Theatre

Temple du présent

Solo for an Octopus

Stefan Kaegi (Rimini Protokoll) in collaboration with Judith Zagury and Nathalie Küttel (ShanjuLab)

German Premiere
World Premiere: January 2021, Théâtre Vidy-Lausanne

How can we understand an animal whose intelligence is radically different from our own? How can we create a relationship with nature without appropriating it? And who is watching whom? In “Temple du présent”, an octopus becomes the performance’s protagonist.

Temple du présent. Solo for an Octopus

Temple du présent - Solo for an Octopus. Video Trailer

© Rimini Protokoll

  • ca. 50 min, without interval

Tickets
Advance ticket sales are expected to start in February 2021.

Eight arms, three hearts, a maximally flexible physique, a decentral nervous system, the ability to communicate via colour and texture – but above all, a great deal of curiosity and openness towards encounters with human beings. The octopus appears to be not just strange and interesting, but in fact interested in everything that occurs in and around its own habitat.

The octopus often serves as a projection surface of human fears or is found as a monster that dwells in myths and adventure stories. It is a popular appetizer in Mediterranean cuisine and frequently used in experiments. In recent years, it has increasingly been instrumentalised as a mascot and oracle for football fans or as a symbol for multi-tasking.

“Temple du présent” is an opportunity for spectators to experience quite a different encounter with an octopus. Placed in an aquarium on the theatre’s stage, the animal turns into the performance’s protagonist, and its behaviour is one of the main drivers of this performance’s dramaturgy and communication processes. The octopus’ willingness or refusal to interact with the human being standing next to the aquarium become determining factors. Enhanced by cameras and with a musical accompaniment of voices and compositions, the animal changes from the object of observation into its subject, right before the eyes of the audience. Its gaze casts a fundamental question over the human being, this animal that seems to have lost its instruction manual.

The octopus on stage comes from a fish market in southern France and was destined to be eaten. After the performances, it will return to its original habitat at a nature reserve in southern France.

Cast

Conceived and directed by Stefan Kaegi
In collaboration with an octopus as well as Judith Zagury and Nathalie Küttel (ShanjuLab)
Scientific Support Graziano Fiorito (Dept. of Biology and Marine Organisms, Stazione Zoologica Anton Dohrn, Naples)
DramaturgyKatja Hagedorn
Music Stéphane Vecchione (in collaboration with Brice Catherin)
Technics and Scenology Théâtre Vidy-Lausanne
Lighting Design Pierre Nicolas Moulin
Video Oliver Vulliamy
Production Anouk Luthier

Production Théâtre Vidy-Lausanne, ShanjuLab (Laboratoire de recherche théâtrale sur la présence animale), Gimel, République Éphémère, Genève, Théâtre Saint-Gervais, Geneva
Co-production with Berliner Festspiele, Rimini Apparat GbR, Centre Pompidou, Paris and Printemps des comédiens, Montpellier 2021

Theater

Temple du présent

Solo for an Octopus

Stefan Kaegi (Rimini Protokoll) in Zusammenarbeit mit Judith Zagury und Nathalie Küttel (ShanjuLab)

Deutschlandpremiere
Uraufführung: Januar 2021, Théâtre Vidy-Lausanne

Wie können wir ein Tier verstehen, dessen Intelligenz sich radikal von der unseren unterscheidet? Wie stellen wir eine Beziehung zur Natur her, ohne sie zu vereinnahmen? Und wer beobachtet hier wen? In „Temple du présent.“ wird ein Oktopus zum Protagonisten der Aufführung.

Temple du présent. Solo for an Octopus

Temple du présent - Solo for an Octopus. Videotrailer

© Rimini Protokoll

  • ca. 50 min, ohne Pause

Tickets
Der Vorverkauf beginnt voraussichtlich im Februar 2021.

Acht Arme, drei Herzen, maximale Flexibilität des Körperbaus, ein dezentrales Nervensystem, die Fähigkeit, über Farbe und Textur zu kommunizieren, aber vor allem eine große Neugierde und Offenheit gegenüber der Begegnung mit Menschen. Der Oktopus scheint nicht nur fremd und interessant, sondern auch interessiert an allem, was in und um seinen Lebensraum geschieht.

Häufig findet man den Oktopus als Projektionsfläche menschlicher Ängste oder als Ungeheuer in Mythen und Abenteuergeschichten. Besonders geschätzt wird er als Vorspeise der mediterranen Küche, aber auch als Versuchstier. Zunehmend wird er seit einigen Jahren als Maskottchen und Orakel von Fußballfans oder als Symbol für Multitasking verkitscht.

In „Temple du présent“ wird dem Zuschauer die Begegnung mit einem Oktopus auf eine ganz andere Art und Weise ermöglicht. In einem Aquarium auf der Theaterbühne wird er zum Protagonisten einer Aufführung, dessen Dramaturgie und Kommunikationsvorgänge in weiten Teilen von seinem Verhalten bestimmt werden. Ausschlaggebend dabei ist seine Bereitschaft oder Verweigerung mit dem Menschen neben dem Aquarium in Interaktion zu treten. Von Kameras vergrößert und musikalisch von Stimmen und Kompositionen begleitet wird das Tier vor den Augen des Publikums, vom Objekt zum Subjekt der Beobachtung. Dabei stellt sein Blick den Menschen, dieses Tier, das seine Bedienungsanleitung verloren hat, ganz grundsätzlich infrage.

Der Oktopus auf der Bühne stammt von einem Fischmarkt in Südfrankreich und war für den Verzehr bestimmt. Nach den Aufführungen kehrt er in seinen ursprünglichen Lebensraum in ein Naturreservat in Südfrankreich zurück.

Besetzung

Konzept und Regie Stefan Kaegi
In Zusammenarbeit mit einem Oktopus sowie Judith Zagury und Nathalie Küttel (ShanjuLab)
Wissenschaftliche Begleitung Graziano Fiorito (Dept. of Biology and Marine Organisms, Stazione Zoologica Anton Dohrn, Naples)
DramaturgieKatja Hagedorn
Musik Stéphane Vecchione (in Zusammenarbeit mit Brice Catherin)
Technik und Ausstattung Théâtre Vidy-Lausanne
Licht Pierre Nicolas Moulin
Video Oliver Vulliamy
Produktion Anouk Luthier

Eine Produktion von Théâtre Vidy-Lausanne, ShanjuLab (Laboratoire de recherche théâtrale sur la présence animale), Gimel, République Éphémère, Genève, Théâtre Saint-Gervais, Genève.
In Koproduktion mit Berliner Festspiele, Rimini Apparat GbR, Centre Pompidou, Paris und Printemps des comédiens, Montpellier 2021