Production / 3sat-recording
The 10 Selected Productions

Maria Stuart

by Friedrich Schiller

Deutsches Theater Berlin

Premiere 30 October 2020

In Anne Lenk’s production, Friedrich Schiller’s duel of the queens becomes a splendidly performed portrait of two women who are both prisoners in different ways.

Maria Stuart. Video trailer

© Deutsches Theater Berlin

  • 2 h 15 min
  • In German with English subtitles

Past Dates

The 2021 festival edition will be presented online.
This production will be accessible via the ZDF Mediathek from 15 May to 11 September.

After-show talk and reception in honour of the artists
on 15 May 2021 at 22:20

Mary Stuart, Queen of Scots, is in English captivity. As long as she is alive, the English Queen Elizabeth cannot be sure of her own power. But Elizabeth hesitates to order the execution of her competitor and kinswoman who can still command strong support, even in the dungeon. Surrounded by male careerists, the two women fight a duel that either both or none of them can win. Director Anne Lenk – whose production of Molière’s “Der Menschenfeind (The Misanthrope)” was invited to the 2020 Theatertreffen – has once again created a contemporary reading of a major canonic subject. She takes Schiller’s text seriously while discovering a surprising amount of wit in it. The company of Deutsches Theater Berlin show themselves at top form in Judith Oswald’s set, a logical response to the adversities of this pandemic-afflicted season.

Theatertreffen-juror Georg Kasch about the production
What could these two women have achieved together? Probably everything. And in a world of male careerists, too, only waiting for the other men – or even the queens – to make a gross mistake. So, what if Elizabeth and Mary Stuart were to discover solidarity for each other?

This idea is already inherent in Friedrich Schiller’s drama. The imprisoned Mary insists on a meeting with her rival: “Elisabeth is of my family, my rank, my sex; / To her alone, a sister, queen and woman / Can I unfold my heart.” Anne Lenk picks up this trail in her production at Deutsches Theater Berlin and shows two strong characters amid a bustling gaggle of spineless mansplainers.

For this attempt at forging sisterhood, Judith Oswald has created a Corona-compliant letter-case set of isolation chambers with bright edges. Inside these magenta-coloured cells, prisoners of their own tasks and passions pace back and forth like tigers. There are only two moments where characters actually meet in the flesh and both times, things go wrong: Mary and Elizabeth part in a hailstorm of mutual abuse and Mortimer nearly rapes Mary. It is as if the walls not only separate people but also protect them from each other.

Sibylle Wallum’s costumes, hybrids of Renaissance and the present day, outline the differences between the two queens: Mary has a girlish and flirtatious radiance, while Elizabeth, styled in a short hair-do, corset and pencil skirt, exudes a politician’s severity. Accordingly, Julia Windischbauer’s Elizabeth struggles to keep her composure in a timid and nerdy effort to hold on to her power, a permanently suspicious and defensive woman whose confidence only gradually gains a foothold. Franziska Machens’ Mary, on the other hand, brims with brilliance, seductive powers and an actual feminist consciousness. With her powerful eloquence, she gives short shrift to her self-important tormentors, who try to show off their power while hopelessly overestimating it.

With a snotty kind of irony – it is rare to see so much humour in this scene – she also tries hard to have the final word in her encounter with Elizabeth. Which of course goes horribly wrong for this nightmare of a pair, hiding behind poker faces and masks at the crucial moments instead of practising female solidarity. It’s no wonder that the men – figures of fun as they all may be – are free to hatch their plots for too long. How Elizabeth still manages to thwart them in the end (and pays a considerable emotional price) is one of the great moments of this show, which is rich in subtle acting throughout.

Artistic Team

Anne Lenk Director
Judith Oswald Set design
Sibylle Wallum Costume design
Camill Jammal Music
Cornelia Gloth Lighting design
David Heiligers Dramaturgy

Julia Windischbauer Elizabeth, Queen of England
Franziska Machens Mary Stuart, Queen of Scotland
Enno Trebs Lord Burleigh
Alexander Khuon Earl of Leicester
Jörg Pose Earl of Shrewsbury
Paul Grill Amias Paulet, Mary’s Warder
Caner Sunar Earl Aubespine, French Envoy / Wilhelm Davison, Undersecretary
Jeremy Mockridge Mortimer, Paulet’s Nephew / Melvil, Friend of Mary from Earlier Days

Programme brochure

for download PDF, 745 KB

First television broadcast of the 3sat-recording
on 15 May 2021 at 20:15

Inszenierung / 3sat-Aufzeichnung
10er Auswahl

Maria Stuart

von Friedrich Schiller

Deutsches Theater Berlin

Premiere 30. Oktober 2020

Friedrich Schillers Duell der Königinnen wird bei Anne Lenk zu einem fantastisch gespielten Porträt zweier Frauen, die auf unterschiedliche Weise gefangen sind.

Maria Stuart. Videotrailer

© Deutsches Theater Berlin

  • 2 h 15 min
  • In deutscher Sprache mit englischen Untertiteln

Die Festivalausgabe 2021 findet digital statt.
Diese Inszenierung ist in der ZDF Mediathek vom 15. Mai bis 11. September 2021 verfügbar.

Künstler*innen-Ehrung und Nachgespräch
am 15. Mai 2021 um 22:20 Uhr

Maria Stuart, Königin von Schottland, befindet sich in Gefangenschaft in England. Solange sie lebt, muss die englische Königin Elisabeth um ihre Macht bangen. Doch Elisabeth zögert, die Hinrichtung der Konkurrentin und Anverwandten zu beschließen, die selbst im Kerker starke Unterstützer*innen an ihrer Seite weiß. Umgeben von männlichen Karrieristen fechten die beiden Frauen ein Duell aus, aus dem keine oder beide als Siegerin hervorgehen. Die Regisseurin Anne Lenk, bereits 2020 mit Molières „Der Menschenfeind“ zum Theatertreffen eingeladen, findet abermals einen zeitgemäßen Zugriff auf einen großen, kanonischen Stoff. Sie nimmt Schillers Text ernst und entdeckt in ihm zugleich überraschend viel Witz. In Judith Oswalds Bühnenbild, das eine konsequente Antwort auf die Widrigkeiten dieser Pandemie-Spielzeit bietet, laufen die Schauspieler*innen des Deutschen Theater Berlin zu Hochform auf.

Theatertreffen-Juror Georg Kasch zur Inszenierung
Was könnten diese beiden Frauen gemeinsam erreichen? Vermutlich alles. Und das in einer Welt männlicher Karrieristen, die nur darauf warten, dass die anderen Typen – oder aber die Königinnen – einen groben Fehler machen. Was also, wenn Elisabeth von England und Maria Stuart ihre Solidarität entdecken würden?

Dieser Gedanke steckt schon in Friedrich Schillers Drama. Dort drängt die gefangene Maria auf eine Begegnung mit ihrer Rivalin: „Elisabeth ist meines Stammes, meines / Geschlechts und Ranges – Ihr allein, der Schwester, / Der Königin, der Frau kann ich mich öffnen.“ Anne Lenk nimmt diese Spur in ihrer Inszenierung am Deutschen Theater Berlin auf und zeigt zwei starke Charaktere in einem Gewusel aus rückgratlosen Mansplainern.

Für diesen Verschwesterungsversuch hat Judith Oswald einen coronakompatiblen Setzkasten aus hell gerandeten Vereinzelungskammern gestaltet. In den magentafarbenen Zellen tigern lauter Gefangene ihrer Leidenschaften und Aufgaben hin und her. Nur zwei Mal begegnen sich Figuren leibhaftig, beide Male geht’s schief: Maria und Elisabeth trennen sich unter Beschimpfungen, von Mortimer wird Maria fast vergewaltigt. Es ist, als trennten die Wände die Menschen nicht nur, sondern schützten sie auch voreinander.

Wie verschieden die beiden Königinnen sind, umreißt Sibylle Wallum mit ihren Kostümen, Hybriden zwischen Renaissance und Heute: Maria strahlt mädchenhaft und kokett, Elisabeth atmet mit Kurzhaarfrisur, Korsett und Stiftrock die Strenge einer Politikerin. Julia Windischbauers Elisabeth ringt entsprechend mit verhuscht-nerdiger Machtkrampfigkeit um Haltung, eine Frau in beständigem Argwohn und in Dauerabwehr, deren Selbstbewusstsein erst allmählich Fuß fasst. Franziska Machensʼ Maria wiederum strotzt vor Brillanz, Verführungskraft und durchaus auch feministischem Bewusstsein, wenn sie ihre Peiniger, die gockelnd ihre Macht demonstrieren (und sie hemmungslos überschätzen), wortgewaltig auflaufen lässt.

Voll rotziger Ironie – so witzig sieht man das selten – ringt sie auch in der Begegnung mit Elisabeth ums letzte Wort. Natürlich geht das schief bei diesem Albtraumpaar, das sich in entscheidenden Momenten hinter Pokerface und Maske versteckt, statt gemeinsame Sache zu machen. Kein Wunder, dass die Männer-Witzfiguren zu lange ihre Ränke schmieden können. Wie Elisabeth sie am Ende dennoch scheitern lässt (und sich dabei emotional verzockt), gehört zu den großen Momenten dieses an schauspielerischen Feinheiten reichen Abends.

Künstlerisches Team

Anne Lenk Regie
Judith Oswald Bühne
Sibylle Wallum Kostüme
Camill Jammal Musik
Cornelia Gloth Licht
David Heiligers Dramaturgie

Julia Windischbauer Elisabeth, Königin von England
Franziska Machens Maria Stuart, Königin von Schottland
Enno Trebs Baron von Burleigh
Alexander Khuon Graf von Leicester
Jörg Pose Graf von Shrewsbury
Paul Grill Amias Paulet, Hüter der Maria
Caner Sunar Graf Aubespine, französischer Gesandter / Wilhelm Davison, Staatssekretär
Jeremy Mockridge Mortimer, Paulets Neffe / Melvil, Freund Marias aus früheren Tagen

Erstausstrahlung der 3sat-Aufzeichnung im TV
am 15. Mai 2021 um 20:15 Uhr