Production / Live stream
The 10 Selected Productions

Show Me A Good Time

by Gob Squad

A Gob Squad production. World premiere co-commissioned and co-produced by HAU Hebbel am Ufer (Berlin) and La Jolla Playhouse Without Walls Series (San Diego). Co-produced by Künstlerhaus Mousonturm (Frankfurt/Main), Schlachthaus Theater Bern, International Summer Festival Kampnagel (Hamburg).

Live stream premiere 20 June 2020 (HAU Hebbel am Ufer, Berlin and La Jolla Playhouse Without Walls Series, San Diego)

A twelve-hour live performance by the German-British artists’ collective Gob Squad.

Show Me A Good Time. Video trailer

© Gob Squad

  • 12 h
  • In German and English

Past Dates

The 2021 festival edition will be presented online.
To the stream
This production is only available as a live stream.

After-show talk
on 15 May at 12:00

A performer is standing on the stage of an eerily empty theatre, an abandoned auditorium can be seen behind her*him. But she*he is not alone: Other Gob Squad-performers are connected with her*him via video-link. From noon to midnight, they travel through the city on foot or by car – or sit in a living-room thousands of miles away … In “Show Me A Good Time”, everyday observations give rise to eminent reflections, condensing the passing time into a celebration of the single moment again and again.

Theatertreffen-juror Cornelia Fiedler about the production
Now is the time to persevere. Not in the sense of military drill, of course. It’s more like a commitment to keep going that these seven tottering characters have somehow gotten themselves into. They have landed in an obscure loop and they’re just going to have to deal with it. All of us seem to have gotten ourselves into something like this, one way or another. One year ago, when the pandemic took away large parts of our lives for the foreseeable future and gave us the gift of home office with a big Janus-grin.

Revealing our society‘s mechanisms and abysses by means of taking an amusing detour into the private sphere has been the Gob Squad-method for over 25 years. For the Corona Midsummer’s Night at HAU Hebbel am Ufer, the collective created a congenial marathon performance: “Show Me A Good Time” is a mourning rite for unwanted theatre and a tragi-comic attempt to stick together and stay awake across borders and time zones.

For a total of twelve hours, one performer at a time has to persevere onstage, faced by an empty auditorium – not system-relevant, left to their own devices, alone with a semi-intelligent camera. The rest of the company swarm out and stay in touch via live video. Tasks and locations change according to a strict schedule. Improvisation is the prime directive of this night – with no fear of embarrassment and no safety net – and so nothing will ever be repeated: Not the way Sarah Thom quietly sings “You’ll Never Walk Alone”, all by herself outside the football stadium in Sheffield, the scene of the Hillsborough disaster; not how Sharon Smith lies down in her sleeping child’s bed and imagines their future on our planet with a mixture of sleepy love and guilt; not the way Simon Will cheerfully walks through the eschatological night on his way to an airport that no longer has any purpose – as if he were taking a walk into the past.

At the same time, the performance is a kind of funhouse-mirror of the very self-management strategies that everyone enduring the COVID pandemic uses in an attempt to give some kind of structure to our chewing gum-like days. Ruled by a tight schedule, there are tasks to perform every 15 minutes: on the half hour, collective laughter is dictated; for the full hour, a spectator must have been located in the empty streets of Berlin. In all its humour, the increasing desperation of this quest for an audience has a bitter aftertaste. After all, who can promise for sure that they will make theatre again after the pandemic, or who can promise that they will watch? With “Show Me A Good Time”, Gob Squad have created an intelligent, funny and moving piece of distance theatre for a world where the coordinates of time and space are dissolving.

Artistic Team

Gob Squad Concept and staging
Noam Gorbat, Miles Chalcraft Video design
Sebastian Bark, Jeff McGrory, Catalina Fernandez Sound design
Emma Cattell Costume design
Max Wegner Lighting design and technical management
Christina Runge Dramaturgy and production management
Amina Nouns Set assistant
Clemens Zoller Intern
Alexandra Lauck Communications / PR
Eva Hartmann Gob Squad management
Mat Hand Tour management
Ayla Suveren UK producer

With
Sean Patten, Tatiana Saphir, Sharon Smith, Berit Stumpf, Sarah Thom, Laura Tonke, Bastian Trost, Simon Will

Supported by Fonds Darstellende Künste with funds from the Minister of State for Culture and the Media. Gob Squad is funded by the Berlin Senate – Department for Culture and Europe.

Inszenierung / Livestream
10er Auswahl

Show Me A Good Time

von Gob Squad

Eine Produktion von Gob Squad. Uraufführung im Auftrag und koproduziert von HAU Hebbel am Ufer (Berlin) und La Jolla Playhouse Without Walls Series (San Diego). Koproduktion Künstlerhaus Mousonturm (Frankfurt am Main), Schlachthaus Theater Bern, Internationales Sommerfestival Kampnagel (Hamburg)

Livestream-Premiere 20. Juni 2020 (HAU Hebbel am Ufer, Berlin und La Jolla Playhouse Without Walls Series, San Diego)

Eine 12-stündige Livestream-Performance des deutsch-britischen Künstler*innenkollektivs Gob Squad.

Show Me A Good Time. Videotrailer

© Gob Squad

  • 12 h
  • In deutscher und englischer Sprache

Die Festivalausgabe 2021 findet digital statt.
Hier geht es zum Stream
Diese Veranstaltung ist nur im Livestream verfügbar.

Nachgespräch und Künstler*innen-Ehrung
am 15. Mai 2021 um 12:00 Uhr

Ein*e Performer*in steht auf der Bühne eines gespenstisch leeren Theaters, hinter ihr*ihm ist ein verwaister Zuschauer*innenraum sichtbar. Doch sie*er ist nicht allein: Per Video sind weitere Performer*innen von Gob Squad mit ihr*ihm verbunden: von zwölf Uhr mittags bis Mitternacht, bewegen sie sich zu Fuß oder im Auto durch die Stadt oder sitzen tausende Kilometer entfernt in einem Wohnzimmer … In „Show Me A Good Time“ stoßen alltägliche Beobachtungen und Begegnungen große Reflexionen an und verdichten die vorbeistreichende Zeit immer wieder zu einer Feier des Moments.

Theatertreffen-Jurorin Cornelia Fiedler zur Inszenierung
Jetzt heißt es: Durchhalten. Nicht im Sinne militärischen Drills, versteht sich. Es ist eher ein Durchhalten-Müssen, das diesen sieben schwankenden Gestalten irgendwie passiert zu sein scheint. Sie sind in einem obskuren Loop gelandet, da müssen sie jetzt durch. Passiert ist das uns allen auf die eine oder andere Art. Vor einem Jahr, als die Pandemie weite Teile des Lebens auf unbestimmte Zeit kassiert und uns mit einem Janus-Grinsen das Homeoffice geschenkt hat.

Die Mechanismen und Abgründe unserer Gesellschaft über den vergnüglichen Umweg ins Private offenzulegen, das ist seit gut 25 Jahren die Methode Gob Squad. Für die Corona-Mittsommernacht im HAU Hebbel am Ufer hat das Kollektiv eine kongeniale Marathonperformance entwickelt: „Show Me A Good Time“ ist ein Trauerritual für ungewolltes Theater und ein tragikomischer Versuch, über Grenzen und Zeitzonen hinweg zusammenzuhalten und wach zu bleiben.

Insgesamt zwölf Stunden lang muss je ein*e der Performer*innen vor leeren Stuhlreihen auf der Bühne ausharren – nicht systemrelevant, auf sich zurückgeworfen, allein mit einer semi-intelligenten Kamera. Die anderen Spieler*innen schwärmen aus und halten per Livevideo Kontakt. Aufgaben und Orte wechseln nach einem strengen Takt. Improvisation ist das oberste Gebot dieser Nacht – ohne Angst vor Peinlichkeit, ohne Sicherungsnetz –, daher wird sich nichts so wiederholen: nicht wie Sarah Thom allein und leise vor dem Stadion in Sheffield, dem Ort der Hillsborough-Katastrophe, „Youʼll Never Walk Alone“ singt; nicht wie Sharon Smith sich zu ihrem schlafenden Kind ins Bett legt und zwischen schläfriger Liebe und Schuldbewusstsein dessen Zukunft auf diesem Planeten imaginiert; nicht wie Simon Will gut gelaunt durch die endzeitliche Nacht zum sinnlos gewordenen Flughafen läuft, als spaziere er in die Vergangenheit.

Zugleich wird die Performance zum Zerrspiegel jener Selbstmanagementtechniken, mit denen Corona-Erfahrene versuchen, den kaugummigleichen Tagen Struktur zu geben. In engem Takt gilt es alle 15 Minuten Aufgaben zu absolvieren; zur halben Stunde etwa ist kollektives Lachen angesagt, zur vollen muss in den leeren Straßen Berlins ein*e Zuschauer*in gefunden sein. Das zunehmend Verzweifelte dieser Publikumssuche wirkt bei allem Humor bitter nach. Wer kann schon mit Sicherheit versprechen, nach der Pandemie wieder Theater zu machen, wer, wieder zuzuschauen? Mit „Show Me A Good Time“ gelingt Gob Squad intelligentes, komisches und berührendes Distanztheater für eine Welt, in der die Koordinaten Zeit und Raum zerfließen.

Künstlerisches Team

Gob Squad Konzept und Regie
Noam Gorbat, Miles Chalcraft Videodesign
Sebastian Bark, Jeff McGrory, Catalina Fernandez Sounddesign
Emma Cattell Kostüme
Max Wegner Lichtdesign und Technische Leitung
Christina Runge Dramaturgie und Produktionsmanagement
Amina Nouns Set-Assistentin
Clemens Zoller Praktikum
Alexandra Lauck Kommunikation / PR
Eva Hartmann Gob Squad Management
Mat Hand Tour Management
Ayla Suveren UK Producer

Mit
Sean Patten, Tatiana Saphir, Sharon Smith, Berit Stumpf, Sarah Thom, Laura Tonke, Bastian Trost, Simon Will

Mit Unterstützung durch den Fonds Darstellende Künste gefördert durch die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien. Gob Squad wird gefördert durch die Berliner Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa.