Concert / Livestream
Jazzfest Berlin – New York

Lakecia Benjamin // Lina Allemano’s Ohrenschmaus

With a multi-generational mix of the most diverse musical influences, Lakecia Benjamin explores the spiritual heart of the music of the Coltranes. Lina Allemano and her Berlin trio create a music of extremes with a flow that feels utterly organic, masterfully mirroring the ups-and-downs of life itself.

Lina Allemano / Craig Taborn Trio

Lakecia Benjamin // Lina Allemano

© Elizabeth Leitzell // Manuel Miethe

Past Dates

The 2020 festival edition takes place online.
Watch these concerts live in the festival stream or as a recording at ARTE Concert and Jazzfest Berlin on Demand.

Livestream from New York

Lakecia Benjamin: “Pursuance – The Coltranes”

In Lakecia Benjamin’s homage to Alice and John Coltrane, we encounter a stylistically diverse set of arrangements, with the leader reaching out to musicians that were part of the Coltranes’ orbit, including bassist Reggie Workman – a university professor of hers – who signed on as co-producer. Working with a multi-generational mix, including Gary Bartz, Ron Carter, Meshell Ndegeocello and Jazzmeia Horn, Benjamin deftly underlines the elasticity and spiritual heart in the music of the Coltranes. As yet largely little-known in Europe, the young leader on alto re-frames indelible themes like Alice’s “Going Home” or John’s “Syeeda’s Song Flute” with a varied contemporary lustre utilising R&B and gospel colours as well as lyrical chamber settings. This imbues her – and by extension the Coltrane’s – music with a simultaneously new and eternal hue. Her versatile band with singer Charanee Wade, drummer Darrell Green, bassist Lonnie Plaxico and pianist Zaccai Curtis shares her joy of playing and her sensitivity.

Lakecia Benjamin alto saxophone, leader
E.J. Strickland drums
Lonnie Plaxico bass
Zaccai Curtis piano

  

Livestream from Berlin

Lina Allemano’s Ohrenschmaus

Trumpeter Lina Allemano, who splits her time between Berlin and Toronto, assembled this knotty trio in 2017, which applies the extended techniques of free improvisation to her loose, decidedly jagged compositions. Drummer Michael Griener and electric bassist Dan Peter Sundland are equal provocateurs, both sketching out the irregular contours of the pieces alongside the leader’s fat-toned lines and taking flight during the extended improvisatory sections, although it is often difficult to determine when the notes are coming from a page and when they’re spontaneously shaped. Each piece morphs frequently, with the musicians pulling together and apart without ever abandoning a sleek architecture. Allemano toggles effortlessly between passages of brash lyricism and visceral abstraction. Sometimes her partners shadow her turbulent blowing, and sometimes they generate exquisite tension against it, breathlessly moving between loping grooves and an almost spastic pointillism, but in each scenario the trumpeter is fueled by their machinations, whether unleashing abraded flourishes that recall the playing of Wadada Leo Smith or compact, warmly tuneful vignettes. The trio generates a music of extremes with a flow that feels utterly organic, masterfully mirroring the ups and downs of life itself into an impressively concentrated efficiency that can agitate or soothe.

Lina Allemano trumpet
Dan Peter Sundland bass
Michael Griener drums

These concerts are part of Jazzfest Berlin – New York

Konzert / Livestream
Jazzfest Berlin – New York

Lakecia Benjamin // Lina Allemano’s Ohrenschmaus

In einem generationenübergreifenden Mix unterschiedlicher musikalischer Einflüsse geht Lakecia Benjamin dem spirituellen Kern der Coltraneschen Musik nach. Lina Allemano schafft mit ihrem Berliner Trio eine Musik der Extreme, die in ihrem geradezu organischen Flow die Höhen und Tiefen des Lebens nachzeichnet.

Lina Allemano / Craig Taborn Trio

Lakecia Benjamin // Lina Allemano

© Elizabeth Leitzell // Manuel Miethe

Die Konzerttandems des Jazzfest Berlin – New York sind für das Publikum im silent green jeweils in zwei Teilen zu erleben, einem Live-Konzert und einer mehrkanaligen audiovisuellen Live-Übertragung aus dem Roulette in New York.

Sehen Sie diese Konzerte live, im Festivalstream oder als Aufzeichnung nach dem Festival auf ARTE Concert und Jazzfest Berlin on Demand.

Livestream aus New York

Lakecia Benjamin: „Pursuance – The Coltranes“

In Lakecia Benjamins Hommage an Alice und John Coltrane begegnen wir einem stilistisch vielgestaltigen Programm, an dem auch Musiker*innen aus Coltranes Orbit mitwirkten, darunter Reggie Workman, einer ihrer Hochschulprofessoren, der hier als Produzent in Erscheinung tritt. Mit einem Mehrgenerationen-Mix, zu dem Gary Bartz, Ron Carter, Meshell Ndegocello und Jazzmeia Horn gehören, unterstreicht Benjamin geschickt das Facettenreichtum und den spirituellen Kern der Coltraneschen Musik. Unvergessliche Melodien wie Johns „Syeeda’s Song Flute“ oder Alices „Going Home“ erfahren bei der in Europa noch weitestgehend unbekannten jungen Stimme zeitgenössische Färbungen aus R&B, Gospel oder lyrischen Kammermusikarrangements, was ihre – und im Nachklang auch Coltranes – Musik gleichsam neu und zeitlos erscheinen lässt. Ihre vielseitige Band mit Sängerin Charanee Wade, Schlagzeuger Darrell Green, Bassist Lonnie Plaxico und Pianist Zaccai Curtis teilt ihre Spielfreude und ihr Feingefühl.

Lakecia Benjamin alto saxophone, leader
Charenee Wade vocals
Darrell Green drums
Lonnie Plaxico bass
Zaccai Curtis piano

  

Live auf der Bühne in Berlin

Lina Allemano’s Ohrenschmaus

Die Trompeterin Lina Allemano, die zwischen Berlin und Toronto pendelt, gründete 2017 dieses feinfühlige Trio, das ihre lockeren, bewusst zerklüfteten Kompositionen mit Techniken der freien Improvisation interpretiert. Schlagzeuger Michael Griener und E-Bassist Dan Peter Sundland sind beides geübte Provokateure und zeichnen die unregelmäßigen Konturen der Stücke entlang der kraftvollen Linien der Leaderin rhythmisch nach. In den ausgedehnten Improvisationsparts heben sie ab – und es ist oft schwer auszumachen, ob sie vom Blatt spielen oder spontan agieren. Jedes Stück verwandelt sich mehrmals, die Musiker*innen kommen zusammen und driften auseinander, ohne die schlanke Architektur der Kompositionen jemals zu verlassen. Allemano wechselt mühelos zwischen Passagen von ungestümer Lyrik und instinktiver Abstraktion. Im atemlosen Wechsel von stockenden Grooves und zuckendem Pointillismus überschatten ihre Partner ihr turbulentes Spiel mitunter oder erzeugen eine herrliche Gegenspannung. Immer jedoch heizen sie die Trompeterin in ihrem lustvollen Spiel zwischen schleifenden Schnörkeln, die an Wadada Leo Smith erinnern, und kompakten, warm colorierten Skizzen. Gemeinsam kreiert das Trio eine Musik der Extreme, die von organischem Flow geprägt ist und das Auf und Ab des Lebens mit beeindruckend konzentrierter Effizienz widerspiegelt – ein meisterhaftes Wechselspiel zwischen erregenden und beruhigenden Impulsen.

Lina Allemano trumpet
Dan Peter Sundland bass
Michael Griener drums

Diese Konzerte sind Teil von Jazzfest Berlin – New York