Arditti Quartet

Arditti Quartet

© Philippe Gontier

Concert
John Cage & Consequences

Arditti Quartet

John Cage & Consequences

Since its foundation in 1974 the Arditti Quartet has specialised in 20th century and contemporary music. Many composers, among them John Cage and his companions, have entrusted the Arditti Quartet with their works. At MaerzMusik the ensemble presents works which, from different perspectives, represent »primordial cells« of a specific notion of minimalist sound processes – whether musical, physical, spatial or poetic.

John Cage was so impressed by the Arditti Quartet that he realised Music for Four together with the ensemble for the Cage Festival at Wesleyan University in 1988 and had it perform the premiere. The Music for Four score consists of four fully notated voices to be played entirely independently of one another. The musicians determine the temporal sequences with stop watches. Special elements of this work are the use of microtonality and the spatial positioning of the musicians, who sit far apart or turned away from one another in order to encourage the independence of the voices.
Navigations for Strings (1991) by experimental composer Alvin Lucier was also dedicated to the Arditti Quartet. The piece, inspired by atmospheric tones, consists of a small melodic cell that is gradually compressed to a single pitch that moves microtonally, imperceptibly as it were, through the acoustic space. The Five Small Pieces for String Quartet (1956) by La Monte Young are the first works that the musician composed in the twelve-tone technique modelled after Anton Webern. At the same time, they show the beginnings of a development towards minimalism and his so-called »Dream Chords«.
A further representative of minimal music is Terry Jennings and his String Quartet (1960), with only a handful of pitches and chords held for a long time between piano and pianissimo.
Visas (1985/1987), the three literature-inspired Episodes for String Quartet by Italian contrabass virtuoso and composer Stefano Scodanibbio, who died in January 2012, also bear witness to a minimalist manner of composing that concentrates predominantly on quietly progressing and multidimensional sound processes.

Terry Jennings
String Quartet (1960)
La Monte Young
On remembering a naiad
five small pieces for string quartet (1956)
Alvin Lucier
Navigations for Strings (1991)
Stefano Scodanibbio
Visas
three episodes for string quartet (1985/1987)
John Cage
Music for Four (1987, rev. 1988)

Arditti Quartet:
Irvine Arditti, violin
Ashot Sarkissjan, violin
Ralph Ehlers, viola
Lucas Fels, cello

In collaboration with DAAD: Artists-in-Residence programme

Arditti Quartet

Arditti Quartet

© Philippe Gontier

Konzert
John Cage und die Folgen

Arditti Quartet

John Cage und die Folgen

Mitschnitt Deutschlandradio Kultur
Sendung: 22. März 2012, 20:03 Uhr, Konzert

Das Arditti Quartet widmet sich seit seiner Gründung im Jahr 1974 vor allem der Musik des 20. Jahrhunderts und der Gegenwart. Viele Komponisten, darunter auch John Cage und seine Weggefährten, haben dem Arditti Quartet ihre Werke anvertraut. Bei MaerzMusik präsentiert das Quartett Kompositionen, die aus verschiedenen Perspektiven gewissermaßen »Urzellen« einer spezifischen Vorstellung von minimalistischen Klangprozessen darstellen – ob musikalisch, physikalisch, räumlich oder poetisch.

John Cage war so beeindruckt von dem Spiel des Arditti Quartet, dass er mit ihm 1988 u. a. die Umsetzung und Uraufführung der Music for Four für das Cage-Festival der Wesleyan University erarbeite. Die Partitur besteht aus vier unabhängig voneinander zu spielenden Stimmen, die vollständig notiert sind. Die Musiker bestimmen mit Stoppuhren die zeitlichen Abläufe. Besondere Elemente dieses Werks sind die Verwendung von Mikrotonalität und die räumliche Positionierung der Musiker, die weit entfernt oder voneinander abgewandt sitzen, um die Unabhängigkeit der Stimmen zu unterstützen.
Auch Navigations for Strings (1991) des experimentellen Komponisten Alvin Lucier ist ein dem Arditti Quartet gewidmetes Werk. Das von atmosphärischen Signalen inspirierte Stück besteht aus einer kleinen melodischen Zelle, die sich zu einer Linie verdichtet und sich mikrotonal, gleichsam unhörbar im Klangraum bewegt. Die Five Small Pieces for String Quartet (1956) von La Monte Young sind die ersten Stücke, die der Komponist in Anlehnung an Anton Webern mit 12-Ton-Reihen komponierte. Zugleich zeigen sie die beginnende Entwicklung hin zu Minimalismus und seinen sogenannten »Dream Chords«.
Minimalistisch, mit nur wenigen zwischen piano und pianissimo lang gehaltenen Tönen und Akkorden, ist auch das Streichquartett (1960) von Terry Jennings, ebenfalls ein eigenständiger Vertreter der Minimal Music.
Auch die Visas (1985/1987), die drei literarisch inspirierten Episoden für Streichquartett des im Januar 2012 verstorbenen italienischen Kontrabassvirtuosen und Komponisten Stefano Scodanibbio, sind Zeugnis einer auf ruhig fortschreitende und mehrdimensionale Klangprozesse konzentrierten minimalistischen Kompositionsweise.

Terry Jennings
String Quartet (1960)
La Monte Young
On remembering a naiad
Fünf kleine Stücke für Streichquartett (1956)
Alvin Lucier
Navigations for Strings (1991)
Stefano Scodanibbio
Visas
Drei Episoden für Streichquartett (1985/1987)
John Cage
Music for Four (1987, rev. 1988)

Arditti Quartet:
Irvine Arditti, Violine
Ashot Sarkissjan, Violine
Ralph Ehlers, Viola
Lucas Fels, Violoncello

In Zusammenarbeit mit Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD