Concert Film / On Demand
Environment

Environment – Opening MaerzMusik 2021

Two cinematic approaches capture a stage composition for voices, indigenous instruments, trumpet, inside piano, percussion, kinetic sound sculptures, video and light – a time-object by PHØNIX16, Orquesta Experimental de Instrumentos Nativos (OEIN) and noiserkroiser.

Wiphala, rainbow flag

Wiphala. Rainbow flag, symbol of indigenous peoples in Bolivia, Peru and elsewhere

© Sinéad Cullen (www.sineadcullen.com) http://letscreate.sineadcullen.com/index.php/2017/12/20/atlantida/

Past Dates

The 2021 festival edition takes place online.
Watch this event in the festival stream or from 19 March to 30 April 2021 on MaerzMusik on Demand.

The film version that you can see in the MaerzMusik Festivalstream and on MaerzMusik on Demand was recorded with handheld camera in 2D. This 3D film version can be experienced on Facebook.

Strobe effects are used during the performance. At certain lightning frequencies, epileptic seizures may be triggered.

84 days is the length of time the 25 musicians of the B Orquesta Experimental de Instrumentos Nativos (OEIN) spent in enforced quarantine in Music Academy Rheinsberg near Berlin together with PHØNIX16 during the spring of 2020. Having arrived shortly before the beginning of the festival in order to prepare the opening project for MaerzMusik 2020, they became victims of the rapidly spreading COVID-19 pandemic. The festival had to be cancelled, borders were immediately closed and travel suspended. What began as a remarkable musical encounter between the two ensembles became an intense experience of living and working together under extreme conditions – 84 days that have also had a deep impact on the artistic process, the form and themes of their project “Environment”.

One extraordinary year later, MaerzMusik 2021 will present "Environment" in its new, adapted form that has been shaped by the continued progress of the pandemic. The musicians of OEIN cannot be present in person; public health measures make a live performance impossible.

One week before the opening of the festival, a multi-layered, temporary, local and social time-object is being created in Haus der Berliner Festspiele, captured by two cinematic approaches. From the inner life of three asylums (in Cusco, Rheinsberg and Berlin) an environment is articulated that reflects our current experience, the time of turmoil and pandemic: environment in its political, social, ecological, economic and artistic dimensions.

Programme

Beatriz Ferreyra
Rios del Sueño
[a] live version for voices, instruments and resonators (1998 – 2000 / 2020)
World premiere

Marisol Jiménez
Cantos del Arenal
for voices, trumpet, inner piano, percussion and kinetic sound sculptures (2020)
World premiere

Carlos Gutiérrez Quiroga
en lo mas efcuro della, quando no haze luna, ni fe parece nada
for indigenous instruments (2020)
World premiere
The work by Carlos Gutiérrez will be performed in complete darkness.

Bernard Parmegiani
De Natura Sonorum
[a] live version for voices, instruments and resonators (1975/2020)
World premiere

Cast

PHØNIX16, Orquesta Experimental de Instrumentos Nativos and noiserkroiser

Adam Weisman percussion
Nikolaus Neuser trumpet
Timo Kreuser inner piano
Marisol Jiménez kinetic sound sculptures
CarrieAnne Winter, Veronika Böhle, Oskar Koziołek, Will Kwiatkowski vocals and objects

Tatiana López, Gabriela Saravia, Andrea Alvarez, Johann Ortega, Romina Quisbert, María Riqueza, Álvaro Cabrera, Einar Fuentes, Willy Chura, Ethan Olmos, Pavlo Olmos, Samuel Arce, María Victoria Medina, Adriaana Escobar, Víctor Poma, Isabel Sanjinés, Mariel Terán, Tracy Prado, Camed Martela, Gabriela Reyes, Elba Mamani, Marco Flores, Ariel Laura, Miguel Córdoba native instruments and objects

Carlos Gutiérrez musical direction OEIN

[a] live versions
Orquesta Experimental de Instrumentos Nativos, PHØNIX16, noiserkroiser
Carlos Gutiérrez Quiroga, Timo Kreuser, Alexis Baskind

Timo Kreuser realisation, concept and direction
Philipp Hartmann camera
Kassian Troyer recording
Timo Kreuser, Kassian Troyer mix sound
Alexis Baskind concept sound and sound direction (stage)
Carlo Grippa sound design
Anne Taegert monitoring
Alice Hamann light
Komposter Kollektiv (Luka Umek, Akaša Bojič) video/projections
PHØNIX16 production
Sonia Lescène production manager
Katja Heldt production assistant

Philipp Hartmann, Miguel Hilari, Omar Alarcón Poquechoque videos

With the support of Goethe Institut, Musikfonds e. V. / BKM, Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung, Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD, Senate Department for Culture and Europe Berlin and Bundes- und Landesmusikakademie Rheinsberg.
In collaboration with Hellerau – European Centre for the Arts Dresden

Thanks
Beatriz Ferreyra, Lourdes Herrera, Carolina Mora, Berno Odo Polzer, Julian Fuchs, Victor Tessilo, Felix Görg, Thomas Falk and the team of the Musikakademie Rheinsberg, Giovani Yapita, Sebastian Filter, Emmanuel Parmegiani, Julia Gerlach and all the supporters in the Cusco and Rheinsberg situation

MaerzMusik and the Berliner Festspiele team

Special thanks to Ernesto, Bakunin and Sputnica

Konzertfilm / On Demand
Environment

Environment – Opening MaerzMusik 2021

Zwei filmische Annäherungen an eine Bühnenkomposition für Stimmen, indigene Instrumente, Trompete, Innenklavier, Perkussion, kinetische Klangskulpturen, Video und Licht – ein Zeit-Objekt von PHØNIX16, Orquesta Experimental de Instrumentos Nativos (OEIN) und noiserkroiser

Wiphala, Regenbogenfahne

Wiphala. Regenbogenfahne, Symbol indigener Bevölkerung Boliviens, Perus u.a

© Sinéad Cullen (www.sineadcullen.com) http://letscreate.sineadcullen.com/index.php/2017/12/20/atlantida/

Vergangene Termine

Die Festivalausgabe 2021 findet digital statt.
Sehen Sie diese Veranstaltung live im Festivalstream oder vom 19. März bis 30. April 2021 auf MaerzMusik on Demand.

Die Filmfassung, die Sie im MaerzMusik Festivalstream und auf MaerzMusik on Demand sehen können, wurde mit Handkamera in 2D aufgezeichnet. Die 3D-Filmfassung kann auf Facebook erlebt werden.

Als Teil der Aufführung werden Stroboskopeffekte verwendet. Bei bestimmten Blitzfrequenzen können unter Umständen epileptische Anfälle ausgelöst werden.

84 Tage verbrachten die 25 Musiker*innen des Bolivianischen Experimentalorchesters für indigene Instrumente (OEIN) gemeinsam mit PHØNIX16 im Frühjahr 2020 in Zwangsquarantäne in der Musikakademie Rheinsberg in der Nähe von Berlin. Kurz vor Beginn des Festivals angereist, um das Eröffnungsprojekt von MaerzMusik 2020 vorzubereiten, wurden sie Opfer der sich schnell ausbreitenden COVID-19-Pandemie. Das Festival musste abgesagt werden, Grenzen wurden unvermittelt geschlossen, Reiseverbindungen unterbrochen. Was als außergewöhnliche musikalische Begegnung zwischen den beiden Ensembles begann, wurde zu einer intensiven Erfahrung des gemeinsamen Zusammenlebens und Arbeitens unter extremen Bedingungen – 84 Tage, die ihre tiefen Spuren auch im künstlerischen Prozess, in Form und Inhalt des Projekts „Environment“, hinterlassen haben.

Ein außergewöhnliches Jahr später präsentiert MaerzMusik 2021 „Environment“ in seiner neuen, veränderten Form, die vom kontinuierlichen Fortschreiten der Pandemie geprägt ist. Die Musiker*innen des OEIN können nicht persönlich anwesend sein; Hygienebestimmungen machen eine Live-Aufführung vor Publikum unmöglich.

Eine Woche vor Festivaleröffnung entsteht im Raum des Festspielhauses ein temporäres, lokales und soziales Zeit-Objekt aus vielschichtigen Materialien, das von zwei filmischen Versuchen einer Annäherung festgehalten wird. Aus dem Innenleben dreier Asyle (in Cusco, Rheinsberg und Berlin) formuliert sich ein Environment über die Zeit des Aufruhrs und der Pandemie und den uns umgebenden aktuellen Erfahrungsraum: Environment in seinen politischen, sozialen, ökologischen, ökonomischen und künstlerischen Dimensionen.

Programm

Beatriz Ferreyra
Rios del Sueño
[a] Live-Version für Stimmen, Instrumente und Resonatoren (1998 – 2000 / 2020)
Uraufführung

Marisol Jiménez
Cantos del Arenal
für Stimmen, Trompete, Innenklavier, Percussion und kinetische Klangskulpturen (2020)
Uraufführung

Carlos Gutiérrez Quiroga
en lo mas efcuro della, quando no haze luna, ni fe parece nada
für indigene Instrumente (2020)
Uraufführung
Das Werk von Carlos Gutiérrez wird in vollständiger Dunkelheit aufgeführt.

Bernard Parmegiani
De Natura Sonorum
[a] Live-Version für Stimmen, Instrumente und Resonatoren (1975/2020)
Uraufführung

Besetzung

PHØNIX16, Orquesta Experimental de Instrumentos Nativos und noiserkroiser

Adam Weisman Perkussion
Nikolaus Neuser Trompete
Timo Kreuser Innenklavier
Marisol Jiménez kinetische Klangskulpturen
CarrieAnne Winter, Veronika Böhle, Oskar Koziołek, Will Kwiatkowski Gesang und Objekte

Tatiana López, Gabriela Saravia, Andrea Alvarez, Johann Ortega, Romina Quisbert, María Riqueza, Álvaro Cabrera, Einar Fuentes, Willy Chura, Ethan Olmos, Pavlo Olmos, Samuel Arce, María Victoria Medina, Adriaana Escobar, Víctor Poma, Isabel Sanjinés, Mariel Terán, Tracy Prado, Camed Martela, Gabriela Reyes, Elba Mamani, Marco Flores, Ariel Laura, Miguel Córdoba Native Instrumente und Objekte

Carlos Gutiérrez musikalische Leitung OEIN

[a] Live-Versionen
Orquesta Experimental de Instrumentos Nativos, PHØNIX16, noiserkroiser
Carlos Gutiérrez Quiroga, Timo Kreuser, Alexis Baskind

Timo Kreuser Regie, Konzept, Leitung
Philipp Hartmann Kamera
Kassian Troyer Aufnahmeleiter Ton
Timo Kreuser, Kassian Troyer Mischung Ton
Alexis Baskind Konzeption Klang und Klangregie (Bühne)
Carlo Grippa Klangregie
Anne Taegert Monitoring
Alice Hamann Licht
Komposter Kollektiv (Luka Umek, Akaša Bojič) Video/Projektion
PHØNIX16 Produktion
Sonia Lescène Produktionsleitung
Katja Heldt Produktions Assistenz

Philipp Hartmann, Miguel Hilari, Omar Alarcón Poquechoque Filmausschnitte

Mit Unterstützung von Goethe Institut, Musikfonds e. V. / BKM, Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung, Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD, Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa Berlin und Bundes- und Landesmusikakademie Rheinsberg.
In Zusammenarbeit mit Hellerau – Europäisches Zentrum der Künste Dresden

Danke
Beatriz Ferreyra, Lourdes Herrera, Carolina Mora, Berno Odo Polzer, Julian Fuchs, Victor Tessilo, Felix Görg, Thomas Falk und dem Team der Musikakademie Rheinsberg, Giovani Yapita, Sebastian Filter, Emmanuel Parmegiani, Julia Gerlach und all den Unterstützer*innen in der Cusco- und Rheinsberg-Situation

MaerzMusik und dem Team der Berliner Festspiele

Spezieller Dank an Ernesto, Bakunin und Sputnica