Wolfgang Rihm

Wolfgang Rihm

© Kai Bienert

Concert
Poles

SWR Sinfonieorchester Baden-Baden und Freiburg

Poles

Under the direction of Lothar Zagrosek, the SWR Baden-Baden and Freiburg Symphony Orchestra and outstanding contemporary music soloists contrast earlier and more recent works by Wolfgang Rihm with those of Morton Feldman and Christian Wolff. In addition to John Cage, they are counted among the most important representatives of the American avant-garde.

In Magma (1973), the large symphonic sound apparatus is savoured. With a desire towards the anarchic, Rihm devoted himself to a multifaceted, differentiated and auratic sound composition. The 3. Doppelgesang (2004), performed by Rihm student Jörg Widmann and French violist Antoine Tamestit, is inspired by the poet Francesco Petrarca’s sonnets.
Coptic Light (1986) is Morton Feldman’s final work for a large orchestra. This unusual late work surprises with its polytonal, polyrhythmic richness and with the density of its textures. As a relatively short work, Coptic Light works with the complete twelve-tone chromatic total from the very first beat on. Patterns occurring in rare Middle Eastern weavings provided the source of inspiration.
John, David (1998) by Christian Wolff began as a present for John Cage’s 80th birthday and became a work in memoriam. It contains songs (without words) and a four-part compositional treatment of the songs’ material in the form of solos, duets and other chamber music constellations within the orchestra.

Wolfgang Rihm
3. Doppelgesang
for clarinet, viola and orchestra (2004)
Morton Feldman
Coptic Light
for orchestra (1986)
Christian Wolff
John, David
for orchestra and percussion solo (1998)
Wolfgang Rihm
Magma
for large orchestra (1973)

In collaboration with DAAD: Berlin Artists-in-Residence programme

Wolfgang Rihm

Wolfgang Rihm

© Kai Bienert

Konzert
Pole

SWR Sinfonieorchester Baden-Baden und Freiburg

Pole

Mitschnitt Deutschlandradio Kultur, Sendung: 30. März 2012, 20:03 Uhr, Konzert

Das Konzert des SWR Sinfonieorchester Baden-Baden und Freiburg und herausragende Solisten zeitgenössischer Musik stellen unter der Leitung von Lothar Zagrosek Werke von Wolfgang Rihm aus früherer und jüngerer Zeit denen von Morton Feldman und Christian Wolff gegenüber. Sie zählen neben John Cage zu den wichtigsten Vertretern der amerikanischen Avantgarde.

In Magma (1973) wird der große sinfonische Klangapparat ausgekostet. Mit deutlicher Lust am Anarchischen gab sich Rihm hier einer facettenreichen, differenzierten und auratischen Klanggestaltung hin. Der 3. Doppelgesang (2004), aufgeführt mit dem Rihm-Schüler Jörg Widmann und dem französischen Bratscher Antoine Tamestit, ist inspiriert von Sonetten des Dichters Francesco Petrarca.
Coptic Light (1986) ist Morton Feldmans letztes Werk für großes Orchester. Dieses Spätwerk überrascht durch seine polytonale, polyrhythmische Fülle und durch die Dichte seiner Texturen. Als relativ kurzes Stück arbeitet Coptic Light vom ersten Takt an mit dem vollständigen zwölftönigen chromatischen Total. Muster seltener Webereien aus dem Mittleren Osten waren hier die Inspirationsquelle.
John, David (1998) von Christian Wolff begann als ein Geschenk zu John Cages achtzigstem Geburtstag und wurde ein Stück zu seinem Gedenken. Es besteht aus Liedern (ohne Worte) und einer 4-teiligen kompositorischen Verarbeitung des Materials der Lieder in Form von Soli, Duetten und anderen kammermusikalischen Konstellationen innerhalb des Orchesters.

Wolfgang Rihm
3. Doppelgesang
für Klarinette, Viola und Orchester (2004)
Morton Feldman
Coptic Light
für Orchester (1986)
Christian Wolff
John, David
für Orchester und Schlagzeug solo (1998)
Wolfgang Rihm
Magma
für großes Orchester (1973)

In Zusammenarbeit mit Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD