Open Studio
In House: Artist in Residence

Botanical Comrades 植物同志

Filming Plants Politically with Zheng Bo

On 9 October, which marks the Solar Term Cold Dew (寒露), Zheng Bo invites participants with some experience in filmmaking or photography to think about how to film plants politically. Starting at the Gropius Bau, the group will walk to the Tiergarten and experiment with ways of filming plants that present them not only as biological beings but also as political actors.

Zheng Bo, Pteridophilia 4, 2019

Zheng Bo, Pteridophilia 4, 2019. Video (4K, colour, sound), 16 min. Supported by Kyoto City University of Arts Art Gallery, the 11th Taipei Biennial, Villa Vassilieff and the Pernod Ricard Fellowship, and TheCube Project Space.

  • 90 min
  • In English

Past Dates

Registration was possible until 5 October. The event is fully booked.

During his residency at the Gropius Bau, Zheng Bo is in exchange with scientists to deepen his research into the politics of plants. On the Solar Terms of the East Asian lunisolar calendar he invites the public to join him for open studios that include talks, walks or workshops.

* The processing of your data is carried out according to the privacy policy of the KBB, which you hereby acknowledge. By participating in the workshop you agree to the possibility of your image being published.

Open Studio
In House: Artist in Residence

Botanical Comrades 植物同志

Filming Plants Politically mit Zheng Bo

Am 9. Oktober, der im Lunisolarkalender die Zeit des Kalten Taus (寒露) einleitet, lädt Zheng Bo Teilnehmende mit ersten Erfahrungen in den Bereichen Film oder Fotografie ein, darüber nachzudenken, wie Pflanzen auf politische Weise gefilmt werden können. Vom Gropius Bau aus wird die Gruppe zum Tiergarten laufen und mit verschiedenen filmischen Mitteln experimentieren, die Pflanzen nicht nur als biologische Lebewesen, sondern auch als politische Akteurinnen darstellen.

Zheng Bo, Pteridophilia 4, 2019

Zheng Bo, Pteridophilia 4, 2019. Video (4K, Farbe, Ton), 16 Min. Unterstützt von der Kyoto City University of Arts Art Gallery, der 11. Taipei Biennial, Villa Vassilieff und Pernod Ricard Fellowship, und TheCube Project Space.

  • 90 min
  • In englischer Sprache

Vergangene Termine

Die Anmeldung war bis zum 5. Oktober möglich. Die Veranstaltung ist ausgebucht.

Während seines Aufenthalts im Gropius Bau vertieft Zheng Bo seine Recherchen zu Pflanzen als politischen Akteurinnen im engen Austausch mit Wissenschaftler*innen. An den Halbmonaten des ostasiatischen Lunisolarkalenders lädt er die Öffentlichkeit zu Gesprächen, Spaziergängen oder Workshops ein.

* Die Verarbeitung Ihrer Daten erfolgt entsprechend der Datenschutzerklärung der KBB, die Sie hiermit zur Kenntnis nehmen. Mit der Teilnahme an dem Workshop erklären Sie sich mit der möglichen Veröffentlichung von Bildmaterial einverstanden.