Dance

Outwitting the Devil

Akram Khan Company

World Premiere 13.7.2019, COLOURS International Dance Festival, Stuttgart

Choreographer Akram Khan has conducted extensive research on old myths and interprets them from a contemporary perspective. In “Outwitting the Devil”, he once again explores traditional customs, creating an epic work on ritual and memory.

Outwitting the Devil

Outwitting the Devil. Video Trailer

© Akram Khan Company

  • 1 h 20 min, without interval

Tickets
Advance ticket sales are expected to start in February 2021.

The piece “Outwitting the Devil”, by choreographer Akram Khan, was inspired by a newly discovered fragment of the Babylonian epos of Gilgamesh, one of the earliest surviving pieces of world literature. It describes a violent chapter in the life of young Gilgamesh, read and recalled by his older, dying self. The story focuses on Gilgamesh’s domestication by the wild man Enkidu and their friendship, their journey to the forest of giant cedars, the home of wild creatures and spirits, and the slaughter of Humbaba, its keeper. Confronted with the truth and the suffering of mortality, Gilgamesh turns into a figure of history, and becomes another narrative fragment among the broken remains of human culture and memory.

In a landscape of fragmented clay tablets and fallen idols, six dancers set out to follow Gilgamesh’s traces in the form of gods, human beings and animals. They exchange their remaining possessions and their stories in order to reunify the fragments of long lost knowledge.

Cast

Artistic Direction / Choreography Akram Khan
Dramaturgy Ruth Little
Lighting Design Aideen Malone
Visual Design Tom Scutt
Original Music Score and Sound Design Vincenzo Lamagna
Costume Design Kimie Nakano
Text Jordan Tannahill
Rehearsal Director and Coach Mavin Khoo
Material devised and performed by Ching-Ying Chien, Jasper Narvaez, Dominique Petit, Mythili Prakash, Sam Asa Pratt, James Vu Anh Pham
Executive Producer Farooq Chaudhry
Technical Management Tina Fagan
Production Management Rich Fagan
Stage Management Lars Davidson
Lighting Engineering Stéphane Déjours
Sound Engineering Phil Wood
Project / Tour Management Mashitah Omar
LED Light Tube manufactured and supplied by Light Contrast Ltd

Co-produced by Théâtre de Namur, CENTRAL – Centre Culturel de La Louvière, Festival d’Avignon, Théâtre de la Ville, Paris, Sadler’s Wells, London, La Comédie de Clermont-Ferrand, COLOURS International Dance Festival 2019, Stuttgart
Supported by Arts Council England

Produced during residency at CENTRAL – Centre Culturel de La Louvière, Théâtre de Namur and Festival d’Avignon. Akram Khan is an Associate Artist of Sadler’s Wells and Mountview in London and Curve Leicester.

Special thanks to Alistair Spalding, Vincent Thirion and Mélanie Dumoulin, Patrick Colpé, Meinrad Huber and Éric Gauthier, Olivier Py and Agnès Troly, and the teams at Sadler’s Wells, CENTRAL – Centre Culturel de La Louvière, Théâtre de Namur, COLOURS International Dance Festival Stuttgart and Festival d’Avignon, Tamas Detrich and the team at Stuttgart Ballet, Mr. & Mrs. Khan, Yuko Khan, Aharya Dresses for Mythili Prakash’s costume and all the collaborators and technicians who have worked on the project.

The Berlin performance is made possible by Inga Maren Otto.

Logo Inga Maren Otto

Tanz

Outwitting the Devil

Akram Khan Company

Uraufführung: 13.7.2019, COLOURS International Dance Festival, Stuttgart

Der Choreograf Akram Khan beschäftigt sich schon seit langem mit alten Mythen, die er aus heutiger Sicht interpretiert. In „Outwitting the Devil“ erforscht er erneut traditionelle Bräuche und lässt ein Epos über Ritual und Erinnerung entstehen.

Outwitting the Devil

Outwitting the Devil. Videotrailer

© Akram Khan Company

  • 1 h 20 min, ohne Pause

Tickets
Der Vorverkauf beginnt voraussichtlich im Februar 2021.

„Outwitting the Devil“, das neue Stück des Choreografen Akram Khan, wurde inspiriert durch ein neu entdecktes Fragment des babylonischen Gilgamesch-Epos, einem der ältesten überlieferten Werke der Weltliteratur. Inhalt dieses Fragments ist eine von Gewalt geprägte Episode im Leben des jungen Gilgamesch, das von seinem älteren, sterbenden Ich gelesen und erinnert wird. Im Zentrum der Erzählung steht die Geschichte von Gilgameschs Domestizierung durch den wilden Mann Enkidu und seiner Freundschaft mit ihm, ihrer gemeinsamen Reise in den riesigen Zedernwald, der Heimat wilder Wesen und Geister, und das Abschlachten dessen Hüters Humbaba. Konfrontiert mit der Wahrheit und dem Leid der Sterblichkeit verwandelt sich Gilgamesch in eine Figur der Geschichte, um so zu einem weiteren narrativen Fragment unter den zerbrochenen Überresten der menschlichen Kultur und Erinnerung zu werden.

In einer Landschaft aus zerstückelten Tontafeln und gefallenen Götzen bewegen sich die sechs Tänzer*innen als Götter, Menschen und Tiere auf Gilgameschs Spuren. Sie tauschen ihren verbliebenen Besitz und ihre Geschichten aus, um die Bruchstücke des lange verlorenen Wissens wieder zu vereinen.

Besetzung

Künstlerischer Leitung / Choreografie Akram Khan
Dramaturgie Ruth Little
Licht Aideen Malone
Bildgestaltung Tom Scutt
Komposition Vincenzo Lamagna
Kostüme Kimie Nakano
Text Jordan Tannahill
Probenleitung und Coaching Mavin Khoo
Entwicklung und Performance Ching-Ying Chien, Jasper Narvaez, Dominique Petit, Mythili Prakash, Sam Asa Pratt, James Vu Anh Pham
Produktion Farooq Chaudhry
Technische Leitung Tina Fagan
Produktionsleitung Rich Fagan
Bühnenmeister Lars Davidson
Lichttechnik Stéphane Déjours
Tontechnik Phil Wood
Projekt- und Tourmanagement Mashitah Omar
Die LED-Leuchtstoffröhren wurden hergestellt und geliefert von Light Contrast Ltd

Koproduziert von Théâtre de Namur, CENTRAL – Centre Culturel de La Louvière, Festival d’Avignon, Théâtre de la Ville, Paris, Sadler’s Wells, London, La Comédie de Clermont-Ferrand, COLOURS International Dance Festival 2019, Stuttgart
Gefördert von Arts Council England

Produziert während der Residency am CENTRAL – Centre Culturel de La Louvière, Théâtre de Namur und Festival d’Avignon.
Akram Khan ist Associate Artist von Sadler’s Wells und Mountview in London und Curve Leicester.

Dank an Alistair Spalding, Vincent Thirion und Mélanie Dumoulin, Patrick Colpé, Meinrad Huber und Éric Gauthier, Olivier Py und Agnès Troly sowie an die Teams von Sadler’s Wells, London, CENTRAL – Centre Culture de La Louvière, Théâtre de Namur, COLOURS International Dance Festival Stuttgart und Festival d’Avignon, an Tamas Detrich und das Team des Stuttgarter Balletts, an Mr. & Mrs. Khan, Yuko Khan, Aharya Dresses für Mythili Prakashs Kostüm und an alle Beteiligten und Techniker*innen, die an diesem Projekt mitgewirkt haben.

Das Berliner Gastspiel wird ermöglicht durch Inga Maren Otto.

Logo Inga Maren Otto