Listening Party

Masculinities: Berlin Perspectives

Masc*4 No Category with Loren Britton

To the mix tape

In this listening party as part of the exhibition Masculinities: Liberation through Photography Loren Britton questions categorical and archetypal representations of masculinities.

Peter Hujar, David Britzenhofe Applying Makeup (II), 1982

Peter Hujar, David Brintzenhofe Applying Makeup (II), 1982. Vintage gelatin silver print, 36.8 x 37.2 cm

Courtesy: Peter Hujar Archive and Pace/MacGill Gallery, New York, Copyright: 1987 The Peter Hujar Archive LLC

  • 60 min
  • In English

Past Dates

Mix tape
Listen to the mix tape here

Transcript
Download a transcript of the mix tape here .

This mix tape titled Masc* for No Category crosses through and resonates alongside the exhibition Masculinities: Liberation through Photography. Troubling categorical and archetypical representations of masculinities and resonating with thinkers such as Paul B. Preciado, Audre Lorde and Andrea Long Chu, Britton follows re-representations of patriarchal masculinity in and outside of the exhibition. In doing so, they strive towards an appreciation of the desire for non-normativities that are already there.

The exhibition Masculinities: Liberation through Photography offers a panorama of filmic and photographic works that present masculinity as a performative concept of identity in a complex field of social expectations. Patriarchal structures, queer identities, discourses about race and class, sexual identity and female perceptions of men are brought into focus in different ways.

In order to provide space for a critical reflection on the exhibition, three Berlin artists and cultural practitioners are invited to share their personal perspectives on the presented themes and positions with the audience.

Loren Britton is an interdisciplinary artist and thinker based in Berlin. Playing with critical pedagogy, re-positionings, co-creation and undoing norms they practise with matters of anti-racism, trans*feminist-techno-science and accessibilities. Britton is currently an artistic researcher on the interdisciplinary project Re: Coding Algorithmic Culture at the University of Kassel.

Listening Party

Männlichkeiten: Berliner Perspektiven

Masc*4 No Category mit Loren Britton

Zum Mixtape

Mit dieser Listening Party zur Ausstellung Masculinities: Liberation through Photography stellt Loren Britton, interdisziplinäre*r Künstler*in und Denker*in, kategorische und archetypische Darstellungen von Männlichkeit in Frage.

Peter Hujar, David Britzenhofe Applying Makeup (II), 1982

Peter Hujar, David Brintzenhofe Applying Makeup (II), 1982. Vintage-Silbergelatineabzug, 36,8 x 37,2 cm

Courtesy: Peter Hujar Archive und Pace/MacGill Gallery, New York, Copyright: 1987 The Peter Hujar Archive LLC

  • 60 min
  • In englischer Sprache

Vergangene Termine

Mixtape
Das Mixtape kann hier angehört werden.

Transkript
Ein Transkript des Mixtapes kann hier runtergeladen werden.

Das Mixtape mit dem Titel Masc* for No Category begleitet die Ausstellung Masculinities: Liberation through Photography. Britton hinterfragt kategorische und archetypische Darstellungen von Männlichkeiten und bezieht sich dabei auf Denker*innen wie Paul B. Preciado, Audre Lorde und Andrea Long Chu. Neue Formen der Repräsentation von patriarchaler Männlichkeit innerhalb und außerhalb der Ausstellung werden von Britton nachgezeichnet und auf diese Weise für die Anerkennung des bereits existenten Verlangens nach Nichtnormativität argumentiert.

Die Ausstellung Männlichkeiten: Befreiung durch Fotografie zeigt filmische und fotografische Arbeiten, die Männlichkeit als performatives Identitätskonzept in einem komplexen Feld gesellschaftlicher Erwartungen darstellen. Patriarchale Strukturen, queere Identitäten, Diskurse um race und Klassenzugehörigkeit, sexuelle Identität und die weibliche Wahrnehmung von Männlichkeit werden hier auf unterschiedliche Weisen ins Blickfeld gerückt.

Um einer kritischen Reflexion der Ausstellung Raum zu geben, sind drei Berliner Künstler*innen und Autor*innen eingeladen, ihre persönlichen Perspektiven auf die präsentierten Themen und Positionen mit dem Publikum zu teilen.

Loren Britton lebt und arbeitet in Berlin als interdisziplinäre*r Künstler*in und Denker*in. Seine Praxis thematisiert Anti-Rassismus, trans*feministische Technikwissenschaft und Barrierefreiheit(en) und spielt dabei mit kritischer Pädagogik, Re-Positionierungen, kollaborativer Kunst und dem (Ab)Schaffen von Normen. Loren Britton ist als künstlerische*r Forscher*in am interdisziplinären Projekt Re: Coding Algorithmic Culture an der Universität Kassel tätig.