Livestream Video

Bang on a Can Marathon – MaerzMusik Edition

4 hours of live concert

The legendary Bang on a Can from New York present four hours of live concert in their “Marathon” – a utopian musical format first created in 1987, which is now reaching an ever-wider audience in digital form.

View of the roller floor in the Haus der Berliner Festspiele before the renovation in 2010

View of the fly tower in the Haus der Berliner Festspiele before the renovations in 2010

© Berliner Festspiele, photo: Kordula Rüter

In early March 2020, in the beginning of the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, Bang on a Can – the multi-faceted and highly influential New York City-based contemporary music organisation – recognised that they were going to have to completely shift everything, and fast. Seeing friends and colleagues lose almost all of their work opportunities, they considered how best to support musicians and audiences through this sudden process of survival and transformation.

They turned to the place where it all began for them – the Bang on a Can Marathon. They quickly learned the tools necessary to stream performances from people’s homes and studios, and to engage with tens of thousands of viewers worldwide. In this new virtual world they have been able to curate and commission more widely than ever.

For MaerzMusik 2021, Bang on a Can presents a special edition of their Marathon Live Online – four hours of live performances from both sides of the Atlantic, reflecting the diversity and breadth of their community. Bang on a Can was founded in 1987 by three American composers who remain its artistic directors: Julia Wolfe, David Lang, and Michael Gordon. Called “the country’s most important vehicle for contemporary music” by the San Francisco Chronicle, the organisation focuses on the presentation of new concert music, and has presented hundreds of musical events worldwide.

Programme details will be announced at a later date.

Cast

Bang on a Can

Livestream Video

Bang on a Can Marathon – MaerzMusik Edition

4 Stunden Live-Konzert

Vier Stunden Live-Konzerte online präsentiert die legendäre Formation Bang on a Can aus New York in ihrem „Marathon“ – ein bereits 1987 entwickeltes musikalisch-utopisches Format, das nun im digitalen Raum immer mehr Zuschauer*innen erreicht.

Ansicht des Rollenbodens im Haus der Berliner Festspiele vor dem Umbau 2010

Ansicht des Rollenbodens im Haus der Berliner Festspiele vor dem Umbau 2010

© Berliner Festspiele, Foto: Kordula Rüter

Anfang März 2020, zu Beginn der anhaltenden COVID-19-Pandemie, erkannte Bang on a Can – die schillernde und einflussreiche Experimentalmusik-Formation aus New York –, dass sie alles komplett verändern müssen, und zwar schnell. Als sie sahen, wie Freunde und Kolleg*innen fast alle ihre Arbeitsmöglichkeiten verloren, überlegten sie, wie sie Musiker*innen und Publikum im Rahmen dieses plötzlichen Überlebens- und Transformationsprozesses am besten unterstützen könnten.

Sie wandten sich dem Format zu, mit dem für sie alles begonnen hatte: dem Bang on a Can Marathon. Schnell lernten sie, Performances aus Privatwohnungen und Studios live zu streamen und mit Zehntausenden von Zuschauern weltweit in Kontakt zu treten. In dieser neuen virtuellen Welt konnten sie sich neu bewegen, mehr denn je Projekte organisieren und neue Werke beauftragen.

Für MaerzMusik 2021 präsentiert Bang on a Can eine spezielle Ausgabe ihres Marathon Live Online – vier Stunden mit Live-Konzerten von beiden Seiten des Atlantik, die die Vielfalt und Bandbreite ihrer kreativen Gemeinschaft widerspiegeln. Bang on a Can wurde 1987 von den Komponist*innen Julia Wolfe, David Lang und Michael Gordon gegründet, die das Projekt bis heute künstlerisch leiten. Die Organisation, die vom San Francisco Chronicle als „das wichtigste Vehikel für zeitgenössische Musik des ganzen Landes“ bezeichnet wurde, konzentriert sich auf die Präsentation neuer Konzertmusik und hat weltweit Hunderte von Musikveranstaltungen präsentiert.

Programmdetails werden zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt bekannt gegeben.

Besetzung

Bang on a Can