Film / On Demand
MaerzMusik Specials

Dulab al Taj

Improvisation in the form of a musical round with 12 musicians in 12 different locations

“Dulab al Taj” is many things at the same time: a film and an audio-visual composition, 12 solos and a group improvisation. The musicians of Ensemble Extrakte, who come from Australia, Bulgaria, China, India, Iran, Korea, Singapur and Syria and now live in Berlin, play with and for each other in creating a multilingual musical cosmos.

Film still from: “Dulab al Taj”

Film still from: “Dulab al Taj”. Bassist Klaus Janek in front of the Haus der Kulturen der Welt in Berlin

© Ensemble Extrakte & inpetto filmproduktion

Past Dates

MaerzMusik films online
Watch this film in the festival stream or from 27 March to 30 April 2021 on MaerzMusik on Demand.

It all begins with Farhan Sabagh, a Syrian musician. In his studio he plays the musical theme he has composed for this project on the oud and immediately starts improvising upon it. The musical form in which this happens is called dulab (dulab can mean “wheel”, “round” and also “song”) and it is similar to a European rondo. This short melody sets off a filmic round that links the 12 musicians together. Because this first improvisation travels – like in the game “Chinese Whispers” – from place to place and from musician to musician, passing through different musical worlds and idioms while it mutates, develops and takes on different colours. Each occupying a place or space in which they feel at home, one after another the musicians pick up the improvisation, elaborate on it, overwrite it with an improvisation of their own, and pass it on. In the film, the different solos are enhanced with accompanying vocals, performed as additional layers over the earlier recordings. As in a rondo, the original melody is repeatedly recalled.

Here a musical encounter has been created that allows the differences between the musicians’ individual musical languages and traditions to be appreciated clearly while at the same time weaving them together.
This project was developed and realised by the composer Cathy Milliken, the composer Sandeep Baghwati, the curator Elke Moltrecht, the filmmaker Uli Aumüller and Ensemble Extrakte.

Cast

Ensemble Extrakte music
Based on a Dulab Melody by Farhan Sabbagh
Cathy Milliken musical director and realisation
Uli Aumüller, Sebastian Rausch / inpetto filmproduktion film and Sound
Uli Aumüller, Cathy Milliken, Elke Moltrecht Project management and artistic realisation
Sandeep Bhagwati, Elke Moltrecht ensemble directors

Further information is available at www.inpetto-filmproduktion.de

An inpetto film production in collaboration with Ensemble Extrakte
Funded by the Program Reload. Fellowship for Free Groups of the German Federal Cultural Foundation

Film / On Demand

Dulab al Taj

Ein kollektiver Reigen von Ensemble Extrakte

„Dulab al Taj“ ist vieles zugleich: ein Film und eine audiovisuelle Komposition, 12 Solos und eine Gruppenimprovisation. Die Musiker*innen des Ensemble Extrakte, die aus Australien, Bulgarien, China, Deutschland, Indien, Iran, Korea, Singapur und Syrien kommen und heute in Berlin leben, musizieren mit- und für einander und lassen so einen vielsprachigen musikalischen Kosmos entstehen.

Alles beginnt bei Farhan Sabagh, einem syrischen Musiker. In seinem Studio spielt er auf der Oud das musikalisches Thema, das er für dieses Projekt komponiert hat und über er das er sogleich improvisiert. Die musikalische Form, innerhalb derer das geschieht, heißt Dulab (Dulab heißt das Rad, die Runde oder auch das Lied), den man mit einem europäischen Rondo vergleichen kann. Mit der kurzen Melodie wird ein filmischer Reigen in Gang gesetzt, über den sich die 12 Musiker*innen verbinden. Denn diese erste solistische Improvisation wandert – wie bei dem Spiel „Stille Post“ von Ort zu Ort, von Musiker*in zu Musiker*in und somit auch in deren unterschiedliche musikalische Welten und Idiome, wo sie sich verändert, weiterentwickelt und einfärbt. Positioniert an einem Ort oder in einem Raum, an dem sie sich heimisch fühlen, greifen die Musiker*innen nacheinander die Improvisation auf, spinnen sie fort, überschreiben sie mit ihrer eigenen Improvisation und reichen sie weiter. Im Film werden die verschiedenen Solis mit Begleitstimmen angereichert, die auf die zuvor entstandenen Aufnahmen als weitere Schichten hinzugespielt wurden. Auch bringt sich die originale Melodie wie bei einem Rondo immer mal wieder in Erinnerung.
Entstanden ist ein eine musikalische Bewegung, die die Unterschiede der einzelnen musikalischen Sprachen und Traditionen der Musiker*innen deutlich hervortreten lässt und gleichzeitig ineinander verschränkt.

Besetzung

Ensemble Extrakte Musik
Nach einer Dulabmelodie von Farhan Sabbagh
Cathy Milliken Musikalische Leitung und Realisation
Uli Aumüller, Sebastian Rausch / inpetto filmproduktion Film und Ton
Uli Aumüller, Cathy Milliken, Elke Moltrecht Projektleitung und künstlerische Realisation
Sandeep Bhagwati, Elke Moltrecht Ensembleleitung

Weitere Informationen unter www.inpetto-filmproduktion.de

Eine inpetto filmproduktion in Zusammenarbeit mit Ensemble Extrakte
Gefördert im Programm Reload. Stipendien für Freie Gruppen der Kulturstiftung des Bundes