Reading Group

Queer of Colour Critique

“Connected within that Light”: Reading/Theory Group Series with Kathy-Ann Tan

Offering the opportunity to collaboratively read and discuss texts, a reading group accompanies the exhibition Masculinities: Liberation through Photography. In this second session, we will look at how ideas of the erotic, intimacy and desire are discussed in two texts by Audre Lorde and Sharon Holland.

Masculinities: Liberation through Photography, Installationview, 16. Okctober 2020 until 10. January 2021, Gropius Bau

Photo: Luca Girardini

Past Dates

Registration was possible until 23 November.

We will critique how Black and Indigenous bodies and bodies of colour are often not only racialised but sexualised, and discuss how these two texts open up empowering possibilities to re-think the nature of how deeply the force of the erotic can be felt, lived and experienced by womxn of colour in their struggles and resistance.

Texts
Audre Lorde, Uses of the Erotic: The Erotic as Power (from Sister Outsider, 1984)
Sharon Holland, Desire, or ‘A Bit of the Other’ (from The Erotic Life of Racism, 2012)

These sessions will kick off the “Connected within that Light”: Reading/Theory Group Series at the Gropius Bau that loosely accompanies and augments the institution’s exhibition programme in 2020 and 2021. It is facilitated by Berlin-based independent curator, writer and scholar Kathy-Ann Tan.

* The processing of your data is carried out according to the privacy policy of the KBB, which you hereby acknowledge. By participating in the workshop you agree to the possibility of your image being published.

Reading Group

Queer of Colour Critique

“Connected within that Light”: Reading/Theory Group Series mit Kathy-Ann Tan

Die Ausstellung Masculinities: Liberation through Photography wird von einem Lesekreis begleitet, der zur gemeinschaftlichen Lektüre und Diskussion von Texten einlädt. In der zweiten Sitzung werden wir uns damit befassen, wie Vorstellungen von Erotik, Intimität und Begehren in zwei Texten von Audre Lorde und Sharon Holland verhandelt werden.

Masculinities: Liberation through Photography, Installationsansicht, 16. Oktober 2020 bis 10. Januar 2021, Gropius Bau

Foto: Luca Girardini

Die Anmeldung war bis zum 23. November möglich.

Im Lesekreis werden wir besprechen, wie Schwarze und indigene Körper sowie Bodies of Colour oft nicht nur rassifiziert, sondern auch sexualisiert werden. Außerdem soll diskutiert werden, wie die beiden Texte ermächtigende Möglichkeiten eröffnen um neu zu denken, wie tief die Kraft des Erotischen von Womxn of Colour in ihren Kämpfen und ihrem Widerstand gefühlt, gelebt und erlebt werden kann.

Texte
Audre Lorde, Uses of the Erotic: The Erotic as Power (from Sister Outsider, 1984)
Sharon Holland, Desire, or “A Bit of the Other” (from The Erotic Life of Racism, 2012)

Die drei Sitzungen bilden den Auftakt zur Connected within that Light: Eine Reihe von Lese-/Theoriegruppen im Gropius Bau, die das Ausstellungsprogramm der Institution in den Jahren 2020 und 2021 lose begleitet und ergänzt. Sie wird von der in Berlin lebenden unabhängigen Kuratorin, Schriftstellerin und Wissenschaftlerin Kathy-Ann Tan konzipiert und realisiert.

* Die Verarbeitung Ihrer Daten erfolgt entsprechend der Datenschutzerklärung der KBB, die Sie hiermit zur Kenntnis nehmen. Mit der Teilnahme an dem Workshop erklären Sie sich mit der möglichen Veröffentlichung von Bildmaterial einverstanden.