zeitkratzer

zeitkratzer

© Joachim Gern

Concert
Sonic Arts Lounge

zeitkratzer & Elliott Sharp & Column One

Sonic Arts Lounge

For over 30 years now, multi-instrumentalist, composer and performer Elliott Sharp has been one of the central figures in New York’s avant-garde and experimental music scene. The breadth of his music projects and collaborations stretches from orchestral music, blues and jazz to noise, no wave rock and techno. In many of his compositions, the application of fractal geometry and chaos theory plays a role.

Commissioned by MaerzMusik, Elliott Sharp has created ONEIRIKA for the zeitkratzer ensemble, a soundscape inspired by the Cage tradition whose title is borrowed from a state of daydream. In creating the score, Elliott Sharp relied on a method that can be compared to the digitalisation of sounds: he uses image processing programmes in order to generate his musical manuscripts, with pictures resulting that conjure their own sounds. It is left to the musicians to transmit the light frequency into sound and motion.
Column One, the Berlin artists’ collective created by Jürgen Eckhoff, René Lamp and Robert Schalinksi in 1991, is one of the most extreme and edgiest post-industrial groups. It sees itself as »an ideological basis for an approach to structures, philosophical ideas and (Western) media«, is influenced by radical constructivism, »pop terrorists« such as Genesis P-Orridge, with whom it also collaborated, and adopts William S. Burroughs’ »cut-up« technology, among others.
With Entropium for zeitkratzer, Column One plays on John Cage’s application of coincidence and implements this in the form of controlled feedback. Entropy and static mechanics provide the model for a self-referential musical setting.

Column One
Entropium part 1–4
for zeitkratzer (2012) WP / CW
Elliott Sharp
Oneirika
for zeitkratzer (2012) WP / CW

Column One:
Jürgen Eckloff / Robert Schalinski / René Lamp, composition

zeitkratzer:
Reinhold Friedl, conductor / piano
Frank Gratkowski, clarinet
Matt Davis, trumpet
Hilary Jeffery, trombone
Marcus Weiser, sampler
Maurice de Martin, percussion
Burkhard Schlothauer, violin
Anton Lukoszevieze, cello
Ulrich Phillipp, contrabass
Martin Wurmnest, sound
Andreas Harder, lighting

Elliott Sharp, composition, tenor saxophone / e-guitar

In collaboration with Berghain

zeitkratzer

zeitkratzer

© Joachim Gern

Konzert
Sonic Arts Lounge

zeitkratzer & Elliott Sharp & Column One

Sonic Arts Lounge

Seit über 30 Jahren gehört der Multiinstrumentalist, Komponist und Performer Elliott Sharp zu den zentralen Figuren der Avantgarde und der experimentellen Musikszene New Yorks. Die Bandbreite seiner musikalischen Projekte und Kollaborationen reicht von Orchestermusik zu Blues, Jazz und Noise, von No Wave Rock zu Techno. In vielen seiner Kompositionen spielt die Anwendung der Fraktalen Geometrie und der Chaostheorie eine Rolle.

Im Auftrag von MaerzMusik formt Elliott Sharp für das Ensemble zeitkratzer ONEIRIKA, eine von der Cage-Tradition inspirierte Klanglandschaft, deren Titel dem Zustand des Wachtraumes entlehnt ist. Beim Erstellen der Partitur griff Elliott Sharp auf eine Methodik zurück, die vergleichbar ist mit dem Digitalisieren von Klängen: Er nutzt Bildverarbeitungsprogramme, um seine musikalischen Manuskripte zu generieren, wobei Bilder entstehen, die ihre eigenen Klänge heraufbeschwören. Den Musikern bleibt es überlassen, die Lichtfrequenz in Klang und Bewegung zu übertragen.
Column One, das seit 1991 bestehende Berliner Künstlerkollektiv mit Jürgen Eckloff, René Lamp und Robert Schalinksi, ist eine der extremsten und schrillsten Formationen des Postindustrial. Es versteht sich »als ideologische Basis der Auseinandersetzung mit Strukturen, Philosophien und (westlichen) Medien«, beruft sich auf Ideen des radikalen Konstruktivismus, auf »Pop-Terroristen« wie Genesis P-Orridge, mit dem es auch zusammenarbeitete, und macht sich u. a. die »Cut-up«-Technik von William S. Burroughs zu eigen.
Mit Entropium für zeitkratzer spielt Column One auf John Cages Verwendung des Zufalls an und setzt diesen in Form von gesteuertem Feedback um. Entropie und statistische Mechanik stehen Pate für ein selbst-referentielles musikalisches Setting.

Column One
Entropium part 1–4
für zeitkratzer (2012) UA / AW
Elliott Sharp
Oneirika
für zeitkratzer (2012) UA / AW

Column One:
Jürgen Eckloff / Robert Schalinski / René Lamp, Komposition

zeitkratzer:
Reinhold Friedl, Leitung / Klavier
Frank Gratkowski, Klarinette
Matt Davis, Trompete
Hilary Jeffery, Posaune
Marcus Weiser, Sampler
Maurice de Martin, Perkussion
Burkhard Schlothauer, Violine
Anton Lukoszevieze, Violoncello
Ulrich Phillipp, Kontrabass
Martin Wurmnest, Ton
Andreas Harder, Licht

Elliott Sharp, Komposition, Tenorsaxophon / E-Gitarre

In Zusammenarbeit mit Berghain