Live art, music, installations and archive

Wild Times, Planetary Motions

Berliner Festspiele 70

Berliner Festspiele will turn 70 in 2021. In honour of this occasion, they will host a five-day programme that unites the various festival disciplines at the Gropius Bau and lets them resonate with each other.

“Sunnosphere”, Alexander Hawkins & Siska

“Sunnosphere”, Alexander Hawkins & Siska

© Camille Blake

International visual artists, musicians and performers will present works situated between improvisation and score, creating a programme that can be experienced in a day version and a nocturnal one. It unites jazz and contemporary music, theatre works about plant intelligence, suites by J.S.Bach in the dark, humanoid robots in dialogue, a performative landscape scenography, historical films, conversations and archive material on the Festspiele’s history.

These works deal with moments of metamorphosis, of intimacy and vulnerability. How can our dealings with an uncertain present be turned into an act of creativity? Wild Times, Planetary Motions wants to oppose our fissured status quo with a spark of ferocity and rebellion, creating a circuitry of renewal.

Featuring Monira Al Qadiri & Raed Yassin, Nikhil Chopra with Yuko Kaseki, Doris Dziersk, Alexander Hawkins & Siska, Manuela Infante, Augustin Maurs, Jimmy Robert, SERAFINE1369, The Monochrome Project, Olivia Wenzel and many others.

Curated by Natasha Ginwala, Jeroen Versteele together with the artistic directors of Berliner Festspiele and Thilo Fischer (Archive)

Live Art, Musik, Installationen und Archiv

Wild Times, Planetary Motions

Berliner Festspiele 70

2021 werden die Berliner Festspiele 70 und organisieren aus diesem Anlass ein fünftägiges Programm, das die unterschiedlichen Disziplinen der Festivals im Gropius Bau zusammenbringt und miteinander resonieren lässt.

„Sunnosphere“, Alexander Hawkins & Siska

„Sunnosphere“, Alexander Hawkins & Siska

© Camille Blake

Internationale bildende Künstler*innen, Musiker*innen und Performer*innen präsentieren Arbeiten zwischen Improvisation und Partitur und schaffen so ein Programm, das als Tages- oder Nachtversion zu erleben ist. Es vereint Jazz und zeitgenössische Musik, Theater über Pflanzenintelligenz, Suiten von J. S. Bach im Dunkeln, humanoide Roboter im Dialog, eine performative Landschafts-Szenografie, historische Filme, Gespräche und Archivmaterial zur Festspielgeschichte.

Die Werke thematisieren Momente der Metamorphose, der Intimität und Verletzlichkeit. Wie kann der Umgang mit einer unsicheren Gegenwart zu einem Akt der Kreativität werden? Wild Times, Planetary Motions will unserem rissigen Ist-Zustand einen Funken Wildheit und Rebellion gegenüberstellen, einen Schaltkreis der Erneuerung schaffen.

Mit Monira Al Qadiri & Raed Yassin, Nikhil Chopra mit Yuko Kaseki, Doris Dziersk, Alexander Hawkins & Siska, Manuela Infante, Augustin Maurs, Jimmy Robert, SERAFINE1369, The Monochrome Project, Olivia Wenzel u. a.

Kuratiert von Natasha Ginwala, Jeroen Versteele mit den Festivalleiter*innen der Berliner Festspiele und Thilo Fischer (Archiv)