Binaural Audio / On Demand
Éliane Radigue

Éliane Radigue – „Occam Delta XV”

Binaural audio production

The composer Éliane Radigue has been working on her cycle of works for acoustic instruments ‘Occam’ since 2011. ‘Occam Delta XV’ for string quartet has been created with and for Quatuor Bozzini and is presented on MaerzMusik on Demand.

Binaural Audio-Production (headphones recommended!)

View of the auditorium ceiling in the Haus der Berliner Festspiele before the renovation in 2010

View of the auditorium ceiling in the Haus der Berliner Festspiele before the renovation in 2010

© Berliner Festspiele, photo: Kordula Rüter

Past Dates

The 2021 festival edition takes place online.
Listen to this production from 26 March to 30 Juni 2021 only on MaerzMusik on Demand.

This binaural audio production, especially produced for MaerzMusik’s 2021 online edition, presents Éliane Radigue’s “Occam Delta XV” in a yet unheard manner: Quatuor Bozzini performs the half-hour long string quartet in the presence of ten listeners, fitted with binaural microphones and distributed around the quartet in Montréal’s Église du Gesù (observing physical distance). Each binaural recording thus captures a unique spatial experience of Radigue’s composition – a listening experience that mirrors the sonic depth of Radigue’s music with high spatial resolution.

“Occam Delta XV” has been composed with and for Quatuor Bozzini. It is part of Radigue’s extensive “Occam” cycle of instrumental compositions. Its large spectrum of vibrating undulations is inspired by a mythical ocean found in David Duncan’s (1913 – 1999) science-fiction novel, “Occam’s Razor”, as well as by William of Ockham’s (ca. 1288 – 1347) influential methodological principle expressed most succinctly in his own words, “The simplest, the best.”

Éliane Radigue
Occam Delta XV
for string quartet (2018)

Cast

Quatuor Bozzini
Clemens Merkel violin
Alissa Cheung violin
Stéphanie Bozzini viola
Isabelle Bozzini cello

Lucie Bazzo lighting design
John Klepko sound recording
Robin Pineda Gould video director
Nicolas Godmaire production director

Recorded on 7.3.2021 in Espace Aline-Letendre (Église du Gesù), Montréal

A co-production by Quatuor Bozzini, MaerzMusik – Festival for Time Issues and Berliner Festspiele. Quatuor Bozzini wishes to thank the Canada Council for the Arts, the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, the Conseil des arts de Montréal, and Groupe Le Vivier for their generous support.

Quatuor Bozzini Canada Council
Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec Conseil des arts de Montréal Group Le Vivier

Binaural Audio / On Demand
Éliane Radigue

Éliane Radigue – „Occam Delta XV”

Binaurale Audioproduktion

Seit 2011 arbeitet die Komponistin Éliane Radigue an ihrem Werkzyklus „Occam“ für akustische Instrumente. „Occam Delta XV“ für Streichquartett ist mit und für das Quatuor Bozzini entstanden und wird auf MaerzMusik on Demand präsentiert.

Binaurale Audio-Produktion (Kopfhörer empfohlen!)

Ansicht der Saaldecke im Haus der Berliner Festspiele vor dem Umbau 2010

Ansicht der Saaldecke im Haus der Berliner Festspiele vor dem Umbau 2010

© Berliner Festspiele, Foto: Kordula Rüter

Vergangene Termine

Die Festivalausgabe 2021 findet digital statt.
Hören Sie diese Produktion vom 26. März bis 30. Juni 2021 ausschließlich auf MaerzMusik on Demand

Diese binaurale Audioproduktion, die speziell für die Online-Ausgabe von MaerzMusik 2021 produziert wurde, präsentiert Éliane Radigues „Occam Delta XV“ auf bisher ungehörte Weise: Das Quatuor Bozzini spielt das circa halbstündige Streichquartett in Anwesenheit von zehn Zuhörer*innen, die mit binauralen Mikrofonen ausgestattet und in der Église du Gesù in Montréal um das Quartett herum verteilt sind (unter Beachtung der räumlichen Distanz). Jede binaurale Aufnahme fängt damit eine einzigartige räumliche Erfahrung von Radigues Komposition ein – ein Hörerlebnis, das die klangliche Tiefe von Radigues Musik mit hoher räumlicher Auflösung widerspiegelt.

„Occam Delta XV“ wurde mit und für das Quatuor Bozzini komponiert und ist Teil von Radigues großem Occam-Instrumentalzyklus. Das breite Spektrum vibrierender Wellenformen, das uns in dieser Musik begegnet, ist inspiriert von einem mythischen Ozean aus David Duncans (1913 – 1999) Science-Fiction-Roman „Occam’s Razor“, sowie von William von Ockhams (ca. 1288 – 1347) einflussreichem methodischen Prinzip namens Ockhams Rasiermesser, in seinen eigenen Worten ausgedrückt: „Je einfacher, desto besser.“

Éliane Radigue
Occam Delta XV
für Streichquartett (2018)

Besetzung

Quatuor Bozzini
Clemens Merkel Violine
Alissa Cheung Violine
Stéphanie Bozzini Viola
Isabelle Bozzini Violoncello

Lucie Bazzo Licht
Ricardo Morejón Tonaufnahme
Robin Pineda Gould Kameraregie
Nicolas Godmaire Produktionsleitung

Aufgenommen am 7.3.2021 im Espace Aline-Letendre (Église du Gesù), Montréal

Eine Koproduktion von Quatuor Bozzini, MaerzMusik – Festival für Zeitfragen und den Berliner Festspielen. Quatuor Bozzini dankt dem Canada Council for the Arts, dem Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, dem Conseil des arts de Montréal und der Group Le Vivier für ihre großzügige Unterstützung.

Quatuor Bozzini Canada Council
Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec Conseil des arts de Montréal Group Le Vivier