Concert Film / On Demand
MaerzMusik Specials

ensemble mosaik

Concert film, recorded in March 2021 in the Spreehallen Berlin

For his composition Manuel Rodríguez Valenzuela was inspired by the notion of being enclosed and by the experience of different speeds.
The world premiere of "time. cage" will be presented as a concert film produced exclusively for MaerzMusik 2021.

View of the switching centre in the Haus der Berliner Festspiele before the renovation in 2010

View of the wings in the Haus der Berliner Festspiele before the renovations in 2010

© Berliner Festspiele, photo: Kordula Rüter

Past Dates

The 2021 festival edition takes place online.
Watch this event in the festival stream or from 27 March to 30 April 2021 on MaerzMusik on Demand.

Written for a solo percussionist, ensemble and video, this new piece by Manuel Rodríguez-Valenzuela was initially planned as a live performance. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, “time. cage" will be presented as a concert film exclusively produced for MaerzMusik 2021. There are 2 different parts, “time” and “cage", each of them divided into smaller movements and all of them intertwined together:

.cage

I liked it the idea of having the solo percussionist caged in a small room full of amplified instruments, built and designed by myself. At first it was a practical decision, a closed room would mostly stop the natural sound of the instruments and therefore not mixing with their amplification and effects. But then it became clear to me that caging the soloist had much more to do with the need of communication from the point of view of isolation. For that I imagined a bird singing from its bird cage to other birds. Each movement of this „cage“ part is dedicated to each of the musicians, as if the soloist was having a dialog with each of them. It seems birds sing for “vanity", it is so they appear to be fit and healthy to other birds …

time.

In the last years, time and its perception became an important topic in my life. I experienced a sudden contrast between the high-speed and the very slow motion, and since then my music seems to focus on this contrast. It looks like our brains trick us in different ways to deal with all the amount of information that technology brings to our daily lives. Some researchers think our hunger for time and information may modify our brains so we start to perceive different layers of time simultaneously in the future.
In this part I focus then on the perception of time in our high-speed society, but also from the context of isolation. For this my idea was to record audio and video material of the musicians playing an arrangement of an old jazz song, and with this, then "compose" and edit short pieces using different time effects (slow motion, fast forward, reverse, repetitions and so on).

Manuel Rodríguez Valenzuela

Programme

Manuel Rodríguez Valenzuela

time.cage
Multimedia instrumental theatre
for percussion, ensemble, electronics and video
World premiere

Cast

Ensemble Mosaik
Enno Poppe conductor
Bettina Junge flute
Simon Strasser oboe
Christian Vogel clarinet
Martin Losert saxophone
Roland Neffe percussion
Ernst Surberg synthesizer
Adrian Pereyra e-guitar
Chatschatur Kanajan Vviolin
Karen Lorenz viola
Mathis Mayr cello
Arne Vierck sound director

Roberto Maqueda percussion solo

Manuel Rodríguez Valenzuela direction
Jakob Klaffs camera and editing
Arne Vierck sound
N. N. light

With the support of Fundación BBVA

Konzertfilm / On Demand
MaerzMusik Specials

ensemble mosaik

Konzertfilm, aufgenommen im März 2021 in den Spreehallen Berlin

Für seine Komposition hat sich Manuel Rodríguez Valenzuela von der Vorstellung des Eingeschlossen-Seins und von der Erfahrung unterschiedlicher Geschwindigkeiten anregen lassen.
Die Uraufführung von „time. cage“ wird als Konzertfilm präsentiert, der exklusiv für MaerzMusik 2021 produziert wurde.

Ansicht der Vorhanggasse im Haus der Berliner Festspiele vor dem Umbau 2010

Ansicht der Vorhanggasse im Haus der Berliner Festspiele vor dem Umbau 2010

© Berliner Festspiele, Foto: Kordula Rüter

Vergangene Termine

Die Festivalausgabe 2021 findet digital statt.
Sehen Sie diese Veranstaltung im Festivalstream oder vom 27. März bis 30. April 2021 auf MaerzMusik on Demand.

.cage

Mir gefiel die Idee, den Solo-Schlagzeuger in einem kleinen Raum voller verstärkter Instrumente einzusperren. Mit Instrumenten, die ich selbst gebaut und entworfen habe. Zunächst war es eine praktische Entscheidung, denn ein geschlossener Raum würde den natürlichen Klang der Instrumente weitestgehend aufhalten und somit nicht mit deren Verstärkung und Effekten mischen. Aber dann wurde mir klar, dass die Einhausung des Solisten viel mehr mit dem Bedürfnis nach Kommunikation unter dem Gesichtspunkt der Isolation zu tun hat. Dazu stellte ich mir einen Vogel vor, der aus seinem Vogelkäfig heraus mit anderen Vögeln singt. Jeder Satz dieses „Käfig“-Teils ist einzelnen Musiker*innen gewidmet, so als ob der Solist mit jedem von ihnen einen Dialog führen würde. Es scheint, dass Vögel aus „Eitelkeit“ singen, um anderen Vögeln fit und gesund zu erscheinen ...

time.

In den letzten Jahren wurden die Zeit und ihre Wahrnehmung zu einem wichtigen Thema in meinem Leben. Ich machte die Erfahrung eines plötzlichen Kontrasts zwischen Hochgeschwindigkeit und sehr langsamer Bewegung, und seither scheint sich meine Musik auf diesen Kontrast zu konzentrieren. Es sieht so aus, als ob unsere Gehirne uns auf unterschiedliche Weise austricksen, um mit der Menge an Informationen umzugehen, die die Technologie in unser tägliches Leben bringt. Einige Forscher*innen glauben, dass unser Hunger nach Zeit und Informationen unsere Gehirne so verändern könnte, dass wir in Zukunft verschiedene Zeitebenen gleichzeitig wahrnehmen werden.
In diesem Teil konzentriere ich mich dann auf die Wahrnehmung von Zeit in unserer Hochgeschwindigkeitsgesellschaft, aber auch aus dem Kontext der Isolation. Dafür habe ich Audio- und Videomaterial von den Musiker*innen aufgenommen, die ein Arrangement eines alten Jazz-Songs spielen. Mit diesem Material „komponiere“ bzw. bearbeite ich kurze Stücke, die verschiedene Zeiteffekte (Zeitlupe, schneller Vorlauf und Rücklauf, Wiederholungen und so weiter) benutzen.

Manuel Rodríguez Valenzuela

Programm

Manuel Rodríguez Valenzuela

time. cage
Multimediales Instrumentaltheater
für Schlagzeug, Ensemble, Elektronik und Video
Uraufführung

Besetzung

Ensemble Mosaik
Enno Poppe Leitung
Bettina Junge Flöte
Simon Strasser Oboe
Christian Vogel Klarinette
Martin Losert Saxofon
Roland Neffe Schlagzeug
Ernst Surberg Synthesizer
Adrian Pereyra E-Gitarre
Chatschatur Kanajan Violine
Karen Lorenz Viola
Mathis Mayr Cello
Arne Vierck Klangregie

Roberto Maqueda Schlagzeug solo

Manuel Rodríguez Valenzuela Regie
Jakob Klaffs Kamera und Schnitt
Arne Vierck Ton
N. N. Licht

Mit Unterstützung der Fundación BBVA