden animiert werden. „The End of Stories“ schließt an David OReillys „Corona Voicemails“-Trilogie an und erweitert diese in eine immersive Fulldome-Erfahrung.

Thomas Wilfred: Home Luminar #52 (1928)

Der amerikanische Lichtkünstler Thomas Wilfred (1889-1968) schuf mit seinen Lumia-Apparaturen, die eine Komposition aus elektrischen, mechanischen und reflektierenden Elementen bilden, eine neue Kunstform an der Schnittstelle von Technologie und moderner Kunst. Seine lichtmalerischen Kompositionen – meditative, nordlichtartige Farbsymphonien –, die er ohne musikalische Begleitung still präsentierte, brachten ihm 1952 im Rahmen der Ausstellung „15 Americans“ einen Platz neben Jackson Pollock und Mark Rothko im Museum of Modern Art in New York ein.

In Zusammenarbeit mit der Epstein Collection und der Stiftung Planetarium Berlin wurden vier seiner Arbeiten, die ursprünglich als Screen- und Deckenprojektionen präsentiert wurden, neu abgefilmt und zum ersten Mal für den größten Bildraum unserer Zeit adaptiert – und damit neu erlebbar gemacht. Seine Symphonien werden in Stille gezeigt.

Jan Kounen: Ayahuasca – A Kosmik Journey
Weltpremiere beim Tribeca Film Festival 2019
Kreation: Jan Kounen
Produktion: AtlasV, A_Bahn und Small studios
Vertrieb: Diversion Cinema

Robert Lippok & Lucas Gutierrez: Non-face
Video: Lucas Gutierrez
Musik: Robert Lippok
Cello: Elif Dimli, Anil Eraslan
Kuratorische Beratung: Natalie Keppler

David OReilly: The End of Stories
Text / Regie / Bearbeitung & Schnitt / Sound: David OReilly
Musik: Stéphane Pigeon
Produktion: Yael Greenberg
Eine Koproduktion von Berliner Festspiele / Immersion und Stiftung Planetarium Berlin