Lecture Performance
In House: Artist in Residence

Botanical Comrades 植物同志

Plant Sex Workshop with Zheng Bo

„No, we won’t be talking about how plants have sex (you can read Darwin). Yes, we will be talking about how plants can have sex with us humans. Don’t tell me this is ridiculous. I’ll prove to you why it’s better to have sex with plants than to kill them and eat them!” — Zheng Bo

Zheng Bo, Plant Sex Workshop, 2019

Zheng Bo, Plant Sex Workshop, 2019. Performance part of Meetings on Art, 58. Biennale di Venezia, November 2019.

photo: Marco Franceschin. Courtesy Delfina Foundation and Arts Council England

  • 90 min
  • In English

As the number of participants is limited, please register between 9 and 16 September via .* First come, first served.

Update: The lecture performance is already fully booked.

„In this hands-on workshop (all puns intended), we will be reviewing: 1. Which other species on planet Earth are having sex with plants? 2. Why Japanese artists in the 19th century only thought about sex between animals and humans? 3. How you can practice what sages of our Massive Anthropo Extinction Event – Donna J. Haraway and Anna L. Tsing – preach, by a simple act of pleasure?” — Zheng Bo

During his residency at the Gropius Bau, Zheng Bo is in exchange with scientists to deepen his research into the politics of plants. On the Solar Terms of the East Asian lunisolar calendar he invites the public to join him for open studios that include talks, walks or workshops. Information on this workshop coming soon.

* The processing of your data is carried out according to the privacy policy of the KBB, which you hereby acknowledge. By participating in the workshop you agree to the possibility of your image being published.

Performativer Vortrag
In House: Artist in Residence

Botanical Comrades 植物同志

Plant Sex Workshop mit Zheng Bo

„Nein, wir werden nicht darüber sprechen, wie Pflanzen Sex haben (das könnt ihr bei Darwin nachlesen). Ja, wir werden darüber sprechen, wie Pflanzen mit uns Menschen Sex haben können. Erzählt mir nicht, das sei lächerlich. Ich werde euch zeigen warum es besser ist, mit Pflanzen Sex zu haben als sie zu töten und zu essen!“ — Zheng Bo

Zheng Bo, Plant Sex Workshop, 2019

Zheng Bo, Plant Sex Workshop, 2019. Performance im Rahmen von Meetings on Art, 58. Biennale di Venezia, November 2019.

Foto: Marco Franceschin. Courtesy Delfina Foundation und Arts Council England

  • 90 min
  • In englischer Sprache

Vergangene Termine

Da die Anzahl der Plätze limitiert ist, melden Sie sich bitte zwischen dem 9. und dem 16. September unter an.* First come, first served.

Update: Der Vortrag ist bereits ausgebucht.

„In diesem Hands-on-Workshop (und das ist durchaus wörtlich gemeint), werden wir über Folgendes nachdenken: 1. Welche anderen Arten auf dem Planeten Erde haben Sex mit Pflanzen? 2. Warum haben japanische Künstler*innen im 19. Jahrhundert nur über Sex zwischen Tieren und Menschen nachgedacht? 3. Wie können wir das, was die Weisen unseres Massive Anthropo Extinction Events – wie Donna J. Haraway und Anna L. Tsing – uns predigen, in einem einfachen Akt der Lust umsetzen?“ — Zheng Bo

Während seines Aufenthalts im Gropius Bau vertieft Zheng Bo seine Recherchen zu Pflanzen als politischen Akteurinnen im engen Austausch mit Wissenschaftler*innen. An den Halbmonaten des ostasiatischen Lunisolarkalenders lädt er die Öffentlichkeit zu Gesprächen, Spaziergängen oder Workshops ein.

* Die Verarbeitung Ihrer Daten erfolgt entsprechend der Datenschutzerklärung der KBB, die Sie hiermit zur Kenntnis nehmen. Mit der Teilnahme an dem Workshop erklären Sie sich mit der möglichen Veröffentlichung von Bildmaterial einverstanden.