Livestream Audio
Éliane Radigue

Éliane Radigue: “Trilogie de la Mort”

3 hours of sound meditation

Éliane Radigue’s “Trilogie de la Mort” – a milestone of minimalist electroacoustic music – is inspired by the “Tibetan Book of the Dead”. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the concert will be streamed live from the Zeiss-Großplanetarium using binaural technology.

Star Trail Photo (detail)

Star trail photograph (detail)

© Martin Strump

“Trilogie de la Mort’ is considered to be one of the masterpieces of the French electronic music pioneer Éliane Radigue (born in 1932). This extended sonic meditation on death and birth was written between 1988 and 1993, inspired by the Buddhist “Bardo Thödröl” or “Tibetan Book of the Dead” – a milestone of minimalist music and “deep listening” that has been described as being both monumental and infinitely discrete at the same time.

The three-hour cycle will be realized in sound by François J. Bonnet aka Kassel Jaeger. To achieve this, the Franco-Swiss musician, composer and author will have 50 loudspeakers in the cupola of the Zeiss Major Planetarium at his disposal as an acousmatic instrument. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic the concert will be live streamed using binaural technology.

Programme

Éliane Radigue
Trilogie de la Mort
Musique pour ARP Synthesizer en 3 chapitres
Music for ARP synthesizer in 3 chapters
Binaural audio livestream

Chapitre I: Kyema
Chapitre II: Kailasha
Chapitre III: Koume

Cast

François J. Bonnet sound direction

In cooperation with Stiftung Planetarium Berlin

Livestream Audio
Éliane Radigue

Éliane Radigue: „Trilogie de la Mort“

3 Stunden Klangmeditation

Von einer buddhistischen Schrift inspiriert, ist „Trilogie de la Mort“ von Éliane Radigue ein Meilenstein der minimalistischen elektroakustischen Musik. Das mehrstündige Konzert wird unter Verwendung binauraler Technologie live aus dem Zeiss-Großplanetarium gestreamt.

Sternspurfoto (Ausschnitt)

Sternspurfoto (Ausschnitt)

© Martin Strump

„Trilogie de la Mort“ gilt als eines der Meisterwerke der französischen Elektronik-Pionierin Éliane Radigue (*1932). Die ausgedehnte Klangmeditation über Tod und Geburt entstand zwischen 1988 und 1993, inspiriert vom buddhistischen „Bardo Thödröl“ oder „Tibetanischen Totenbuch“ – ein Meilenstein des musikalischen Minimalismus und des „deep listening“, der als zugleich monumental und unendlich diskret beschrieben wurde.

Klanglich umgesetzt wird der dreistündige Zyklus von François J. Bonnet aka Kassel Jaeger. Dabei stehen dem französisch-schweizerischen Musiker, Komponisten und Autor 50 Lautsprecher in der Kuppel des Zeiss-Großplanetarium als akusmatisches Instrument zur Verfügung. Aufgrund der COVID-19-Pandemie wird das Konzert unter Verwendung binauraler Technologie live gestreamt.

Programm

Éliane Radigue
Trilogie de la Mort
Musique pour ARP Synthesizer en 3 chapitres
Musik für ARP Synthesizer in 3 Kapiteln
Binauraler Audio-LiveStream

Chapitre I: Kyema
Chapitre II: Kailasha
Chapitre III: Koume

Besetzung

François J. Bonnet Klangregie

In Zusammenarbeit mit Stiftung Planetarium Berlin