Concert Film / On Demand
MaerzMusik Specials

Quatuor Bozzini

In these times of restricted travel due to Covid-19, a concert film produced exclusively with Quatuor Bozzini in Montréal gives MaerzMusik’s audience access to the world premiere of String Quartet No. 4 by the Swiss composer Jürg Frey.

View of the auditorium ceiling in the Haus der Berliner Festspiele before the renovation in 2010

View of the ceiling in the auditorium of the Haus der Berliner Festspiele before the renovations in 2010

© Berliner Festspiele, photo: Kordula Rüter

Past Dates

The 2021 festival edition takes place online.
Watch this event in the festival stream or from 26 March to 30 June 2021 on MaerzMusik on Demand.

The Swiss composer Jürg Frey (born in 1953) is a master of calm, expansive sonic landscapes. With his ear for the elementary qualities of sound, his sensitivity to material and the precision of his composition, he creates works of great inner power and pervasive serenity. The world premiere of his new string quartet performed by the Canadian Quatuor Bozzini can now be enjoyed on MaerzMusik On Demand – in a concert film produced exclusively in Montréal that makes the premiere of this hour-long work accessible to a worldwide audience.

Programme

Jürg Frey
String Quartet No. 4 (2018–2020)
World premiere

Cast

Quatuor Bozzini
Clemens Merkel violin
Alissa Cheung violin
Stéphanie Bozzini viola
Isabelle Bozzini cello

Lucie Bazzo lighting design
John Klepko sound recording
Robin Pineda Gould video director
Nicolas Godmaire production director

Recorded March 4 and 5, 2021 at l’Agora Hydro-Québec du Coeur des sciences de l’UQAM in Montreal, QC, Canada.

A co-production by Quatuor Bozzini, MaerzMusik – Festival for Time Issues and Berliner Festspiele. Quatuor Bozzini wishes to thank the Canada Council for the Arts, the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, and the Conseil des arts de Montréal for their generous support.

Canada Council     Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec     Conseil des arts de Montréal

Konzertfilm / On Demand
MaerzMusik Specials

Quatuor Bozzini

In Zeiten coronabedingter Reisebschränkungen, macht ein exklusiv in Montréal produzierter Konzertfilm mit dem Quatuor Bozzini die Uraufführung des 4. Streichquartett des Schweizer Komponisten Jürg Frey auch für das MaerzMusik-Publikum zugänglich.

Ansicht der Saaldecke im Haus der Berliner Festspiele vor dem Umbau 2010

Ansicht der Saaldecke im Haus der Berliner Festspiele vor dem Umbau 2010

© Berliner Festspiele, Foto: Kordula Rüter

Vergangene Termine

Die Festivalausgabe 2021 findet digital statt.
Sehen Sie diese Veranstaltung im Festivalstream oder vom 26. März bis 30. Juni 2021 auf MaerzMusik on Demand.

Der Schweizer Komponist Jürg Frey (*1953) ist ein Meister der weiten, ruhigen Klanglandschaften. Mit seinem Sinn für die elementare Qualität von Klang, seiner Materialsensibilität und seiner kompositorischen Präzision erschafft er Werke von großer innerer Kraft und durchdringender Gelassenheit. Die Uraufführung seines neuen Streichquartetts mit dem kanadischen Quatuor Bozzini ist nun bei der Online-Ausgabe von MaerzMusik 2021 zu erleben – als exklusiv in Montréal produzierter Konzertfilm, der die Premiere dieses einstündigen Werkes einem weltweiten Publikum zugänglich macht.

Programm

Jürg Frey
Streichquartett Nr. 4 (2018–2020)
Uraufführung

Besetzung

Quatuor Bozzini
Clemens Merkel Violine
Alissa Cheung Violine
Stéphanie Bozzini Viola
Isabelle Bozzini Violoncello

Lucie Bazzo Licht
Ricardo Morejón Tonaufnahme
Robin Pineda Gould Kameraregie
Nicolas Godmaire Produktionsleitung

Aufgenommen am 4. und 5. März, 2021 in Agora Hydro-Québec du Coeur des schiences del'UQAM in Montréal, QC, Canada.

Eine Koproduktion von Quatuor Bozzini, MaerzMusik – Festival für Zeitfragen und den Berliner Festspielen. Quatuor Bozzini dankt dem Canada Council for the Arts, dem Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec und dem Conseil des arts de Montréal für ihre großzügige Unterstützung.

Canada Council     Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec     Conseil des arts de Montréal