Film

No Ideas But In Things – The composer Alvin Lucier

Documentary film

Viola Rusche / Hauke Harder
No Ideas But In Things – The composer Alvin Lucier
Germany (2012) World Premiere

Artist discussion after the film at Oberes Foyer

Alvin Lucier

Alvin Lucier

  • In English

Past Dates

American composer Alvin Lucier, born in 1931, is a pioneer of experimental music. As founding member of the Sonic Arts Union (1966-76) composers’ collective, he was one of the early representatives of live electronic music. Based on this, he developed compositions and installations devoted to sound phenomena such as resonances, echoes and interferences. In order to access natural acoustic phenomena and their intrinsic expressivity, Lucier often uses non-artistic methods that he borrows from the natural sciences among other sources.

»Don’t ask me what I mean, ask me what I’ve made«. True to his motto, the film accompanies Alvin Lucier during concert trips to The Hague and Zug (Switzerland) and allows him to comment on and explain his work. The spectrum ranges from performances of early live-electronic works from the 1960s and 70s (Music for Solo Performer and Bird and Person Dyning) to the premiere of his most recent ensemble piece Panorama 2 in 2011.
In his hometown Middletown, Lucier provides insights into the beginnings of his pioneer work, the Sonic Arts Union era, his relationship to John Cage and David Tudor, as well as his teaching work at Wesleyan University.
One of Lucier’s most important works, I am sitting in a room (1970), forms the central structural element of the film.

Funded by Filmwerkstatt Kiel der Filmförderung Hamburg Schleswig-Holstein GmbH

Film

No Ideas But In Things – The composer Alvin Lucier

Dokumentarfilm

Viola Rusche / Hauke Harder
No Ideas But In Things – The composer Alvin Lucier
Deutschland (2012) Uraufführung

Anschließend Künstlergespräch im Oberen Foyer

Alvin Lucier

Alvin Lucier

  • In englischer Sprache

Vergangene Termine

Der amerikanische Komponist Alvin Lucier, geboren 1931, ist ein Pionier der experimentellen Musik. Als Gründungsmitglied des Komponistenkollektivs Sonic Arts Union (1966–76) war er einer der frühen Vertreter der live-elektronischen Musik. Davon ausgehend entwickelte er Kompositionen und Installationen, die sich Klangphänomenen wie Resonanzen, Echos und Interferenzen widmen. Um sich den natürlichen akustischen Phänomenen und der ihnen innewohnenden Expressivität nähern zu können, verwendet Lucier häufig nicht-künstlerische Methoden, die er u. a. den Naturwissenschaften entlehnt.

»Frage mich nicht, was ich meine, Frage mich, was ich mache«. Getreu diesem Motto begleitet der Film Alvin Lucier bei Konzertreisen nach Den Haag und Zug (Schweiz) und lässt ihn sein Werk erklären und kommentieren. Die Spanne reicht dabei von Aufführungen der frühen live-elektronischen Werke der sechziger und siebziger Jahre (Music for Solo Performer und Bird and Person Dyning) bis zur Uraufführung des jüngsten Ensemblestücks Panorama 2 im Jahr 2011.
In seiner Heimatstadt Middletown gibt Lucier einen Einblick in die Anfänge seiner Pionierarbeit, die Zeit der Sonic Arts Union, seine Beziehung zu John Cage und David Tudor sowie seine Unterrichtstätigkeit an der Wesleyan University.
Eines der bedeutendsten Werke Luciers, I am sitting in a room (1970), bildet das zentrale Strukturelement des Films.

Gefördert durch Filmwerkstatt Kiel der Filmförderung Hamburg Schleswig-Holstein GmbH