Installation

Sun & Sea

Rugilė Barzdžiukaitė, Vaiva Grainytė, Lina Lapelytė

“Sun and Sea” is a major installation and a performance of human life on the beach of time. The acclaimed Venice Biennale success, created by the Lithuanian artists Rugilė Barzdžiukaitė, Vaiva Grainytė and Lina Lapelytė, can be experienced in June 2021 in the Kühlhaus Berlin as part of the Immersion programme series.

Sun & Sea

Sun & Sea

© Andrej Vasilenko

  • In English

“What a relief that the Great Barrier Reef has a restaurant and hotel!”
The audience is the blazing sun, the eye of the world, the non-human view of earthly events. In the middle of the big city, inside a building, it views a beach, a large tableau of tired limbs on a colourful mosaic of towels and laughing children. These people are from different social backgrounds, a cross-section of the population and physical shapes. Those watched read, swipe at their smartphones, stretch out in the sand, put on sun cream, eat ice cream, play cards and boules. Individual voices can be heard: the stories of the sunbathers, as well as conversations, dreams and thoughts. Their individual songs condense into songs of hope and crisis, laments about the transient physicality of the bathers and the exhausted earth. From the tableau of an ordinary day by the sea, a choir of people rises, whose symphony speaks to man-made climate change.

“THIS YEAR THE SEA IS AS GREEN AS A FOREST: EUTROPHICATION!”
After being awarded the Golden Lion for “Sun & Sea” at the Venice Biennale Rugilė Barzdžiukaitė, Vaiva Grainytė and Lina Lapelytė will present their musical installation as part of the Immersion programme in the Kühlhaus Berlin. They explore the largest system that connects us all to a huge variety of human and non-human participants and forms a large ecosystem – namely, the climate. By transforming the interior into an artificial beach and using the perspective of the audience as if from an extraterrestrial sun, “Sun & Sea” underlines the fact that the climate knows no boundaries and our species is part of a whole to which we are happily connected and to which we are fully indebted.

“Not a single climatologist predicted a scenario like this.”
Humans, too, are involved in the continuous transformation processes of matter. They are not the centre of the world, but part of its modus operandi: “It is not that we have organisms over here and the environment over there but rather an overlapping of mutual constellations”, as Bruno Latour puts it. At this point, the term “immersion” helps us to understand the dissolution of the anthropocentric subject-object dualism and the earth striking back, its transformation into an actor. It is no longer the object viewed by the human subject or the stage on which Homo sapiens performs, but an actor itself who has “quite a few tricks up its sleeve” and “creeps into all our actions as a third party”. Shortly after “Sun & Sea” won the Golden Lion in Venice, the protagonist earth announced itself in the form of a massive flood. The opening in May had already been marked by hail and storms in Venice while the sunbathing performers sang on the artificial beach: “The beginning of May brought frost and snow / And winter gives us buds and mushrooms.”

Concept and Dramaturgy Rugilė Barzdžiukaitė, Vaiva Grainytė, Lina Lapelytė
Director and Set Designer Rugilė Barzdžiukaitė
Lyrics Vaiva Grainytė
Composer and Music Director Lina Lapelytė
Curator Lucia Pietroiusti
Tour Manager Aušra Simanavičiūtė
Tour Coordinator and Stage Manager Erika Urbelevič
Technical DirectorLique Van Gerven
Sound Engineer Romuald Galiauskas
Production Company Neon Realism

Mit

Marco Cisco, Claudia Graziadei, Elisabeth Holmer, Vincentas Korba, Artūras Miknaitis, Yates Norton, Vytautas Pastarnokas, Eglė Paškevičienė, Lucas Lopes Pereira, Jeronimas Petraitis, Juozas Petraitis, Pranas Petraitis, Salomėja Petronytė, Kalliopi Petrou, Ieva Skorubskaitė, Svetlana Statkevičienė, Jonas Statkevičius, Annapaola Trevenzuoli, Elisabetta Trevenzuoli, Nabila Dandara Vieira Santos

Live Soundtrack Salomėja Petronytė

Founding Producer: Neon Realism


Co-Producers: Nida Art Colony of Vilnius Academy of Arts; Akademie Schloss Solitude, Stuttgart; Goethe-Institut; Münchner Kammerspiele; National Gallery of Art, Vilnius; Staatsschauspiel Dresden; The Momentary, Arkansas

Sponsor JCDecaux

Commissioner (“Sun & Sea (Marina)”, Venice, 2019): Rasa Antanavičiūtė
Founding Patrons (“Sun & Sea (Marina)”, Venice, 2019): Lithuanian Council for Culture; Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Lithuania; Laurenz Foundation, Basel; Vilnius City Municipality

Opernperformance

Sun & Sea

Rugilė Barzdžiukaitė, Vaiva Grainytė, Lina Lapelytė

„Sun and Sea“ ist eine große Installation und Inszenierung des menschlichen Lebens am Strand der Zeit. Der umjubelte Biennale-Erfolg der litauischen Künstlerinnen Rugilė Barzdžiukaitė, Vaiva Grainytė und Lina Lapelytė ist im Juni 2021 im Kühlhaus Berlin im Rahmen der Programmreihe Immersion zu erleben.

Sun & Sea

Sun & Sea

© Andrej Vasilenko

  • In englischer Sprache

„What a relief that the Great Barrier Reef has a restaurant and hotel!”
Das Publikum ist die gleißende Sonne, das Auge der Welt, der nicht-menschliche Blick auf das Irdische. Inmitten der Großstadt und eines Gebäudes sieht es einen Strand, ein großes Tableau müder Glieder auf einem bunten Mosaik aus Handtüchern, lachende Kinder – Menschen aus verschiedenen gesellschaftlichen Kontexten, ein Querschnitt der Bevölkerung und der Körperlichkeit. Die Betrachteten lesen, wischen über ihr Smartphone, räkeln sich im Sand, cremen sich zum Schutz vor der Sonne ein, essen Eis, spielen Karten und Boccia. Einzelne Stimmen werden vernehmbar: die Geschichten der Sonnenbadenden, Gespräche, Träume und Gedanken. Ihre individuellen Lieder verdichten sich zu Gesängen der Hoffnung und der Krise, Klagen über die vergängliche Physis der Badenden und über die ausgelaugte Erde. Aus dem Tableau eines gewöhnlichen Badetages am Meer erhebt sich ein Menschenchor, dessen Symphonie den menschengemachten Klimawandel adressiert.

„THIS YEAR THE SEA IS AS GREEN AS A FOREST: EUTROPHICATION!”
Nachdem Rugilė Barzdžiukaitė, Vaiva Grainytė und Lina Lapelytė bei der Biennale di Venezia für „Sun & Sea“ mit dem Goldenen Löwen ausgezeichnet wurden, präsentieren die drei litauischen Künstlerinnen ihre Opern-Performance nun im Rahmen der Programmreihe Immersion im Kühlhaus Berlin und widmen sich dem größten System, in dem wir alle mit unterschiedlichsten menschlichen und nicht-menschlichen Akteur*innen verbunden sind und ein großes Ökosystem bilden – dem Klima. Durch die Verwandlung des Innenraumes in einen künstlichen Strand und durch die außerweltliche Sonnenperspektive des Publikums unterstreicht „Sun & Sea“: Das Klima kennt keine Grenzen, und unsere Spezies ist Teil eines Ganzen, dem wir in Freude verbunden und in allem verpflichtet sind.

„Not a single climatologist predicted a scenario like this.”
Denn auch der Mensch ist eingebunden in die kontinuierlichen Transformationsprozesse von Materie. Er ist nicht das Zentrum der Welt, sondern ein Teil ihres Modus Operandi: „[E]s gibt nicht auf der einen Seite Organismen und auf der anderen eine Umwelt, sondern es besteht eine Überlagerung wechselseitiger Konstellationen“, wie Bruno Latour es formuliert. Der Begriff „Immersion“ hilft uns an dieser Stelle, die Auflösung des anthropozentrischen Subjekt-Objekt-Dualismus und das Sich-Zurückmelden der Erde, ihre Akteurisierung zu verstehen. Sie ist nicht mehr das Objekt, das vom menschlichen Subjekt betrachtet wird, oder die Bühne, auf der sich der Homo sapiens verausgabt, sondern sie hat als Akteurin selbst „eine Menge Tricks auf Lager“ und schleicht „sich als Dritte in alle unsere Handlungen“ ein. Kurze Zeit nachdem „Sun & Sea“ in Venedig den Goldenen Löwen gewann, meldete sich die Akteur-Erde in Form eines gewaltigen Hochwassers. Und bereits zur Eröffnung im Mai hagelte und stürmte es in der Lagunenstadt, während die sonnenbadenden Performer*innen am künstlichen Strand sangen: „The beginning of May brought frost and snow / And winter gives us buds and mushrooms.“

Konzept und Entwicklung Rugilė Barzdžiukaitė, Vaiva Grainytė, Lina Lapelytė
Regie, Bühne und Kostüme Rugilė Barzdžiukaitė
Libretto und Dramaturgie Vaiva Grainytė
Komposition und Musikalische Leitung Lina Lapelytė
Kuratorin Lucia Pietroiusti
Produktionsleitung Aušra Simanavičiūtė
Tourmanagement und Inspizienz Erika Urbelevič
Technische Leitung Lique Van Gerven
Design Goda Budvytytė
Public Relations Jogintė Bučinskaitė, Lina Vaitiekūnaitė
Tontechnik Romuald Galiauskas

Eine Produktion von: Neon Realism

In Koproduktion mit: Nida Art Colony of Vilnius Academy of Arts; Akademie Schloss Solitude, Stuttgart; Goethe-Institut; Münchner Kammerspiele; National Gallery of Art, Vilnius; Staatsschauspiel Dresden; The Momentary, Arkansas

Gefördert von: JCDecaux

Im Auftrag von: Rasa Antanavičiūtė („Sun & Sea (Marina)“, Venedig, 2019)
Mit Unterstüzung von: Lithuanian Council for Culture; Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Lithuania; Laurenz Foundation, Basel; Vilnius City Municipality („Sun & Sea (Marina)“, Venedig, 2019)