Concert / Livestream
Jazzfest Berlin – New York

Ingrid Laubrock & Kris Davis // Jim Black Trio

The duo Ingrid Laubrock & Kris Davis is devoted to sonic exploration through improvisation, using its written material as meticulously detailed maps into the unknown. The Jim Black Trio creates a pleasurable tension between tender melody and rhythmic fragmentation.

Ingrid Laubrock & Kris Davis / Jim Black Trio

Ingrid Laubrock & Kris Davis // Jim Black Trio

© Caroline Mardok // Cristina Marx

Past Dates

The 2020 festival edition takes place online.
Watch these concerts live in the festival stream or as a recording at ARTE Concert and Jazzfest Berlin on Demand.

Livestream from New York

Ingrid Laubrock & Kris Davis: “Blood Moon”

Saxophonist Ingrid Laubrock, a native of Germany who moved to New York in 2008, has forged a formidable working relationship with the versatile pianist Kris Davis, whose 2019 album “Diatom Ribbons” topped the prestigious 2019 NPR Jazz Critics Poll. Over more than a decade they’ve played together in numerous ensembles, including Laubrock’s Anti-House and the collective trio Paradoxical Frog, with drummer Tyshawn Sorey. They’ve developed a strong rapport, and their bond has never sounded more simpatico than on this year’s sublime duo recording “Blood Moon”, where it’s often hard to tell where compositions end and improvisations begin. Each musician explores extended techniques and bracing harmonic effects, whether it’s the microtonal smudges and smears on Laubrock title composition, which give the performance a beguiling wobble suggesting a warped record, or the Davis piece “Flying Embers,” where she deploys several e-bows on the strings of her instrument to produce a microscopically pulsating drone of overtones over which the pair patiently develop a muted conversation of raindrop keyboard patterns and breathy, striated arcs and lyric fragments.

Ingrid Laubrock saxophones
Kris Davis piano

 

Livestream from Berlin

Jim Black Trio

Over the years drummer Jim Black has led a divers collection of his own combos, but few have been more arresting than this long-running trio with Berlin-based Austrian pianist Elias Stemeseder and New York bassist Thomas Morgan. The group’s most recent album “Reckon” offered a thrilling shift in methodology, with the musicians improvising and, in a few cases, composing the material together in the rehearsal room. Black’s playing always pushes against the seams of written material – revelling in chaos while maintaining an unerring sense of propulsion – and that’s no exception here. On the most frenzied pieces, there is a lean clarity to each individual line, but together they become pulse-quickening, with each component generating new friction in its off-kilter push. Pianist Elias Stemeseder rotates between sinuous melody and mosaic complexity, employing serrated counterpoint and inventive prepared piano treatments to emerge as an analog to Black. The group can at times bask in patient, lyric beauty, engineering an exquisite tension between tender melody and frequently frenetically-fractured rhythmic mayhem. New Yorker Black arrived in Berlin two years ago and has already taken root musically in the city. At this years Jazzfest Berlin, Felix Henkelhausen, an outstanding and promising talent of the younger Berlin scene, will fill in for Thomas Morgan.

Jim Black drums
Elias Stemeseder keys
Felix Henkelhausen bass

These concerts are part of Jazzfest Berlin – New York

Konzert / Livestream
Jazzfest Berlin – New York

Ingrid Laubrock & Kris Davis // Jim Black Trio

Das Duo Ingrid Laubrock & Kris Davis hat sich der Erforschung von Klangwelten durch Improvisation verschrieben und verwendet dazu schriftliches Material als akribisch ausnotierte Karten ins Unbekannte. Das Jim Black Trio erzeugt musikalische Spannungen zwischen fragilen Melodien und fragmentarischen Rhythmen.

Ingrid Laubrock & Kris Davis / Jim Black Trio

Ingrid Laubrock & Kris Davis // Jim Black Trio

© Caroline Mardok // Cristina Marx

Vergangene Termine

Die Festivalausgabe 2020 findet digital statt.
Sehen Sie diese Konzerte live im Festivalstream oder als Aufzeichnung auf ARTE Concert und Jazzfest Berlin on Demand.

Livestream aus New York

Ingrid Laubrock & Kris Davis: „Blood Moon“

Die aus Deutschland stammende Saxofonistin Ingrid Laubrock, die 2008 nach New York übersiedelte, und die vielseitige Pianistin Kris Davis, deren Album „Diatom Ribbons“ 2019 die prestigeträchtige NPR Jazz Critics Poll 2019 anführte, haben gemeinsam eine beeindrucke Kollaboration geschmiedet. Seit mehr als einem Jahrzehnt spielen sie zusammen in zahlreichen Ensembles, darunter Laubrocks Anti-House und das Trio Paradoxical Frog mit dem Schlagzeuger Tyshawn Sorey. Ihre intensive Verbindung klang noch nie so sympathisch wie auf dem diesjährigen Album „Blood Moon“, bei dem es oft schwer zu sagen ist, wo Kompositionen enden und Improvisationen beginnen. Die Musikerinnen erforschen erweiterte Techniken und erfrischende harmonische Effekte, wie beispielsweise mikrotonale Elemente in der Titelkomposition von Laubrock, die der Aufführung ein betörendes Wabern verleihen, das an eine verzerrte Platte erinnert. Oder sie entwickeln einen Austausch zwischen leichten, präzisen Keyboardstrukturen, langen Bögen und lyrischen Fragmenten, wie im Davis-Stück „Flying Embers“, bei dem Kris Davis mehrere E-Bögen auf den Saiten ihres Instruments einsetzt, um einen mikroskopisch pulsierenden Obertondrum zu erzeugen.

Ingrid Laubrock saxophones
Kris Davis piano

 

Livestream aus Berlin

Jim Black Trio

Unterschiedlichste Formationen hat der Schlagzeuger Jim Black über die Jahre geleitet, doch keine ist fesselnder als sein Trio mit dem österreichischen Pianisten Elias Stemeseder und dem New Yorker Bassisten Thomas Morgan. „Reckon“, das letzte Album der Band, bot einen aufregenden Paradigmenwechsel – es entstand aus gemeinsamen Proberaum-Improvisationen und -Kompositionen. Blacks treibendes und dennoch sehr freies Spiel testet immer wieder die Grenzen des geschriebenen Materials aus. Die frenetischen Stücke zeigen eine schlanke Klarheit in jeder einzelnen Linie und versetzen dennoch den Puls ins Rasen, weil jedes Element mit seinem aus dem Lot geratenen Schub neue Reibung erzeugt. Pianist Elias Stemeseder wechselt zwischen geschmeidiger Melodik und mosaikartiger Komplexität. Mit seinen zackigen Kontrapunkten und seinem einfallsreich präparierten Klavier wirkt er als Gegenstück zu Jim Black. So kann das Trio genügsam in lyrischer Schönheit baden oder musikalische Spannungen zwischen fragilen Melodien und fragmentarischen, bisweilen frenetischen Rhythmen auskosten. Vor zwei Jahren ist der New Yorker Black nach Berlin gezogen und musikalisch bereits fest verwurzelt in der Stadt. Den Bass übernimmt beim Jazzfest Berlin mit Felix Henkelhausen statt Thomas Morgan ein vielversprechendes Talent der jüngeren Berliner Szene.

Jim Black drums
Elias Stemeseder keys
Felix Henkelhausen bass

Diese Konzerte sind Teil von Jazzfest Berlin – New York