Reading / Performance
MaerzMusik Specials

useless land

Intensified perception between waking and sleeping

"useless land" is a compilation of fictional and theoretical texts that speak of a world before the industrial revolution. Catalina Insignares and Carolina Mendonça invite you to listen via Zoom.

sheets

sheets

© cgblow

Past Dates

Registration
Please register until 25 March: (limited number of participants). After registration you will receive a zoom link to access “useless land”.

The night gives us some hours. Portals take time, they ask us to linger. “useless land” is a compilation of fictional and theoretical texts that speak about a world prior to the industrial revolution. These are texts that draw a cognitive map of other possible relations, other perspectives onto the human relationship with the environment, with animals, ghosts, plants, future and time … The Colombian dancer and choreographer Catalina Insignares (*1987) and the Brazilian director Carolina Mendonça (*1984) invite the public to spend the night with them, laying down and listening, in their own beds, connected via Zoom.
Prepare a soft-surfaced island at your home, and connect to a collective terrain, a space where sleeping is a way of understanding the world. Where voices trickle gently into the ears, weaving stories. A wasteland. "useless land" speaks to our time: the need to accompany each other through the distance; the need to trust this temporary community of people we share sleep with; the globalised vulnerability and collective unconscious; the local of the body and of the ghosts present. A vigil state where we can be together in dissension, with our different languages and dreams, in a state between alertness and sleep. The night offers us some hours to linger and listen.

The reading / performance will start on 26 March at 23:00 CET and will finish with the sunrise in Berlin, on 27 March at 5:55. Participant may sleep or be awake while listening.

Please register: thinking-together@berlinerfestspiele.de (limited number of participants). After registration, you will receive a Zoom link that gives access to “useless land”.

Catalina Insignares & Carolina Mendonça

Texts by Sursignal, remote viewing club (Simon Asencio, Myriam Lefkowitz, Simon Ripoll-Hurier), Gloria Anzaldúa, Mary Shelley, Roger Ekirch, Michael Taussig, Jack Halberstam, Terre Thaemlitz, Olivia Laing, Sidarta Ribeiro, Octavia Butler, Toshiki Okada, Marie Thompson, Valeria Luiselli, Ursula Le Guin, Clarice Lispector, Jota Mombaça

Lesung / Performance
MaerzMusik Specials

useless land

Intensivierte Wahrnehmung zwischen Wachen und Schlafen

„useless land“ ist eine Zusammenstellung von fiktionalen und theoretischen Texten, die von einer Welt vor der industriellen Revolution sprechen. Catalina Insignares und Carolina Mendonça laden dazu ein, über Zoom zuzuhören.

sheets

sheets

© cgblow

Vergangene Termine

Anmeldung
Bitte registrieren Sie sich bis spätestens 25. März: (begrenzte Teilnehmerzahl). Nach der Anmeldung erhalten Sie einen Zoom-Link, der den Zugang zu „useless land“ ermöglicht.

Die Nacht schenkt uns einige Stunden. Portale nehmen sich Zeit, sie fordern uns zum Verweilen auf. „useless land“ ist eine Zusammenstellung von fiktionalen und theoretischen Texten, die von einer Welt vor der industriellen Revolution sprechen. Texte, die eine kognitive Karte zeichnen von anderen möglichen Verbindungen, anderen Perspektiven auf die Beziehung des Menschen zur Umwelt, zu Tieren, Geistern, Pflanzen, Zukunft und Zeit … Die kolumbianische Tänzerin und Choreografin Catalina Insignares (*1987) und die brasilianische Regisseurin Carolina Mendonça (*1984) laden dazu ein, mit ihnen die Nacht zu verbringen, zuhause niederzulegen und über Zoom zuzuhören.
Bereiten Sie bei sich zuhause eine weiche Schlafstätte vor und verbinden Sie sich mit einem kollektiven Terrain, einem Raum, in dem Schlafen eine Möglichkeit ist, die Welt zu verstehen. Wo Stimmen sanft in die Ohren rieseln und Geschichten weben. Ein Ödland. „useless land“ spricht zu unserer Zeit: das Bedürfnis, einander über Distanzen hinweg zu begleiten; das Bedürfnis, dieser temporären Gemeinschaft von Menschen zu vertrauen, mit denen wir den Schlaf teilen; die weltumspannende Verletzlichkeit; das globalisierte, kollektive Unbewusste; das Lokale des Körpers und der anwesenden Geister. Eine Nachtwache, in der wir in Uneinigkeit zusammen sein können, mit unseren verschiedenen Sprachen und Träumen, in einem Zustand zwischen Wachsein und Schlaf. Die Nacht schenkt uns einige Stunden zum Verweilen und Zuhören.

Die Lesung / Performance beginnt am 26. März um 23:00 Uhr MEZ und endet mit dem Sonnenaufgang in Berlin, am 27. März um 5:55 Uhr. Die Teilnehmer*innen können während des Zuhörens schlafen oder wach sein.

Catalina Insignares & Carolina Mendonça

Texte von Sursignal, remote viewing club (Simon Asencio, Myriam Lefkowitz, Simon Ripoll-Hurier), Gloria Anzaldúa, Mary Shelley, Roger Ekirch, Michael Taussig, Jack Halberstam, Terre Thaemlitz, Olivia Laing, Sidarta Ribeiro, Octavia Butler, Toshiki Okada, Marie Thompson, Valeria Luiselli, Ursula Le Guin, Clarice Lispector, Jota Mombaça